We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a standard hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SUPER SALE rooms from €30
Ranked #147 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Devon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Not a standard hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days whilst attending a conference in Amsterdam. It prides itself on being the first and only 1 - 5* hotel in Amsterdam (possibly the world). There are of course some immediate issues with this, not least that the communal facilities are more 1* and the prices (e.g. for breakfast) more 5*. Due to the nature of the venue the rooms are non-standard and to be honest I'm not sure what class of room I was in but to give you an idea: you enter into a "lounge" area with a spartan table with two chairs and a sofa. The bedroom is accessed via a "walk through" bathroom, with shower. There are some pegs for clothes (but no wardrobe) and the TVs are antiques from the era of cathode ray tube fired pictures!

As you can visit the place for "free" - e.g go for lunch, look round the exhibits etc. I would suggest taking the tram 26 out there, have a look round and stay somewhere central, as you will pay a price that you are more likely to be satisfied with the quality for.

Room Tip: probably best to ask the hotel what style of room you are getting, and to establish what facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    300
    118
    75
    72
See reviews for
99
265
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed in one of the one star room, and really it has nothing to do with a common one star room. Very comfortable and cozy!! and even the shared bathrooms seemed to be just for you, always free and perfectly clean!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at the Lloyd hotel and was so pleased that it had kept the same charm as when I stayed about 8 years ago. The rooms are unusually large, they are so clean, the staff was so helpful and pleasant. My wife also especially liked the restaurant service and food. If/when I return to Amsterdam, for sure I will go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Lloyd Hotel offers a one-of-a-kind hotel experience not to be missed! It is rich in history, character, and creativity, with individually designed rooms that each offer something unique. Its location a couple miles away from the heart of downtown Amsterdam is a welcomed reprieve if (like me) you are overwhelmed by the hustle and bustle of the city. It is a very easy tram/bus ride away from both downtown and Central Station. It is also very conveniently located across the street from multiple grocery/drug stores and other shops that locals frequent. In addition, the location/setting along the water is gorgeous. The Lloyd Hotel staff members are attentive, professional, friendly, and extremely helpful. Overall, my stay at the Lloyd was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Seek it out!!

Room Tip: My room on the first floor was a little noisy in the morning because of the street sweeping and traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

upon arrival we received an upgrade to a top floor room, we had a perfect bloody mary with fresh tomato juice, slept well in the comfortable beds; the breakfast was wonderful, the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were expecting quirky design and that's what we got. My husband absolutely loved it. He said he could live there — and that's high praise coming from him! We loved all the details — the floors, the room layout, the books, the chairs, the colours, the lamps and the lighting.
The restaurant was excellent, with a good variety of meals, so you didn't feel under pressure to eat a fancy three-course dinner if you just wanted to share different things your family and kids. The kids loved the breakfast buffet. They said it was the best breakfast they had ever had!
All the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. We're already looking forward to staying at the Lloyd again and trying out a different room. Thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: We had a 4* suite of rooms on the second floor. The bathroom — and toliet — was in the middle. Might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a large room on the sixth floor with nice view over Amsterdam. We were warm welcomed at the reception. Even the hotel manager came by at our diner table to welcome us, very nice.
The room was a bit noisy so we didn't sleep very well when their were guest coming home after a good night out.

The diner and breakfast was excellent!! Very original and tasty... 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.