We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kinderhook, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you enjoy a place that's unlike any other, then this is your hotel. Renovated from a youth prison, the place is filled with interesting and unusual design features throughout the building, from the stairs that lead to some floors but not others, to the inside stairway that connects several whimsically decorated meeting rooms that are perfect for exploring or just flopping down in. Be sure to sit on one of the "concrete" benches in he hall.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room tat meets your bathroom needs (ie:some rooms have shared baths, some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    299
    118
    75
    72
See reviews for
99
265
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed at the Lloyds on a business trip. Rather than moving around town I needed some meeting places and Lloyd offered ample space for meetings. The spacious center structure around and above the dining facility was excellent to conduct meetings.

Very conveniently located in Amsterdam and great access to the airport. I did not stay in the 1-2 * rooms so I can not speak for them but my room was very funky (no closet nor hooks/places to hang my coats) and quite pleasant. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The majority of the hotels that I stay at are rather dull and predictable. The Lloyd Hotel is decidedly different and is worth experiencing once even if it's not your cup of tea. I've stayed there twice in 2013 - once in a 4* room and just recently in a 5* room. This is not the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok but it has its own charms and fascinations. Both rooms I stayed in were very large and had interesting views of this up and coming area of Amsterdam. They both had the rather distressed floors and walls that you get in converted buildings as well as wonderful snug bedding and duvets that are so good that I bought one for use at home. The rooms have unusual features - both rooms I stayed in were long and had unconventional layouts for the bathroom, bedroom and study area. The 5* room had a hammock hung between pillars. Breakfast (€17.50) is excellent and the restaurant is one of the feature spaces of the hotel. The city centre is not far away - it's about €13 by taxi to the main railway station, for example. My advice is take a good look at the hotel's website and see if it looks promising. This is a unique hotel and it provides an opportunity to engage with part of the city's history and culture.

Room Tip: Look at the website before you book - this is not a typical hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I'd stayed here before for a friend's wedding a few years ago and while the building is fascinating, creepy and packed with character, the only thing that lingered was the fact that it seemed all so overpriced for what it was. This time wasn't any different. I was staying to visit a friend so picked a cheaper room on offer, that meant I had to use a communal toilet and shower (the latter was always left in a horrible condition by earlier guests, towels on the floor, all the hooks used by dirty towels and bathrobes, soaking wet floor). My 'welcome' was this:
"Can I help you?"
"Yes, I have a reservation"
"Can I pre-authorise your credit card?"

No, Hello and welcome to the Lloyd, no interest in my visit or me as a guest. Just wanted me credit card as soon as possible. Cold, disinterested service. I immediately wished I'd stayed somewhere else.

The room was ok - not a single hook to hang any clothes from, any plugs at ground level, or a light switch to operate the lights which were just those desk lamps screwed to a wall. But the floor I was on was quiet and the bed comfy. I've picked up athletes foot from the bathroom though.
Will I stay here again? It's a half hour walk from the Central Station so not really very central (though there's a tram stop behind the hotel) and there's nothing else really around it. It's too out of the way and lacking in friendly service for me to want to stay again - as I said, it's just vastly over priced for what you get.

Room Tip: The shared 'budget' rooms aren't really worth it - you'd be better off in a cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days whilst attending a conference in Amsterdam. It prides itself on being the first and only 1 - 5* hotel in Amsterdam (possibly the world). There are of course some immediate issues with this, not least that the communal facilities are more 1* and the prices (e.g. for breakfast) more 5*. Due to the nature of the venue the rooms are non-standard and to be honest I'm not sure what class of room I was in but to give you an idea: you enter into a "lounge" area with a spartan table with two chairs and a sofa. The bedroom is accessed via a "walk through" bathroom, with shower. There are some pegs for clothes (but no wardrobe) and the TVs are antiques from the era of cathode ray tube fired pictures!

As you can visit the place for "free" - e.g go for lunch, look round the exhibits etc. I would suggest taking the tram 26 out there, have a look round and stay somewhere central, as you will pay a price that you are more likely to be satisfied with the quality for.

Room Tip: probably best to ask the hotel what style of room you are getting, and to establish what facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed in one of the one star room, and really it has nothing to do with a common one star room. Very comfortable and cozy!! and even the shared bathrooms seemed to be just for you, always free and perfectly clean!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.