We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    117
    117
    38
    32
See reviews for
37
116
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North of London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went for business. Was fine. Wouldn't be in a hurry to go for pleasure. Well connected location. Hotel seems to need an investment.

Positives. I had a very comfortable bed (four of them) and a small table and a good-sized bathroom with lots of towels and some toiletries. It was quiet and very dark at night.

Negatives. The shower door was too small in all dimensions. I had two mornings of clearing huge amounts of water from the floor before resorting to bathing instead. There were very few electric sockets. The fridge did not work. The door to the room was cracked and was very difficult to open and close.

Would be fine if pricing implied that it was cheap and cheerful. However, the rates were really expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Layton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was located in an area with excellent tram links and within walking distance of some very good restaurants and bars. Our room was extremely small, but having read previous reviews, that is what we expected. However, the room was immaculately clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were located on the 4th floor, so were not aware of the traffic noise outside.
It was also extremely useful to have free internet access via their two computers, located on the ground floor in their 24hr bar/café.
The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly and helpful so I would revisit this hotel on that basis. Next time I will probably book a twin room as I gather they are more spacious.

Room Tip: I gather the twin rooms (with beds put together, are larger than the standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The staff were lovely, very helpful, and there was a nice terrace, but the location very noisy - no double-glazing?- and I didn't sleep much. The room was very small, I knew this before I came, but no courtesy kettle for tea/coffee, so I felt it was expensive for what I got. Everything was clean and plenty of warm water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was totally disappointed by this hotel. The 3 stars are not deserved. Although not particularly cheap, the room was tiny, with barely enough room to move around the bed. The bathroom sliding door was broken and couldn't be closed completely. Also the shower box doors were broken and difficult to move. The bed sheets were not clean (I found a hair on my first night there).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

While the space was extremely small, it was very clean and the beds were especially comfortable. It gets very hot in the rooms in summer with no AC but the fans help. Try not to get a room on 4th floor.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Sarphatipark 106, 1073EC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, a three star hotel with 36 newly renovated rooms, is located in the middle of Amsterdam. Providing accommodation for business and leisure travelers.Welcome to the newly renovated 3-star Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam. The Hotel has 36 rooms; all renovated in the last 2 years, combine a vintage fashion with a modern look. We offer a business center. The reception can provide guests with tickets for museums and city transportation, as well as offer any assistance or recommendations in booking any of the attractions or dining that Amsterdam has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Aalborg Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.