We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and extraordinary place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
SUPER SALE rooms from €30
Ranked #147 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Doubice, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great and extraordinary place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Really one of the most impressive hotels I've ever stayed. Very impressive and weird place with a lot of beauty and great design. Not so good for families I think but great place for anybody who would like to experience the real Amsterdam. You can walk for hours cross the hotel and you'll find some great secret rooms and places.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    300
    118
    75
    72
See reviews for
99
265
59
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Lovely hotel for city trip in quiet neighborhood on the shore of Het IJ. Nice flair for furnishing.10 min with tram to central station. Bank and supermarket across the street. Nightbus every hour from central station. Very friendly staff.

Room Tip: room was 3 star category
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Amsterdam beautiful capital of nord europe is always fully booked!!!!!! but fortunately we met this straordinary hotel. yes, is little bit out of the city, but we cannot have everything just on the corner and by the central station there are a lot of tram and bus that go everywhere.... ok, we went there and we chose three star room.. what a surprice :) big room, that for amsterdam is a great challenge, than, at first sight, where is the bathroom???? and voilà it was hiding behind one door... WOW that's a very contemporary art hotel ... And I will come again and again!!! love Holland and this openminded A'dam city....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here for three nights at the end of April. It's a good place to stay if you don't want to be in the middle of the "tourist" areas but still close enough that you can get easily about. Two tram lines intersect here - #26 which goes straight to the central train station (3 stops) and #10 which follows a semi-circle around the downtown area hitting most of the major attractions. Several restaurants and pubs in the immediate vicinity with good menus. These aren't tourist places (but they still spoke fluent english) - just good old normal local hangouts. Jamie Oliver's Fifteen is just a 10 minute walk along the water (towards the train station) if you want to try out something a little more upscale. As others have noted there is a medium sized grocery store right across the street which is perfect for buying snacks and drinks. There is a liquor store just down the street as well.

I stayed in a 3 star room which was rougly half the cost of a standard room from the hotel chains located more centrally in Amsterdam. And while there was some obvious differences in standard differences (a small, old TV, some of the furniture was a bit worn, etc.) this hotel more than makes up for it in charm. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was well stocked and clean and the room I had was extremely large. I had a room facing the water and had windows on two sides, which I can recommend. A friend who was staying at the hotel at the same time was on the other side of the hotel (facing the tram) and while the room was just as nice it didn't have much of a view. He was also disturbed a bit by the trams at night (which I didn't hear on my side of the hotel). I was there on a weekend and there is a disco across the street which can be heard well into the evening. I'm not particularly bothered by noises so I had no problem sleeping, but I imagine that if you are sensitive to exterior noise it might be a problem.

The hotel itself is an interesting building with an equally interesting history - so don't be afraid to walk around and explore! The staff is great, very helpful. If you are going to the museums (van gogh or rijks) buy your ticket at the hotel and skip the lines (which even in the off-season are long!).

Room Tip: Try to get a water-side room - better view and no noise from the trams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a great time at the Lloyd Hotel. The key here is to know what you're getting into. If it is not for you, you'll be unhappy. If you know what to expect, you'll be very satisfied.

Others have explained the concept. Different stars all in the same hotel. You'll see people who look like they belong in a hostel checking in right next to people wearing business suits. Those who pay for the lower-star rooms will probably be satisfied -- as long as they are essentially expecting a hostel or a low-end hotel (even though creative and clean). Those who pay a lot for a five star room (we did) could be unsatisfied because this is not some fancy place with full service. It is an experience -- you'll get a crazy room. Great for somebody who has seen it all and needs something new.

All that said, I'd stay at the Lloyd again but I wouldn't spring for one of the four or five star rooms. We paid for a five star room. It was crazy, it was cool. But if I were to pay that money again, I'd probably rather have the comforts and service that comes from a more typical hotel. However, I'd jump at the chance to stay here in a two or three-star room. The location is great -- away from the craziness but easy to the center of town and there is a grocery store and a few other things right there (tip: tram can get expensive quickly -- either commit to a multi-day pass or rent a bike). We didn't try the restaurant, but it looks nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I really love this hotel, it has everything; from very good, beautiful and special 4 star rooms with excellent beds to very cheap 1 star rooms with bunk beds. Every room is special.
There are some wonderful extras to the hotel, like a nice restaurant where you can eat but also buy the sheets you have slept on, or read a magazine in a beautiful couch. There are several different corners, with little expositions or bookshelves with a wonderful collection of art books. This is truly a different hotel. I have enjoyed it on many occasions.

Room Tip: If you have some money to spend, go for the more upscale rooms with extra larges beds (up to 8 perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

So I am American living abroad in Northern Europe for a few years with my wife and 2 children, having said that this revew of the hotel recognized several issues in Europe and if you have traveled in Europe before you might relate the issues I will bring up.

1) Not all hotels (Sofitel, Novatel, other properties) do not allow more than 1 child.
2) Not all hotels can provide a cultural experience as well as a comfortable hotel room.
3) Many hotels in Europe do not offer a view as well.

The over all hotel experience was good. The TV was small, but I didn't travel to Amsterdam to watch TV. The rooms are not cheap, but you get what you pay for. Our room was comfortable (all beit a little unorthadox with the bathroom setup) and it offered a fantastic view of the harbour, was close enough to the "action" of Amsterdam yet not so close that you could not rest. There was a convienent tram stop nearby, a grocery store accross the street and a resturaunt on site. The staff were friendly and all spoke fluent English.

Keep in mind that this hotel is not a luxury hotel (Sofitel), but rather a great cultural expereience that is affordable for the travel. Offering a historic building and a fantastic view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lloyd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.