We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little hotel, worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Save Saved
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer for YOU!
Ranked #21 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little hotel, worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of May. We chose the hotel based on reveiws from this sight and were very pleased with the result. The Hotel could not be in a better location and the couple who run it are so helpful and friendly. We found the room (which was on the canal) quiet at night, but we do live in a city centre.
We would highly recomend the private canal tour run out of the hotel. There are some great places to eat on the square, our favourite by far was the Cafe Bern- great fondue!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    69
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
252
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

We stayed here from 20 -23 April this year and could not have wished for anything better. We had a large, clean quiet room at the back with a comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The tea/coffee machine and complimentary snacks were welcome and the breakfast was excellent and made to order.

The owners were friendly and hospitable and made some excellent recommendations to us including a private boat trip on the canals (arranged by them) and a great Indonesian restaurant for dinner one night.

The location is super and we felt very safe. We walked there from Amsterdam Central station in about 10 minutes.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay here again next time in Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We had a very enjoyable stay here on a recent trip. We especially enjoyed Rachel's hospitality. The stairs were steep but manageable and the room was small but nice and had everything we needed. We especially appreciate the complementary drinks and snacks provided in the room. The bathroom was roomy and shower good, although I would suggest replacing the shower curtain with doors. Breakfast was nice and I especially appreciate having an egg made to order. The location was very good - on the outer edge of the red light district, near a lot of sights but on a quiet street so we felt very safe. And you can't beat the short walk to the train station.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

This is a fantastic little place and I can only echo all the great things that have been said before. It is a small unassuming-looking hotel (we walked past it the first time too!) but inside it is great. The rooms are amazing - as it wasn't too busy, we were allowed to choose which room we wanted out of 3 - we chose the Rembrandt room and it was lovely being surrounded by all those great masters! The room was not huge, but perfectly big enough with all the facilities you'd expect (and more - a fridge packed with chocolates and soft drinks for free!). Rachel was a lovely hostess - friendly, helpful but not over the top. Breakfast was low key and informal but tasty (fresh eggs and lovely yummy cheeses). For a central location so close to the red light district, this was surprisingly quiet and non-mainstream - its just a lovely quirky hotel and I'd recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

From our (slightly early) arrival, Rachel and Pepijn couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful.

We had the first floor 'Design' room, facing out over the canal, which was clean, light, spacious, and very comfortable (a huuuge bed!) There was an expresso machine and a mini fridge stuffed full of entirely gratis drinks and snacks (juices, water, soda, chocolate, crisps). To my amazement, this was topped up during our stay!

There was also a white noise machine, something I've not encountered before and perhaps it might be useful for some guests, but we never found the street/canal noise disturbing and didn't use it. I'd have preferred something to plug my ipod into to play music, but maybe that's just me!

The hotel location is perfect for exploring central Amsterdam on foot, with many attractions only a short walk away. And Rachel and Pepijn were a constant source of useful local information and ideas if we were struggling.

Breakfast was freshly prepared, delicious and plentiful, and its certainly a big plus that they serve it until midday. We took full advantage of this, not by having long lie-ins (there's too much to do!) but by browsing the local flea markets and then returning for breakfast at around 11.

Rachel and Pepijn were fabulous hosts, and nothing was too much trouble. Our occasional problems with the key card became a running joke, and they both demonstrated their humour and patience with us in this regard!

This is a great, friendly, informal, comfortable and well designed modern hotel, and I hope to return there again one day.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Very nice hotel in excellent location. Rooms clean, unusual and I second the favourable comments about the coffee machine, mini bar and shower!
Breakfast was excellent, especially the fresh bread! I really liked Pru the cat too!
Only downside was the vast difference in service levels between the two owners. Rachel was lovely, friendly and helpful, and even provided champagne, chocolates and roses for Valentine's Day. Her husband grunted at us, didn't smile once, and didn't say anything when we checked out. Maybe he was having a bad weekend but we were uncomfortable in his presence. Rachel more than made up for it though.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed here in Feb 09 for a three day short break in aMSTERDAM. The hotel got in touch before hand to make sure we had sufficient information to make it from the airport to the hotel and we walked with ease from the Central Staion to the hotle in a matter of minutes thanks for their excellent directions.

Location is very central and despite its apparent proximity to the red light district, this does not impinge on your stay and it feels very safe at any hour. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

We stayed in the first room at the top of a rather steep stairs. It was a nice sized room for an old building. The shower was great and the bed very comfortable. There was no street noise of note and certainly none to keep us awake.

I was particularly impressed with the fridge (complimentary soft drinks) and the coffee maker.

Breakfast was more than adequate and was available cooked or continental as per your preferance.

The hostess was friendly and helpful and courteous.

Overall, I would stay here again without hesitation. Outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsNL and Odigeo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.