We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October. Easy to find opposite a well known park. Welcoming staff and we got a bigger room (triple) than we had booked (double) which was great. The room was quiet despite being on a street since it was facing the rear of the building. The little balcony was a pleasant addition. We didn't have breakfast here since there are plenty of nice cafes around the area. It's about half an hour walk to the main part of the center from the hotel or about 5-10 mins on the tram. We hired a bike from the hotel which was easy since they were right outside the hotel and enjoyed a day cycling round the city.
The bar is open 24/7 so can get a drink if you come back late from town.
Rooms were clean and spacious - most central hotels in Amsterdam have small rooms in comparison. The rate was very reasonable considering hotels are generally expensive in Amsterdam. Staff were welcoming and pleasant. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    101
    101
    38
    25
See reviews for
35
99
41
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very good budget hotel which does the basics well: comfortable bed, clean and quiet room, quiet area, good location, decent breakfast, hot and powerful shower, low cost. I recommend this to any business traveler requiring a simple, no frills place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel staff was incredible. They made suggestions for places to eat, things to do, and even helped us find a less expensive way to the airport when we had to checkout. The breakfast was buffet with plenty of choices and long hours. There was a garden area and the bar area was open for 24 hours. The room was large as was the bathroom. A little street noise, but not bad. The next time I go to Amsterdam, this is where I will stay.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor facing the street. At night it was a bit noisy, but I would be fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great staff, nice size rooms, wonderful shower (you don't realize how important a good shower is until you've stayed at some of the places we've been) and a huge breakfast that is worth the price (9 euro). The beds are comfy and the location is pretty good. 20-25 minute walk from Dam Square. It's quiet inside, but outside it can sometimes be a bit loud. Nothing closing your windows won't fix, though.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff, great location close to the tram and restaurants. TINY bedroom, couldn't actually lay my case down flat without having to step through it to get to the bathroom. It was clean enough, but not much sound insulation on the window which faced the main road...bring earplugs! Glad I had mine. Cleaner took the cup that was provided but didn't replace - bit of a pain when I went to bed. Overall it was fine...the location makes up for any shortcomings - MASSIVELY overpriced since it was during IBC, a major event locally, but then again so were all hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Not sure if the back rooms are any quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in June and had a great stay. Upon arrival the gent at reception couldn't do enough to help. We hadn't pre-booked breakfast and we were informed that breakfast was an additional $9 each, but we weren't pushed into it and were advised that we could decide in the morning. All staff that we came across were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was a decent size, just enough space for a base for a sightseeing break. Room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels daily as well. Both room and bathroom were very clean. The bed extremely comfortable and the shower was decent. The TV also had a variety of English channels - although when away on a busy break this isn't a major thing but worth mentioning.
The location of the hotel is approx. 20-25 mins away from Centraal Station by tram, but not an inconvenience at all as it is very close to the tram stop too.
The only possible downfall was the breakfast which consisted of a very basic continental breakfast with not much variety, but I would not let that put you off.
For the money we paid compared to what other hotels were offering for a similar price, this was a definite bargain and we would both recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Price was o.k. , not noisy, a little bit water in the Doushe, but it wasn`t a problem, very kindly reception, for 2 days ideal for us, we took S Bahn every day to got to the central, breakfast we didn`take, we cannnot say something about ist, Parking was for us in Amsterdam Abcoude Station without money = safety less the car, then we took the train 15 Minutes to go to Amsterdam Central Station, from there with Line 4 to the HOtel 10 Minutes

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, a three star hotel with 36 newly renovated rooms, is located in the middle of Amsterdam. Providing accommodation for business and leisure travelers.Welcome to the newly renovated 3-star Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam. The Hotel has 36 rooms; all renovated in the last 2 years, combine a vintage fashion with a modern look. We offer a business center. The reception can provide guests with tickets for museums and city transportation, as well as offer any assistance or recommendations in booking any of the attractions or dining that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Aalborg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.