We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Complete package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We really cannot say enough good things about our experience while staying at this hotel. My partner and I found the hotel to be very nice in terms of location, room size, breakfasts, etc. However, it was the owners who made for such a wonderful experience in Amsterdam.

Since it is a smaller place, there was none of the usual “passports please” mentality but rather just a “welcome, make yourself comfortable and what would you like to explore” feel to the hotel. Both provided welcome assistance from providing travel guidance/printing out tickets, to restaurant reservations and even booked a private boat for the hotel guests on Queen’s Day. Given the charm of Amsterdam, I can easily see us returning in the next 5 years and without a doubt we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    72
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
262
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Galilee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

What do you look for in a hotel for a vacation? In my view, It should be something a bit special and with home comforts that enable you to enjoy your time throughout your stay. The Misc is that place in Amsterdam. It is not a 'hotel' in the truest definition. It is a guest house, a very special guest house and the owners make you feel very much at home. The rooms are larger than the usual Euro-Hotels mini rooms and as you may have read in many of the reviews, the beds are very comfortable. But, its the extras that make this place so very good. First of all, the all inclusive price ( taxes, service etc. ) incorporating a made-to-your pleasure breakfast , nespresso coffee and mini-bar full of goodies stocked daily - these are truly special additions you won't find anywhere else. The location is also great. Yes, the rooms facing the canal were a 'bit noisy' but hey, this is the heart of amsterdam not a countryside hamlet. You can't miss with the Misc. Trust me, i've stayed at some great locations in this city and this guest house/hotel was by far the best of the crop.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband, and I were priveledged to spend 3 nights at this marvellous hotel. The great advantage of this hotel is the quality of service offered by both Rachel and Pepijn the owners of this wonderful gem situated on one of the many canals in central Amsterdam. The posiive reviews on this hotel are defnately not overstated. The breakfast was everything you could ask for, the room was beautiful and well furnished and the special treats in the fridge were a welcome to come home to after a day out exploring. We were getting up early on our first day as we were booked on a tour to watch the Sail 2010 festival, Rachel wouldn't hear of us leaving without breakfast so organised a special early one just for us. Nothing was too much trouble for these people. My husband and I cannot rate them high enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

After a great stay in 2008 we decided to celebrate our 20th anniversary here. As before the attention given to detail and the warm welcome mark this as the best hotel we have stayed at.. Here you will feel more like a guest to a home which lives, breathes and exudes the uniqueness of Amsterdam. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the misc after a 2 week riverboat cruise. I wanted something "authentically Amsterdam" instead of a "standard" hotel, and that is what the misc offers. On the positive side, Rachel was absolutely wonderful, welcoming, and helpful, something that you might not always get at the large hotels. The bed was extremely comfortable, but the room was small (common in Europe) and the "common area" where the "bar" is and where you eat breakfast, is very small also. We were in the "Wonder" room and it was somewhat bizarrely decorated and had a huge crack in one wall. The minifridge with complimentary mini snacks was nice and the included breakfast was adequate. The location was very good not being too close to the Red light district and not being on a really busy "tourist" street or canal.
On the negative side, on hindsight we would have rather stayed at a little bit bigger place with more common area so we could interact with other travelers and have somewhere to lounge when we were not out walking all over Amsterdam. This was not an option at the misc. The Radison Blu is about a block away and is far more luxurious with the same location.
In summary, as always it is simply what you are looking for. Is this the 5th best place to stay in Amsterdam? If so, there is something really missing in Amsterdam. Is it a nice little B & B and will you be treated well? Yes. Would we stay there again if we go back to Amsterdam? No. If you would like anymore information on this hotel or on Amsterdam please feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We won't stay anywhere else when we return to amsterdam :)
We loved the rooms, the view, breakfast, everything!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

The rooms are light and feel spacious; each is decorated in a different style. The beds are really comfortable with good quality bedding. We had a 'garden view' room which was on the 'quiet' side of the hotel with free snacks and drinks from the 'mini bar' - replenished daily. A room safe was provided and there was a 'Nespresso' machine which produced a variety of hot drinks including excellent coffee. All of this was free! Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cereals, cheese and ham, a delicious variety of fresh breads, croissants and preserves, complete with freshly made orange juice. Rachel and Pepijn were friendly and helpful, even starting before we arrived by booking us a taxi from the airport to Misc. They arranged boat trips for us which were wonderful; Rachel even loaned us hats and provided drinks for us. On the way home, we had a problem with Easyjet which resulted in us missing the flight but thankfully there was a room free at Misc so we were able to stay for another night (which wasn't a exactly a hardship!)
We are looking forward to our next vist and will recommend the Misc to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL and Tingo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.