We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tilburg
1 review
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We had a large room on the sixth floor with nice view over Amsterdam. We were warm welcomed at the reception. Even the hotel manager came by at our diner table to welcome us, very nice.
The room was a bit noisy so we didn't sleep very well when their were guest coming home after a good night out.

The diner and breakfast was excellent!! Very original and tasty... 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    283
    112
    71
    71
See reviews for
96
244
56
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good location - even if you like walking because its only a 25 minute walk into the centre of Amsterdam. Good grocery store across from the hotel. Staff were friendly and professional. We stayed in a 2 star room with shared bathroom - the bathroom was ALWAYS clean. Unlimited towels, soap, shampoo always provided and kept on hand in the bathroom. I commented on how clean the shared bathrooms were to reception and she told us that they mix the floors with all types of rooms so that its unlikely there will be more than one person needing to use the shared bathroom at any given time. Plus the bathrooms are cleaned throughout the day too, not just in the morning. There are areas in the hotel to chill out which is good if waiting to catch a flight. Great wifi. Didn't take the breakfast because it seemed expensive....€19 per person...I kindly responded with a "no, thank you!". Great stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

In common with other reviewers, I'd recommend understanding what the Lloyd Hotel and Cultural Assembly is before booking here. It's not a conventional hotel, and you shouldn't expect such when you arrive.

I booked a three-star room. The room was spacious, but very sparsely furnished with quirky furniture, and located in the basement with a small window and two light bulbs. The shower freestands in the middle of the room. There's no wardrobe or coat hangers, just pegs on the wall. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bed linen of good quality. I slept well.

If I'd been expecting a traditional 3-star hotel room, I would have been surprised and probably disappointed. Don't book here if you want a room as you would find in a chain hotel.

I would like to have explored the hotel more, and been on a trip where I wanted to experience new and different things. Maybe I'll try that next time.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to understand where your room will be
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlicum
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a week of business meetings in the hotel: perfect service and food. The Lloyd hotel is an experience! Rooms are weird but perfect! We had 4* and 5* rooms and especialy the 5* rooms will be a good memory.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed at the Lloyd Hotel for a long weekend in October with my significant other. The place has character and we liked it but I can see how some people may not.

We booked a three star room and had one where you create your own bathroom by opening out the folding wall (it's difficult to explain). The bed was very comfortable and once you get the hang of showering in the middle of the room and squeegeeing the floor afterwards it has all you need. The different lamps and lighting in the room were cool. Going to another floor to find some tea/coffee was quirky but quite fun. Housekeeping was minimal though - ie used coffee cups not removed from the room ...

Location is out of the way of main tourist attractions and you'll probably need to master the tram system or rent a bike.

Restaurants nearby: el cantine right next door - friendly with a good selection of beers and hearty food, great apple pie. Jamie's Fifteen - bit hit and miss and too expensive for what it is. Gare de l'est: excellent-cosy and relaxed, the set menu we had was very tasty, popular with the locals.

Some people might say the Lloyd is pretentious and sells spartan functional rooms as minimal chic with an expensive price tag. We suspended our cynicism and consequently enjoyed our weekend probably more than if we had been in your usual identikit hotel chain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we waited 5hours to get the room after they said we should only wait one hour. the room was after 6 hours available but no one told us about it, i had to ask again when we could get it.
The room was very beautiful with the italian shower, but not very clean as we arrived.

Room Tip: our room 402 war very good but not clean as it should be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The first reviewer paid 450 Euro, we paid 105 Euro so we were more happy I suppose. When I booked I knew the bathrooms were communal and down the hall. I did not know that the hotel is considered five star and maybe this is a stretch but I was thrilled with the quirk that this hotel offered. Imagine very clinical. When we walked into our room the room was floor to ceiling white tile that didn't even look clean (it was), the bed was comfortable and clinically white as could be. Furniture clinical. The whole room a photographers dream. Open you mind and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.