We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Excellent, central location good for walking round the city. We had a lovely canal view. We could hear street noise very occasionally in the night but it didn't disturb us at all (although may be less in December than summer). Very comfortable rooms. Extremely welcoming hosts, who helped us orientate ourselves, gave info on opening times, booked taxis and a restaurant, provided copy of Time Out etc... I recommend you take advantage of the offer of the hotel arranging airport pickup, as the driver was very courteous and slightly cheaper than just going to the taxi rank. A highlight for us was the fabulous breakfasts (served til 12noon!) we had freshly squeezed orange juice, hot chocolate, egg, delicious dutch cheese, bacon, fresh bread, granola, smoothie...! bliss! We had such a wonderful weekend and it was certainly made better by having picked such a good hotel. (One point - very tall narrow stairs, typical of Amsterdam canal houses. Hosts carried our luggage up for us, and we had no problem with it, but not good if you have trouble walking up stairs.)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    78
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
288
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

Can't recommend this place enough. The location is perfect, the rooms are beautiful, and the hosts were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable. Both Rachael and Pepjin went out of thier way to make our stay perfect! The little touches were particularly telling, such as the free wifi and free snack and mini bar in the room which was refilled daily with beautiful chocolates and juices.

We stayed in the Africa room at the front of the building, and contrary to other reviews, we had no problems with traffic noises at all. I can only imagine that the people who felt this was a problem live in the deepest, darkest countryside. Considering this hotel is right in the centre of the city, I thought it was remarkably quiet.

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We spent four nights in this darling little hotel and it was a home from home for us for the duration of the trip.

The owners, Rachel and Pepjin, are delightful. Friendly in a low-key and unobtrusive manner, which puts a person at ease, they are nevertheless willing to help in anyway possible.

The hotel only has six rooms, all themed. We stayed in the Rembrandt room, which evoked the period of the painter's life. It was generously sized, with a large comfortable bed and two large windows overlooking the canal outside. Although there was activity outside at all hours, we never had any trouble sleeping or, for that matter, sleeping in!

Little touches, such as the complimentary in-room mini-bar with soft drinks and snacks, are very welcome and again contribute to a relaxed sense of ease and homeliness.

If you are worried about the noise bothering your sleep, and it was never a problem for us, a white noise generator is thoughtfully provided.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and will use it again if we visit Amsterdam, without hesitation.
Cat lovers will also appreciate the discrete presence of Pru in the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We recently spent 3 nights here and had a great time.The detailed emailed instructions on how to get there from the airport were really helpful and we found Pepijn and Rachel really welcoming.The room (Rembrandt) was a good size and comfortable and we had views over the canal which were beautiful ,although we did have to close the windows at night to keep out some of the partygoers noise. The "white noise" box helped with that greatly. Breakfasts were excellent. Rachel and Pepijn's help and frendliness is the standout feature of our visit. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford,Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welocme and at home. Rachel and Pepijn were most helpful in recommending superb places to eat and we were not disappointed. However the quality of food and service does not come cheap, but well worth the experience as that occasional special treat. Our room catered for all of our needs and the bed was very very comfortable. Ideally located for all the sights of Amsterdam both day and night and most within easy walking distance. We would definately recommend this lovely small friendly hotel to our friends and the place to stay when visiting Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We have just returned from a long weekend staying at this unique and wonderful little Hotel. Location is fantastic, beds and pillows very comfy! Can't think of anywhere else we have ever stayed where everything was so perfect. Well done Rachael and Pepjin for getting everything so right, You can walk to Central station easily from here and everywhere our hosts suggested we eat was superb. Picked this hotel from other reviews and we suggest you do the same, you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

I traveled extensively in Europe in August/Septembrr 2009 and used Amsterdam as a base. I stayed at Misc EatSleepDrink twice during my travels after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. It is a small hotel in a converted canal house with 6 rooms. Location was great and the owners very helpful in all respects. I would stay here again and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.