We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SUPER SALE rooms from €30
Ranked #147 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 1* and great for the price in Amsterdam.
Artistic interior, with installations from previous resident artists scattered around The renovation of this old building is architecturally well thought out and walking up the central staircase feels as if in a cutting edge modern art gallery.
However, the beds are very narrow even for a slim person. We pushed them together to make a comfortable double for 2. I wouldn't sleep in one of them alone though as it is hard to turn over without falling out!
Would highly recommend, had a great stay on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    300
    118
    75
    72
See reviews for
99
265
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is only for you if you like uncommon interior design and a special patina. Some rooms are renovated in a very artistic way (positively), but other rooms are very minimalistic, scarse and blank. We looked at two rooms in 2-star category, one was horribly empty and reminded more of a jail cell, while the other room was of shabby but artistic interior design.
Generally, the rooms can be easily exchanged if you notify staff immediately and if another room in the same class is available. You can also upgrade for a fee.
The hotel has good wireless and is easily reachable via public transport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Firstly, if you're even looking at this hotel it means that you like quirky, something different from the soulless corporate chains and something more reliable than a guest house in the Red Light District. Well the good news is that unique and individual are the by words for this hotel. It is intriguingly different and stuffed full of history and ambience. The bad news is that it fails to live up to expectations.

We booked a "5 Star" room and paid an extra €35 to reserve the best "5 Star" room, in the top attic - complete with a bath in the room and a swing.

For me 5 Star doesn't have to mean slippers and bathroom, it's about attention to detail, quality and prefect execution. All these where missing from our room and overall experience:

The room was freezing on arrival, with the heating turned off and it was a cold windy day. They know we're arriving; we've even paid extra for this room - so surely if you know that turn the huge radiators off, that you would turn them back on for guests.

Whilst I get the mix of different furniture to add to the "alternative" feel, it doesn't have to look like it's come from a second-hand yard sale: a tatty rattan chair; cheap lights and pulls, etc.

I think you would struggle to recreate the entertainment centre in the room, which was an old 14 inch "portable" television - do you remember them, state of the art when colour came in - that was tied on to a wall stand by some black fabric. The speaker of the TV had blown, so all the channels came with the muffled-surround sound of a 1000 wasps.

The industrial look of the room was more unfinished and unloved rather than funky and urban - dirty exposed pipes, paint drip (from the workmen and not from the artisans who made the place home before the hotel).

The bathroom wet room was more like a campsite's shared facility - it's not a great look to have a mop as the central feature.

There is nightclub opposite, which closes at 4am - which i would have rather of not known, but with the lack of soundproofing - to protect the industrial feel - it wasn't just the "boom boom" of the bass that you could hear, but individual conversations - I am not exaggerating and by the way, due to the clocks chaging we had an extra hour on our last night - deep joy!

In summary, there was little sign of any discernable thought into making this room feel special and unique - it was just unique - but so would have a downtown hotel at half the cost.

To ensure that you know I'm not just a moaner, the staff were excellent as was the pork chop and hotchpotch that I ate for dinner.

So, overall, I'm pleased to add the Lloyd Hotel to my list of travel experiences. The bad news is that it over promises and under delivers. It bills itself as the world's first 1 to 5 Star hotel, in reality this is firmly a 3 star hotel and like the millions of other 1 star hotels who would love to be 5 star.

On a side note, if you are driving to AMS like us, then use the Park and Ride Zeeburg - BRILLIANT. It was only €8 a day for secure parking and with that was included return tram tickets to the Central Station for up to 5 people!

Room Tip: I would not stay there again and certainly would pay no extra for 4 or 5 Star room - stick to 3 star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Spent there 4 nights and really liked the place. Not very far from the centre (but it is a good idea to rent a bike for the whole period of staying), quiet, clean and quite comortable. I took a 2-star room and it was really OK - spacious, with comortable beds and designer's bathroom. Can't really say a bad word about anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Providing pleasingly eccentric lodging, the Lloyd looks like a Soviet workers’ vacation hotel as re-imagined by a lapsed Phillippe Stark apprentice pursuing an “outsider” Bauhaus aesthetic. Although our standard room – one of a mix of one-star to five-star accommodations – was just wide enough for a door and a queen-size bed, half of its length was taken up by an all red “bathing stage,” where a tub large enough for yoga was elevated on a platform whose side wall included separate closed compartments for a sink and a toilet. Even stranger, a bed-side table and a tall phone stand rolled along a groove in the wooden bed frame, like movable props that facilitated inching around the tiny space. Having said all this, we should also note that the bed was extremely comfortable, the food in the dining room unusually tasty and seriously prepared, and the staff invariably accommodating. The Lloyd’s location, in the redeveloped docklands, is close to a tram stop and convenient for visiting the new and architecturally arresting EYE Film Institute, the Muziekgebouw, the Bibliotheek and Renzo Piano's NEMO. After several days on the quaint 17th Century canals of Amsterdam’s UNESCO area, the Lloyd was a refreshing alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is really weird. It looks like an early 20th century hospital accommodated to be a hotel.
Rooms look like they've been cut out from typical hospital layout. For example when entering to the room I've had, one actually entered a bathroom from which you entered the "real" room. But I should consider myself lucky, as my friend got a room that looked like part of the corridor in the basement. His room was 002, don't take it.

There was no curtain by the shower, so if you like draft under the shower then there you go ;) Bed was OK, room was simple but also OK. Furniture... I really don't need some fancy cupboards in my room, but wardrobe that I've had looked like something taken from the trash: few raw planks clumsily nailed together. It had a hole on the side and it would not close.

Food was mediocre, but at least there was plenty of it.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms with 00 at the beginning of the number. They are in basement. My room was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.