We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base for Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Base for Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stopped here for a weekend in Amsterdam in November 2013. Its a nice little hotel, and excellent value for money. As mentioned in the other reviews, the cheapest rooms are very small, but they were clean and warm, with spotless bedding, nicely decorated, and the bed was very comfortable. So a very good nights sleep was had both friday and saturday. The lobby is manned 24 hr so you can come and go as you please, and the bar is also 24hr meaning you can have a little night cap when you get back as we did. The staff were very helpful and friendly. What really makes this hotel great though, is the location. Its about a 20 - 30 minute walk from the city, depending on how fast you walk, but has good tram links which will get you there in 5 minutes. The hotel is set across from a large beautiful park, which is nice to walk through in the morning on your way to The Albert Cuypmarkt (Amsterdams largest outdoor market), which is 5 mins walk from the hotel. The hotel is in the area of De Pijp, which is bustling throughout the day and thriving at night with an abundance of cafes, restaurants, pubs, bars and coffeeshops. We are already planning our next visit, and will be spending our days in the city, but our evenings in De Pijp, as its such a great place.

Room Tip: Go for the medium sized rooms, as the difference in price is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    105
    105
    38
    26
See reviews for
35
101
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just had a weekend away staying at this lovely hotel
Was perfect it situated just away from the main roads so quiet peacefull
Wasn't to spacious but was nice for what we needed and can't wait to go again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The least expensive rooms are extremely small and the staff was as professional as policemen would be, but clearly do not know how to smile. Our room was close to the stairs and because of that we were woken up during the night because doors were being slammed all the time. We could not close the window so to keep the temperature up we had to leave the radiator on. Buffet breakfast was overpriced relative to the offering.
On the other hand the location of the hotel is convenient relative to the tourist areas
If you are keen about visiting Amsterdam and still want a pleasant stay I'm afraid you will have to go to a more expensive hotel or choose another room.

Room Tip: Avoid the smaller rooms close to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went for business. Was fine. Wouldn't be in a hurry to go for pleasure. Well connected location. Hotel seems to need an investment.

Positives. I had a very comfortable bed (four of them) and a small table and a good-sized bathroom with lots of towels and some toiletries. It was quiet and very dark at night.

Negatives. The shower door was too small in all dimensions. I had two mornings of clearing huge amounts of water from the floor before resorting to bathing instead. There were very few electric sockets. The fridge did not work. The door to the room was cracked and was very difficult to open and close.

Would be fine if pricing implied that it was cheap and cheerful. However, the rates were really expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Layton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was located in an area with excellent tram links and within walking distance of some very good restaurants and bars. Our room was extremely small, but having read previous reviews, that is what we expected. However, the room was immaculately clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were located on the 4th floor, so were not aware of the traffic noise outside.
It was also extremely useful to have free internet access via their two computers, located on the ground floor in their 24hr bar/café.
The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful so I would revisit this hotel on that basis. Next time I will probably book a twin room as I gather they are more spacious.

Room Tip: I gather the twin rooms (with beds put together, are larger than the standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff were lovely, very helpful, and there was a nice terrace, but the location very noisy - no double-glazing?- and I didn't sleep much. The room was very small, I knew this before I came, but no courtesy kettle for tea/coffee, so I felt it was expensive for what I got. Everything was clean and plenty of warm water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, a three star hotel with 36 newly renovated rooms, is located in the middle of Amsterdam. Providing accommodation for business and leisure travelers.Welcome to the newly renovated 3-star Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam. The Hotel has 36 rooms; all renovated in the last 2 years, combine a vintage fashion with a modern look. We offer a business center. The reception can provide guests with tickets for museums and city transportation, as well as offer any assistance or recommendations in booking any of the attractions or dining that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Aalborg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.