We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay and nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Genoa, Italy
1 review
“nice stay and nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been 2 days with family everything was clean, simple and elegant.
The position is not perfect but by bycicle or tram (3 stops) you are in the center of Amsterdam.
The location is wonderful with docks and Harbour in a completely "redisigned" urban area.
Few good bars and restaurants near the hotel and a very good restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    316
    124
    74
    74
See reviews for
103
286
66
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at the Lloyd Hotel. We had a 5 star room, which was huge! It was very comfortable, quiet and clean. We ate at the hotel's restaurant and thought it was delicious. We enjoyed some drinks as well. The hotel is in a nice location, right on the water. The dockyards are interested to walk through, and it feels completely different than the heart of Amsterdam. You can walk to the city center, but it will take you awhile to get there. We recommend staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Since all the rooms are different, I recommend talking to the staff if you dislike the room you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've stayed for 5 nights in a 1 star room, that hasn't got an ensuite bathroom. No problem with that. Each floor has a big bathroom, with 2 toilets and two showers, all behind doors. I've never had to wait to go there. A good thing is tha they provided bathrobes, besides the towels. I also loved the fact that we could have coffee and tea for free, as well as internet and the use of computers.
Regarding the location: in front of a canal, 6 min ride by tram 26 to central station (and there's also a tram 10 , that we also used a lot). There´s a great supermarket right in front of the hotel (C100). Is a nice, quiet area. I've got a great deal, specially regarding that in AMS the prices of the hotels and even hostels are not very cheap.

Room Tip: Only in even floors you have the cabinet where you can serve yourself with tea and coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Quiet location- a relaxing oasis, right next to a great pub and has its own restaurant too with delicious food. Rooms are lovely, it is a special place to stay and the beds are really comfortable. Clean, wonderful staff in the hotel and in the bar. we didn't have the breakfast buffet-went alla carte, but the buffet looked amazing with prosecco and smoked salmon. All great value for money!

Room Tip: All rooms look great, if you want your own bathroom- 2 star, if you can splash out go higher!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Lloyd twice recently. As others have said, the staff is nice and friendly. The rooms are definitely unusual. Our first room for 3 people featured the bathroom in between the two bedrooms. It was very neat and clean, but inconvenient for the 2 people not using the bath. The second room was supposed to be 5 star. It was huge and looked like an unfinished attic. It had fewer amenities than the first room and not even a hair dryer. The lighting was poor as well. I think "quirky"was more important than client comfort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Location is a little off the beaten track but an easy tram ride into town, which is right on the hotel doorstep. Trams are easy to navigate and it's well worth lowering the cost of the accommodation by staying a little outside of Amsterdam centre.
we stayed in the 5* room with the swing. Our 11 yr old boy absolutely loved the novelty of having this swing in the room.! The room was lovely, and fully beamed attic. Huge space and an extra single bed was put in for my son and we still had plenty of space to move around and make full use of the swing and the free standing tub.
There are tea and coffee making facilities along the corridor, no one informed us about this, we were just wandering the corridors and stumbled upon it. The hotel restaurant is pricey if you compare it to outside restaurants, though we didn't eat here the food looked very nice. For breakfast we cycled along the canal and there are a number of cheaper healthy options to choose from. We particularly liked the bagel place which about half the price of the hotel. There is also a great supermarket outside the hotel, just go into the shopping precinct as you can't really see it out front.
We decided not to rent bikes from the hotel, which were 14 euro per day, and instead rented at another bike shop near the movenpick hotel, which was 7 euro per day. Or 17 euro for 3 days. It's about a 20 mins walk from the Lloyd hotel.
My suggestion to anyone visiting Amsterdam that wants to visit any of the museums would be to book online ahead of the trip. Try to be organized in this area, otherwise you will be in for disappointment or very long lines. We didn't do this and missed out. Even arriving at Anne Franks house 1 hour ahead of the museum opening meant hundreds of people and no guarantee of entry.
Overall we had a great first visit to this hotel and Amsterdam, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Only a ten minute ride on tram 26 from the Central Station - very easy to find. Our 2-star room was very spacious, with table and chairs as well as a large, comfortable bed, and had a great view over the water. Quirky hotel with lots of interesting features and an "arty" feel. Staff were efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#108 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists participate in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.