We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Just had a weekend away staying at this lovely hotel
Was perfect it situated just away from the main roads so quiet peacefull
Wasn't to spacious but was nice for what we needed and can't wait to go again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    119
    129
    40
    33
See reviews for
39
126
48
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The least expensive rooms are extremely small and the staff was as professional as policemen would be, but clearly do not know how to smile. Our room was close to the stairs and because of that we were woken up during the night because doors were being slammed all the time. We could not close the window so to keep the temperature up we had to leave the radiator on. Buffet breakfast was overpriced relative to the offering.
On the other hand the location of the hotel is convenient relative to the tourist areas
If you are keen about visiting Amsterdam and still want a pleasant stay I'm afraid you will have to go to a more expensive hotel or choose another room.

Room Tip: Avoid the smaller rooms close to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went for business. Was fine. Wouldn't be in a hurry to go for pleasure. Well connected location. Hotel seems to need an investment.

Positives. I had a very comfortable bed (four of them) and a small table and a good-sized bathroom with lots of towels and some toiletries. It was quiet and very dark at night.

Negatives. The shower door was too small in all dimensions. I had two mornings of clearing huge amounts of water from the floor before resorting to bathing instead. There were very few electric sockets. The fridge did not work. The door to the room was cracked and was very difficult to open and close.

Would be fine if pricing implied that it was cheap and cheerful. However, the rates were really expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Layton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was located in an area with excellent tram links and within walking distance of some very good restaurants and bars. Our room was extremely small, but having read previous reviews, that is what we expected. However, the room was immaculately clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were located on the 4th floor, so were not aware of the traffic noise outside.
It was also extremely useful to have free internet access via their two computers, located on the ground floor in their 24hr bar/café.
The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful so I would revisit this hotel on that basis. Next time I will probably book a twin room as I gather they are more spacious.

Room Tip: I gather the twin rooms (with beds put together, are larger than the standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff were lovely, very helpful, and there was a nice terrace, but the location very noisy - no double-glazing?- and I didn't sleep much. The room was very small, I knew this before I came, but no courtesy kettle for tea/coffee, so I felt it was expensive for what I got. Everything was clean and plenty of warm water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was totally disappointed by this hotel. The 3 stars are not deserved. Although not particularly cheap, the room was tiny, with barely enough room to move around the bed. The bathroom sliding door was broken and couldn't be closed completely. Also the shower box doors were broken and difficult to move. The bed sheets were not clean (I found a hair on my first night there).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, a three star hotel with 36 newly renovated rooms, is located in the middle of Amsterdam. Providing accommodation for business and leisure travelers.Welcome to the newly renovated 3-star Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam. The Hotel has 36 rooms; all renovated in the last 2 years, combine a vintage fashion with a modern look. We offer a business center. The reception can provide guests with tickets for museums and city transportation, as well as offer any assistance or recommendations in booking any of the attractions or dining that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Aalborg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.