We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goede locatie, aardig personeel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Goede locatie, aardig personeel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated on the boarder of Amsterdam Centre, just a few minutes walk from the Albert Cuyp market (the largest daily market in Europe). The reach-ability with public transport is more than ok. There are several Tramstops within walking-range.

The hotel staff is friendly and the public area's are decent and clean. They have a nice garden in which you can chill and a bar with reasonable prices.

I booked the small room for a reasonable (Amsterdam Centre) fare. The room is what you pay for. Small, but decent and clean. There is a closet, nice soft bed, chair, desk and a small bathroom with sink, toilet and shower. Everything was acceptable, except the shower. It's impossible to get a nice shower when the curtain is closed. In the evening i maneuvered myself in the shower with the curtain closed, but this wasn't comfortable at all. So the next morning i decided to leave the curtain open, what off course would mean water on the floor. I took that for granted. It also not comfortable to stand in the shower because of the uneven shower basin.

So leaving the shower out of the review, it was all really acceptable for the price I paid.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra towel for the floor and just leave the showercurtain open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    119
    129
    40
    33
See reviews for
39
126
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. It is very clean and staff are so helpful and friendly. The room wasn't huge but you don't come to Amsterdam to sit in your room! Lots of lovely restaurants nearby and the tram stop is just round the corner to go into Amsterdam square. Would def stay here again

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very disappointed when we turned up, Building work being carried out in the reception area and on the first floor. There is no safety door on the lift. The general cleanliness is poor. There is damp in the bathroom on the ceiling and overall the décor is very outdated. Not an ideal location on the back of a playschool x

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The place is an absolute mess, poor location. I would not advise anyone to stay at this place

First impressions as we walked in was shock !! pleas place was a mess, have attached a picture of the bar area, we went to our room in a lift with no inside safety door, I was actually again the wall of the lift shaft as we started to move off, could have been very nasty indeed !! we never used the lift again instead used the stairs which were so deep it was ridiculous.

Room Tip: double rooms are about 3 feet wider than he bed, bathroom has a sliding wardrobe door for access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I made a last minute booking for an overnight stay. E99 for a triple room seemed a good price for a hotel in a pretty central location.

First impressions were pretty good - there is a lovely park opposite. The hotel has a respectable external appearance.

Internally, the decor in the communal areas is fairly dated. Nevertheless, the welcome was warm.

On arriving at the room, the room was very dated, but the main issue was that we only had two beds and there were three of us! I explained the problem to reception who noted that there had been an error and that although I had booked a triple room, the information they had received from the booking agent was that the room was for one person only. They said that they would put up a third bed whilst we ate.

When we returned from dinner, we were given keys for a new room and were asked to move our bags into the new room. It may have been a nice touch had this been done for us.

The new room was a family room (with 5 beds). Still quite dated, but it had a lovely little balcony overlooking the small garden and an ensuite bathroom. Unfortunately, there was no plug for the bath. When I asked at reception for a plug, I was told that they would find one and bring it up later - this did not happen. The ceramic soap dish was also quite badly chipped (not ideal for a family room where there may be young children in the bath); and various tiles were cracked. Towels were functional, but thin.

We had a pretty good night's sleep - the beds were comfortable - but were woken early hours (before 8am) by some workmen working on the landing (half of the hotel was being refurbished).

Breakfast was 9E for a continental breakfast, and half price for children. The selection was pretty good, the staff cheerful and welcoming.

All in all, the hotel is very dated, but it is in a good location, has great potential and is presently being refurbished. E99 for 1 adult and 2 children was fair, but I would have been very disappointed had I paid the full price.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel and rooms are tiny but clean. A fair balance between cost, location and quality, considering the overall cost of hotels in Amsterdam.
It has minimal but functionnal equipment (towels, soap, etc.).
Personnel are friendly and efficient. Security is a daily concern with them (you must leave your key at the desk when leaving the premisses).
Personnel arranged for a taxi to take us to the airport on our last day. It cost 37Euros, less than a regular taxi fare - around 45-50 Euros.
The breakfast is only 9 Euros but of poor quality. We ate there once. howerver, there are several cafés in which to have breakfast within 2-4 min. walk.
I would recommend this hotel if you are traveling on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, a three star hotel with 36 newly renovated rooms, is located in the middle of Amsterdam. Providing accommodation for business and leisure travelers.Welcome to the newly renovated 3-star Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam. The Hotel has 36 rooms; all renovated in the last 2 years, combine a vintage fashion with a modern look. We offer a business center. The reception can provide guests with tickets for museums and city transportation, as well as offer any assistance or recommendations in booking any of the attractions or dining that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Aalborg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.