We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    118
    119
    38
    32
See reviews for
37
117
46
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my wife spend 3 nights in Aalborg hotel. We are for the first time in Amsterdam and everything started so wrong. We booked our trip from december. All the money was taken from our acount since that day (4 mounth and 1 week before the trip). We choose to book a standard double room. But, surprise. At the reception we received a small room, whithout any information at all. After we verified again our reservation, we choose to go to speak with the receptioneer. She verify our reservation and told us that indeed we book a standard room (not a small room, which is exactly half of a standard room) but they have told us that they don't have a standard room any more. They proposed us a free breakfast, but this option doesn't cover not even the diference pay for the standard room and, which is more important, the confort that we expected to have. Regarding the small room, in which we stay after all (we received a refund but not convenient for us) has a very bad condition. I think that was maximum 1.8x3 m with no space at all. Doesn't have a closet for clothes and you have to keep all your stuff in troler. The bathroom was also very small. Finally We think that is a very bad experience and it ruined our trip. Maybe it was our bad luck but we hope for better conditions and services next time we come back in Amsterdam. So I do not recommend this hotel at all!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was just perfect for me and my friend for our 2 nights stay in Amsterdam.

Its location was about 10 minute tram ride from the central of Amsterdam so was a little quieter. The area was very pretty and the hotel was situated across the road from a lovely park. We easily got to the hotel from the airport by train and then by tram.

The room was very spacious and light and was cleaned daily. We were told that the twin rooms where in fact bigger than the doubles and that they were a lot smaller.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and provided us with all the information we needed for our stay.

The hotels breakfast options were not great, however there is a lovely cafe just across the road who serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and I would highly recommend that as well.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Aalborg and in Amsterdam and I would definietley recommend this hotel to anyone on a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin not a double as the double rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Not a good start, something was wrong with my card when i booked with booking.com so I had no room when I got there. The price was higher than on internet as I booked. The room a single room was the smallest I ever seen! To enter the shower room was like a comedy nearly not possible and Im slim!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room before you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

My friends and i chose this hotel mainly for its budget friendly appeal. We were pleasantly surprised by the comfortable room, ample breakfast and reasonable location. What really made our stay 5* was the piece of eye candy on reception with the tribal tattoo, and the father figure, affectionately known to us as 'Dirk', who manned the bar from 12-9am. They ensured we had everything we needed, nothing was too much at any time of the day or night. All in all, very friendly and accomodating place, would definitely stay again.

N.B. rooms not soundproof.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This hotel we stayed was good for price, comfort and location. We stayed 3 nights and were enjoying walks to city centre and around. Room was small but we weren't there to spend time in hotel, so for sleeping was good enough. Receptionists were all nice and helpful. Mattress remembered better times and we could hear occasionally other neighbors conversation, but still would recommend this hotel for budget travelling. Amsterdam is beautiful and curious city and Dutch people generally very nice and polite.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, a three star hotel with 36 newly renovated rooms, is located in the middle of Amsterdam. Providing accommodation for business and leisure travelers.Welcome to the newly renovated 3-star Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam. The Hotel has 36 rooms; all renovated in the last 2 years, combine a vintage fashion with a modern look. We offer a business center. The reception can provide guests with tickets for museums and city transportation, as well as offer any assistance or recommendations in booking any of the attractions or dining that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Aalborg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.