We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool spot but uneven overall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SUPER SALE rooms from €30
Ranked #147 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cool spot but uneven overall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked two rooms and they were unique and cool attic spots. The two-star room was small and drafty but worked for our teen-aged daughters. Our five-star room was larger but still drafty with pre-fab fiberglass bathroom unit in the corner. Reminded me of a squat I stayed in in 1997, not exactly five-star. A noisy pump sends waste water out as needed. Shower is not enclosed, so no complete privacy and though the water is warm, the air is cold. The maid came about every other day, but s/he never dusted the little TV. The restaurant was good, both food and atmosphere. One waiter remembered us and was very friendly as we stayed ten days. Other staff didn't ever seem to know who we were but we're generally helpful. My sweetie asked one woman at the front desk for a recommendation for Christmas dinner and she told us "like most Dutch, I eat at home with family." The location is great, though. Three stops to centraal, or take the 10 tram around city central and walk in. The aesthetic is cool. A little training for staff, and eliminate the reference to five-star anything, and it would be a good deal and a fun and unique accommodation.

Room Tip: For five-star, insist on 602 or 607. Otherwise, go for three or two star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    300
    118
    75
    72
See reviews for
99
265
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I like this Hotel very much, the combination of this Old House
with modern art! And the service was great, Thank you! Also the Place Seouls the hotel
Is very nice, the docks from Amsterdam.
We will come back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very artsy and hip so be prepared, this is not a Holiday Inn. Rooms are very interesting. The bed I had was fabulous, great comforter and pillows and really amazing sheets. Clean room, clean bathroom. I had a room with a private bathroom, but there are shared bathroom options for budget travelers. The hotel has lots of nice nooks and crannys to work in or hold an impromptu meeting. Creative atmosphere.

The neighborhood is great with a couple of restaurants and a big grocery store across the street. The hotel is a very short walk from the train only about three stops from Centraal Station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Ive stayed here 2 times. Im a travelling dj, and late check out is a must for me, and there was no problem here. The rooms are different, but they feel very nice. The restaurant is great, and a welcome change to the usual bad food found in amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, in, National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Located a short bus ride away from the Amsterdam centeral station where the main tourist attractions are. The area is really quiet and peaceful seemingly a university area. The hotel also has atram stop on the back which is two stops from the centeral station. The staff are really helpful and wifi is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was so happy this was off the beaten path, but easy to get to. Straight shot from the train station, and on a line that takes you straight to common amsterdam destinations.
Much more residential neighborhood itself, but a few handouts around.
The rooms are strange, each ones different.... Ours was fun for a few days, but I wouldn't enjoy it for more than that. I'm sure if you don't like your room you can switch!
Restaurant was great, nice atmosphere, pleasant staff.
Building itself has a lot of history and is a landmark in itself worth seeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We try to stay in interesting places when we travel, and Lloyds was definitely a unique stay. Our room was well designed and comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly. The entire place had an air of design enthusiasm, and there were a number of places to comfortably settle in and read a magazine or get online with the hotel's free wi-fi. The restaurant is lovely, and the food was very good. Initially we had been worried that it might be too far from places we wanted to go, but like others have said, the tram is literally steps away. And, if your a fan of a fresh Oliebollen, there's a stand within 5 minutes of the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.