We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous hotel in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy to your Saves list
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lloyd Picnic Special
Ranked #122 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vail, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous hotel in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hello. I read reviews online to determine where we would stay for our two nights in the city. We have a four year old son also with us. The beds where phenomenal, so nice you felt heaven like in the linens. SO much so we bought a set when we left. The restaurant was nice and cozy. The ladies at the front desk were helpful and they sold train tickets and gave advice for perfect ideas to do in the beautiful city. Parking was 22euro a night extra, so if you are booking on price, take that into consideration. Also the bathroom was very standard, nothing even remotely special. Easy to get anywhere in town because the train/tram stops just in front. Our four year old had no problems seeing the entire center from this historic hotel. We loved the stairway with the unique history documented on the walls of the hotel. A great hotel choice when you take a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    370
    133
    80
    80
See reviews for
119
325
77
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was glad to see another dimension of Amsterdam in the form of Eastern Docklands and its smartly converted old warehouses and historical buildings (such as Lloyd Hotel). This hotel building oozes character and charmed me with its long corridors and with contrasts of old architecture and warm impeccable service.

Sumptuous breakfast is served in an airy room with at least 7 meter ceiling height, and if you feel like having a cup of coffee to your room look for a small coffee stations (at least on the 2nd floor corridor) where you can make yourself a cup of coffee at any hour of the date.

I also loved the furnishing of my room - smart and austere at the same time. Shower was funny enough placed in the middle of the room by the wall, without any wall or curtain fencing it off - brilliantly practical and simple.

There is a superfast tram-line right from behind the hotel to central station - and it generally took me 15 minutes to get to central Amsterdam.

I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something new while staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Myself and my partner spent 4 nights at the lloyd hotel in chilly february. We went for a 3 star room and were very impressed - stylish, big comfy bed, spacious and a shower slap bang in the middle! Not like anywhere we had stayed before. As all the rooms are unique, on arrival, as I had read in previous reviews, we were offered the possibility of changing our room if the initial one offered was not to our liking - a nice touch I think. I hadn't taken a hairdryer with me but was able to borrow one from reception no problem. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. We had breakfast/brunch in the hotel each morning and ate dinner in the hotel on one of the evenings. The food was of a consistently high standard - simple ingredients, cooked well - I particularly enjoyed the grilled sea bass with yellow beets. There was always a lovely relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant/lounge and we popped in several times for good coffee/hot chocolate. The hotel is also well situated on the 10 and 26 tram lines - 5-10 mins (3 stops) from central station on the 26 and the 10 takes you all the way down to the museum district. I would definitely recommend the lloyd hotel to any friends visiting Amsterdam and hope to be back myself in not too long.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The only hotel in Europe with the possibility of booking rooms at 1-5* hence catering for any budget, also architecturally adapted with fantastic light angles, housing a great restaurant, a cultural centre and even elevator music- business, family, student friendly

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytown, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This Hotel, clearly says that their rooms are not all the same and I have to say that they are true to their word. Stayed here for just one Night and had a great room. Got a FREE upgrade and had a great room, with a large comfy bed. If you want something different, fun and handy to get to and from, then you should consider this Hotel. I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

If you are looking for the romantic hideaway in Amsterdam, Lloyd might not be your first pick. Depends on what you call romantic of course. The hotel itself is due to it's architectural style and original destination (partly a prison and migration center) not very cosy, but of course it is a gem in it is own typical amsterdam style. Design, "archi" freaks en trendspotters might like it the way it is. People looking for something completely different as well. The 0 to 5 star principle is rather limited to your choice of room, not of service or food quality (teh same for all guests). As such I picked right in the middle with a 3 star room. The bed was great, the room large and the bathroom cold and very basic with towels that you would rather expect in chinese bunk hotels. But altogether I felt like paying the correct price, no surprise in either sense of the word. I wouldn't hesitate to ask the reception to see multiple rooms as they all differ even within the same price category. The restaurant area is nice with high ceilings, but again, it misses some charm to feel comfy and at home (if that is the experience you are looking for).
Breakfast buffet is overpriced, better grab a coffee and croissant and go into town for a real brunch. During weekdays the (new red and rather small) bar is mainly visited by business people staying overnight with their colleagues after some meetings/brainstorms in the building. Staff at the 'reception' was welcoming and charming, the lady at the restaurant rather rude in her answer on a simple and polite request for scrambled eggs: 'absolutely not possible and that it is not her responsibility to take care of some, talk to the management if you don't like it'...
Finally the hotel is not centrally located but with tram 60 just in front you are within 10 minutes at the central station so it shouldn't stop you from picking out the Lloyd as your exploring base.
Conclusion: it's original, I like dutch designers (responsible for furniture in the rooms), it's worth a visit but don't expect something that makes you 'glow'.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiev
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Liked very much, just what've expected and even more. The ambience is beautiful and the staff is helpful and sincerely glad to welcome/help you. Thanx!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy

Address: Oostelijke Handelskade 34, 1019 BN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#106 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy in Amsterdam is the first one-to-five star design hotel in the world. Created as a home for travellers of all stripes, we believe in sharing cultural luggage - yours and ours. Located in a transformed historic building, the Lloyd Hotel is an icon of Dutch design. More than 50 designers and artists participate in the hotel. Our Cultural Embassy presents ongoing exhibitions, talks and events every month, available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, Budget Places, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyd Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.