We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice even for small budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SUPER SALE rooms from €30
Ranked #134 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“excellent choice even for small budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed in one of the one star room, and really it has nothing to do with a common one star room. Very comfortable and cozy!! and even the shared bathrooms seemed to be just for you, always free and perfectly clean!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    312
    123
    75
    73
See reviews for
103
283
62
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at the Lloyd hotel and was so pleased that it had kept the same charm as when I stayed about 8 years ago. The rooms are unusually large, they are so clean, the staff was so helpful and pleasant. My wife also especially liked the restaurant service and food. If/when I return to Amsterdam, for sure I will go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Lloyd Hotel offers a one-of-a-kind hotel experience not to be missed! It is rich in history, character, and creativity, with individually designed rooms that each offer something unique. Its location a couple miles away from the heart of downtown Amsterdam is a welcomed reprieve if (like me) you are overwhelmed by the hustle and bustle of the city. It is a very easy tram/bus ride away from both downtown and Central Station. It is also very conveniently located across the street from multiple grocery/drug stores and other shops that locals frequent. In addition, the location/setting along the water is gorgeous. The Lloyd Hotel staff members are attentive, professional, friendly, and extremely helpful. Overall, my stay at the Lloyd was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Seek it out!!

Room Tip: My room on the first floor was a little noisy in the morning because of the street sweeping and traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

upon arrival we received an upgrade to a top floor room, we had a perfect bloody mary with fresh tomato juice, slept well in the comfortable beds; the breakfast was wonderful, the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We were expecting quirky design and that's what we got. My husband absolutely loved it. He said he could live there — and that's high praise coming from him! We loved all the details — the floors, the room layout, the books, the chairs, the colours, the lamps and the lighting.
The restaurant was excellent, with a good variety of meals, so you didn't feel under pressure to eat a fancy three-course dinner if you just wanted to share different things your family and kids. The kids loved the breakfast buffet. They said it was the best breakfast they had ever had!
All the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. We're already looking forward to staying at the Lloyd again and trying out a different room. Thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: We had a 4* suite of rooms on the second floor. The bathroom — and toliet — was in the middle. Might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a large room on the sixth floor with nice view over Amsterdam. We were warm welcomed at the reception. Even the hotel manager came by at our diner table to welcome us, very nice.
The room was a bit noisy so we didn't sleep very well when their were guest coming home after a good night out.

The diner and breakfast was excellent!! Very original and tasty... 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good location - even if you like walking because its only a 25 minute walk into the centre of Amsterdam. Good grocery store across from the hotel. Staff were friendly and professional. We stayed in a 2 star room with shared bathroom - the bathroom was ALWAYS clean. Unlimited towels, soap, shampoo always provided and kept on hand in the bathroom. I commented on how clean the shared bathrooms were to reception and she told us that they mix the floors with all types of rooms so that its unlikely there will be more than one person needing to use the shared bathroom at any given time. Plus the bathrooms are cleaned throughout the day too, not just in the morning. There are areas in the hotel to chill out which is good if waiting to catch a flight. Great wifi. Didn't take the breakfast because it seemed expensive....€19 per person...I kindly responded with a "no, thank you!". Great stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists participate in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.