We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you seek a cookie-cutter business hotel, I suggest you look elsewhere. If you're open to charm, quirkiness, impeccable service, great food & a comfortable bed, then read on. I stayed in 2 different rooms at the Lloyd in May-June 2013. First, I shared room 419 (2 stars) with a friend. This room (picture included) is large, but extremely spartan. Its walls consisted of white tiles. The shower was literally in the middle of the room, sort of a bummer if you value privacy. My roommate used it, then mopped up the puddle from the floor (mop provided). I opted to use the less-than-convenient shower in the communal bathroom down the hall (picture also included) & would've appreciated hooks & a shelf/table for towels, toiletries, etc. Fortunately, our bed was heavenly & we slept like logs. When my husband & children arrived, I moved to 4-star-room 211, which, I was told, is the hotel's only apartment. This unit consists of 2 rooms, a kitchen & a huge bathroom with a very long tub. All 4 of us were very comfortable. We ate only breakfast at the Lloyd, which was superb, & enjoyed easy access to Centraal Station (via tram #26) & Museumplein (via tram #10). The hotel has a number of communal areas filled with couches, books & tables. My children (ages 10 & 6) enjoyed exploring them. I took advantage of them to work late into the night while my family slept. Whether I return to Amsterdam for business or pleasure, I'd definitely go back to a a 3+ star room at the Lloyd Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    293
    117
    74
    71
See reviews for
98
261
58
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The Lloyd hotel was a great place outside the center and very easy access to the train to center station. Rooms were kinda cool in a weird asylum feel kinda way. Grocery store across the street and quite at night. The restaurant was descent especially late night after roaming the city all day. Overall kinda over priced for the rooms. The 5 star is way to over prices and the 2 star should be updated. I've stayed twice so obviously I find it a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

let's be honest, when you go for 1 star, it's one star. don't expect anything great. i read a comment about the reception and it's true that its pretty small and i can imagine it must be a bit messy if more than 2 people are waiting. otherwise we were ok with our bedroom even though it was very small. the matresses were good. the cleanliness could have been better though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This was a great experience. It's an exciting mix of recent. vivid history and absolutely modern design. The area is stark but we had a beautiful walk over to Java island and found a good bar and resturant over there. The transformation of the building has been done well, although the prison antecedents combined with stark modern design doesn't exactly make it a cosy stay. I liked the basement plant collection and the library on the top floor.The cafe felt like being in a University Department, with people actually talking to each other at breakfast - that doesn't always happen in hotels! The "hot water stations", where you could make tea and coffee, were only on even floors, which meant negotiating the stairs with hot drinks - and no trays, so I had to make the tea one at a time !
Breakfast was nice but expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hotel rooms vary from 1* to 5* unsure which room we had but I would guess a 3* double bed very comfy, shower bit different as was in the middle of room (open shower) TV was a little dated but worked. Hotel is a little strange in terms of décor but was a good average hotel.

To get from the Airport train station to Main train station (Amsterdam Central) take train from platform 1 or 2. When arriving at main train station come out and turn left walk 2/3 mins to tram 26 (comes every few mins) and the hotel is the 3rd stop Rietlandpark you can see the hotel when you get off the tram.

It is worth buying a 1/2/3 day tram ticket as you can get on and off as much as you like with it.

Room Tip: ask for a 4* or 5* with king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Lloyd's hotel with a group of people, all family. The building is interesting and located in a part of Amsterdam that is not touristic. The building however has quite a bit of history and that creates a nice atmosphere. The rooms are all different, but my room, spacious as it was, had a very strange shower that took up half of the room as soon as the giant door was closed. There is a nice restaurant where we had lunch. Because there are also rooms of a fraction of the price that we paid it gave us the feeling that we overpaid our rooms. These other rooms are meant for students or such which gives the clientele one sees there a slight idea of a youth hostel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the IJ-side of the building. The view is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lloyd Hotel is a taste. you like or you don't. I did. In true Dutch style the place presents an immediate visual interest and attitude. Bold - here I am. Reception booth is kind of cool and interesting but totally impractical if there are more than 2 people waiting. I waited for more than 30 minutes as I arrived just after a conference group.

BUT the wait was worth it! The 4* room was austere and cool at the same time with fabulous simplicity and humour. Clean, functionional and a very comfortable bed.

Staff are customer-oriented in a pragmatic Dutch way. Clear, polite and focussed on their job.

Restaurant is basic fare, good if you fancy a simple meal. For something more, head to the City.

Room Tip: I got the impression Llyoyd Hotel is very keen to impress you with all the clever art and surprises...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.