We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Save Saved
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, Amsterdam 1012 CV, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer for YOU!
Ranked #20 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and totally disagree with the negative review posted recently by someone from Brazil. It is true that the hotel is located on the fringe of the Red Light District and if you are prudish, definitely do not stay here. I found the location to be excellent - walking distance to all major sites. Pepijn and Rachael are wonderful hosts. They gave us helpful hints as to places to go, restaurants, made reservations, in summary, they made us feel at home. I will certainly miss their breakfast, which is included in the room rates.

The room was about right for a canal house and had a lot of charm. It had a lot of amenities, including a bathrobe and the refrigerator, where everything was free of charge. The rooms do not have air-conditioning, but it was very cold during our stay, despite the fact that it was summer, so it was not a problem. Our room faced an inner garden so it was very quiet in the evenings.

I would not recommend this hotel for a handicapped person as the stairs are quite steep and there is no elevator. Be sure to read their web site carefully. They are very honest in terms of what they offer and their rooms and for me, there were no surprises.

If I return to Amsterdam, I would stay there again. I found it to be an excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    59
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
224
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo, brazil
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We read many excelent reviews on this hotel and chose it based on them. Somehow, I do not feel these reviews were compatible with what we saw. This hotel is situated at the edge of the Red Light District and near an Asian neighborhood. Althouh I did not feel unsafe there, that was certainly not a quiet place, with people partying until late morning every day; noise could be heard even with the windows closed and the help of a noise disguiser provided by the hotel itself. The neighborhood is poorly kept and unclean. From the infrastructure perspective, possibly the worse thing was the absence of air conditioning (only a ceiling vent), which is a major problem during summer time (as far as you can not open the windows due to the street noise). The hole building would deserve a full restauration. This was the first time that we chose a place with so many reviews and got disappointed (will have to pay more attention to details next time...).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misc-eatdrinksleep, co-owner at misc eatdrinksleep, responded to this review, July 24, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, we do appreciate all feedback, and are only sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at misc eatdrinksleep and your Amsterdam experience.

Sorry for our long reply but we feel it is necessary to explain ourselves due to the generality of these comments.


In regards to your comment on city cleanness and our location,

Our hotel is situated in the pre 15th century city centre. This city is not a museum, but a vibrant, youthful city with a million people living in a densely built historic environment.

The Asian neighborhood you are referring to is called Chinatown. It is based around the oldest still existing dike in Amsterdam (around 12th century) and is a very popular tourist destination with a mix of restaurants and designer shoe and clothing stores).

As you mentioned we are close to the Red Light (Fashion) District, which is situated around two canals west of our canal, about one city block away. If you do not want to experience it, it is very easy to avoid.

Unfortunately, there is very little that we can do personally about the cleanliness of the city. However, the city does its best by having cleaning crews, clean the streets three times per day.

We are very proud to live in officially the most multi-cultural city in the world with 177 different nationalities living in the city of Amsterdam!


In regards to your comment on lack of air-conditioning and street noise,

In the past, the presence of only a ceiling fan or 3-speed fan has not been a problem. The afternoon average temperature during the summer is only 22 C (that’s 71 F) and the nightly temperature averages at 12 C (that’s 54 F) in Amsterdam. With the exception of a freak heat wave (only about two weeks in the whole year) there is very little need for a wasteful, energy-consuming solution, such as air conditioning.

Due to our very central location there is a great variety of restaurants and cafes close at hand (which we and our guests love!). This also means that there are many visitors and Amsterdammers walking and bicycling on our canal. And, as you may have experienced, during good weather there tends to be more people enjoying the city and on the streets until later in the evening. But you will not find people partying in our Canal street.


In regards to your comment on our hotel's state,

Our hotel building is listed as a National Monument (Rijksmonument), and due to very strict Monument regulations we are not allowed to change anything to the front façade or to the structure of our building.
This means that we are not allowed to install double-glazing in the Canal view room windows (only original materials are allowed) or change things in the original structure such as the width, size or steepness of the stairs (if your comment was directed at our traditional Amsterdam stairs).

Our Garden View rooms tend to be much quieter, as these windows are allowed to have double glazing and face a famous Amsterdam enclosed inner garden area.

Concerning the issue of our stairs, although our rooms can only be reached by our typically steep Amsterdam stairs, we always help our guests by bringing their bags to their rooms and down again at check-out.

Despite these restrictions the inside of our building was completely renovated 10 years ago and in the last few years we have also renewed items such as the carpets in the rooms. We are very sorry to hear that the old look and style of the Rembrandt room was not to your taste.

We would have loved to have heard about these issues at check-in, during your stay, or at check-out and you are always welcome to contact me personally concerning these issues.

We hope that in the future you will find the time to view the information posted on a hotel’s own website, and possibly refer to well established guide books concerning the different neighborhoods in which hotels are located before booking. This may certainly reduce the risk of disappointment on both sides.

Again, Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Rachel Bonnewell
Co-owner of misc eatdrinksleep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

The worst thing about misc eatdrinksleep? That name - which makes it sound like some kind of capsule hotel or backpacker hostel, rather than what it is - a wonderfully individual, romantic hotel right in the centre of Amsterdam. Rooms are delightful, individually decorated and overlooking either canal or garden. All are equipped with good coffeemaker, toiletries, robes, big comfortable bed, good lighting and a gratis minibar - no alcohol (a small bar downstairs provides that) but chocolate, snacks and soft drinks, all included in the room price - a first for me, but typical of the way the place is run. The owners are friendly and extremely helpful without being in any way overpowering - all in all the place is a perfect example of what 'customer focus' should really mean (and very rarely does).

Downsides? Some people might find the canalside rooms a little noisy - if so, then ask for a garden room. And the stairs are very steep and narrow, but this is a traditional Amsterdam house and that's the way they work. I can't comment on the breakfast as I was leaving too early in the morning, but if the plate of fruit, bread and local cheese that was left in my room was any guide, I'm guessing it would be better than acceptable.

Getting here from the airport - unless you're laden down with luggage, don't waste money on a taxi. Fast train is 20 minutes and a few euros, the walk from Dam Square to the hotel is interesting and takes between 10 and 15 minutes. Note that although the hotel is on the edge of the red light area, you need never know it, and the Niewmarket square which it sits on is great for a couple of beers and a spot of peoplewatching. Plenty of cafes and restaurants around too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Love this little hotel and would certainly recommend it for anyone looking for a small hideaway. As soon as we got there we felt part of the city and had a great stay. Great couple run the place. They can arrange a cannel boat ride and are extremely helpful for local info (including coffee houses) . Free mini-bar and breakfast in the room for our early departure were extra special nice touches. Only suggestion would be to get bicycles. Note that this hotel is not for the "old at heart" who need to take an elevator to their room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Excellent Hotel in a fantastic city.

Took a taxi from the airport for about 40 Euro.No cheap but soooo easy.

Read the other reviews - right on target!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of May. We chose the hotel based on reveiws from this sight and were very pleased with the result. The Hotel could not be in a better location and the couple who run it are so helpful and friendly. We found the room (which was on the canal) quiet at night, but we do live in a city centre.
We would highly recomend the private canal tour run out of the hotel. There are some great places to eat on the square, our favourite by far was the Cafe Bern- great fondue!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed here from 20 -23 April this year and could not have wished for anything better. We had a large, clean quiet room at the back with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The tea/coffee machine and complimentary snacks were welcome and the breakfast was excellent and made to order.

The owners were friendly and hospitable and made some excellent recommendations to us including a private boat trip on the canals (arranged by them) and a great Indonesian restaurant for dinner one night.

The location is super and we felt very safe. We walked there from Amsterdam Central station in about 10 minutes.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again next time in Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, Amsterdam 1012 CV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.