We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prima” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prima”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Price was o.k. , not noisy, a little bit water in the Doushe, but it wasn`t a problem, very kindly reception, for 2 days ideal for us, we took S Bahn every day to got to the central, breakfast we didn`take, we cannnot say something about ist, Parking was for us in Amsterdam Abcoude Station without money = safety less the car, then we took the train 15 Minutes to go to Amsterdam Central Station, from there with Line 4 to the HOtel 10 Minutes

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    124
    130
    41
    33
See reviews for
40
129
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with two friends for the weekend.
The hotel is located a ten min tram ride from central Amsterdam and the tram stop is less than a five min walk from the hotel.
The area doesn't have any great amenities, but being so close to the centre this wasn't a problem. The hotel is however opposite a lovely park.
The hotel itself is well run and the rooms are small but practical and excellent value for money. The bathrooms are a bit tired looking, and I wouldn't choose this hotel if going as a couple but it was perfect as a crash pad with friends.
The bedside tables and desk was covered in a layer of dust and should have been wiped down, but it didn't really affect our stay.
I would definitely stay here a gain.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I arrived in Amsterdam by train at the Central Station. It was easy to find the ticket office to purchase a multi-day tram/bus ticket from the ticket seller in the station. It was great to have this service because I was also able to ask about where to catch the tram I needed to take to get to the hotel.

The hotel offers directions from the station which are pretty simple. You leave the station and the trams are situated right outside. You take the number 4 to the appropriate stop, and the hotel is just a short walk from there.

Riding buses and trams in Amsterdam requires that you “swipe” your bus ticket or pass in front of the machine provided in the entrance and exit of the bus/tram. You are constantly reminded to “check out” - because not doing so may invalidate your pass. So, do some research about using public transport in Amsterdam.

The hotel is situated about half a long city block from the tram stop (going and coming). It was easy to identify and find. It is also situated right in front of a very large park which is nice if you want to spend some time in a green space.

I arrived early, so I left my luggage and went out to explore Amsterdam. Museums are located within walking distance from the hotel. I walked everywhere in Amsterdam, but if you are not in shape or if this is a problem, there are plenty of trams, buses, etc., to get you where you need to go.

The room was very small by most standards. There was a full bathroom with toilet, shower, and sink. I was in room #30 and the shower was situated in what appeared to be a very small sit-in tub. There was a slope in the tub which made it very awkward taking a shower, but the shower is the removable type which would allow you to sit and spray as you like. By the way, the hot water ran very very hot - all the time, so be careful about testing the water before you bathe, shower, or wash.

There was a small bed, a closet, and a desk - all were sufficient for my needs as a solo traveler. A TV, clock, and telephone were also in the room. There was an outlet if you unplugged the TV/Clock and another one in the bathroom (bring your own adapters) - all sufficient for all of my gadgets.

My room had a window that faced the park and a major road. Road noises were evident during the day and night if you leave the window open. There is also foot and bike traffic in the area, so voices can also be heard if the window is open. With the window closed, there is less noise, but there is still some noise, so be prepared if this is an issue for you.

Wi-fi was free and available the whole time with never a problem. Breakfast is extra for each morning you are there, and you can purchase a voucher when you check in. I found it to be ample and sufficient for my needs. There is a nice dining area where you can eat or you can eat in a small garden connected to the dining area.

I like to walk, so I walked all over Amsterdam. I also took the canal cruise, and I used the tram to get between my hotel and farther to reach areas. Walking was a plus because there is so much to see and experience within Amsterdam. The tram you take to get to the hotel also stops at some of the major squares and many of the squares lead to the sights most people want to visit or see.

Restaurants, markets, stores, ATMs, etc., are all situated close to the hotel or within a short walking distance with quite a variety to choose from. There is a very nice restaurant right outside the hotel to the right and across the street (Cafe Sarphaat) that serves delicious meals reasonably priced, but there are plenty if you decide to take a walk and look around all over Amsterdam.

The hotel staff changes but they are all very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

While I was in Amsterdam, I took a side trip to Delft which I would recommend for a Saturday or Sunday. Nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam and a quaint little city. You can do a flex pas at the train station that allows you to come and go at your convenience during whatever day you choose. There are stops at the Hague and Haarlem too if you want to get on and get off, but be aware of which trains run in which directions, some will actually bypass Haarlem or catch it on the way back.

Overall, the hotel was more than adequate for my needs, and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

2 of us stayed at the hotel Aalborg back in November 2007 for a weekend before continuing to Paris, London, and Rome. We were a group of 4 who were travelling on vacation (our other 2 friends stayed at Hotel Diana). This hotel is small, but has character. The bed was comfortable, but nothing to write home about. The total space of the room was small and ok for sleeping, but not much more than that. The bathroom was interesting: It was small, but had a nice size tub. This hotel has a nice little bar on the first floor where you can hang out for a few and have a couple of drinks with friends before heading out. It is not up in the center nor is it around the Red Light District. However, the tram is just a 3 blocks walk away or you can walk up to the center of the city (about 20-25 minutes walk). The Van Gogh museum is beautiful and a must see! As is the Rijksmuseum. They sit very close to one another and are about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. If you are on a budget and/or just will use the hotel for sleeping, then this will do in a pinch.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

...and other museums, also in a nice neighbourhood for food, cafes. antique shops, 10 min to the metro.Our room was small but pleasant, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast ok, in a nice little restaurant / bar room. Wifi all worked very well and there's everything you need on hand. Would definitely stay here again for a museum-visiting trip to Amsterdam. The lift is fine, the stairs are unusually steep.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top are a bit small, try a lower floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was really nice, room was small but nice. On the top floor so quite quiet :) it was quite far out from the centre of Dam, about a half hour walk but a nice walk. Breakfast looked really good although unfortunately we didn't spend enough time in the hotel to try this! Room was lovely, bathroom was nice, really comfy bed. Staff were really helpful too :) we would definitely stay again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Tavor, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed recently two nights at the Aalborg.What attracted me to the Aalborg was the location, next to a park,street market ,restaurants and a few attractions.Basically an average hotel, clean and its plus was its location.Its accessible by tram with a short walk to get there.If you're looking for wild parties etc give it a miss but if you want a good place at a reasonable rate it ticked all the right boxes. The staff were helpful giving advice and directions,we asked for an extra blanket on our first night and got it only the next day,managed in anycase but there is room for improvement in that department. Didnt try the breakfast or meals so cant comment on them.
I give them a rating of very good and thats mainly because as they say in the real estate the most important 3 things is location,location and location!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#220 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#136 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Hotel Europa 92
#230 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Central Park
#165 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#151 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, a three star hotel with 36 newly renovated rooms, is located in the middle of Amsterdam. Providing accommodation for business and leisure travelers.Welcome to the newly renovated 3-star Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam. The Hotel has 36 rooms; all renovated in the last 2 years, combine a vintage fashion with a modern look. We offer a business center. The reception can provide guests with tickets for museums and city transportation, as well as offer any assistance or recommendations in booking any of the attractions or dining that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Aalborg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.