We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel & great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel & great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at misc eatdrinksleep. We found Rachel and Pepijn to be friendly and very helpful with directions/restaurant recommendations and we also booked discounted tickets through the hotel for muesums etc which was really easy.
We stayed in the Africa room (canal view) which was beautifully decorated, clean and on the top floor - the steep stairs are VERY steep and interesting to see! There was a bit of noise from the street but not enough to disturb us, just a rumble as you'd expect from the location.
Nieumarkt is a perfect location for exploring the very centre of Amsterdam, aswell as Jordaan, De Pjip etc. We walked everywhere and nowhere was really more than half an hours walk away.
Breakfast was a very nice way to start our day of adventures! There is a really lovely selection of fresh orange juice, cheese and meats, bacon, egg, croissants and coffee! Delicious and the prefect amount for us.
Overall a fab stay and we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    73
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
266
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We had read about this little hotel before and we really got high ecpectations when we arrived. The arrangement and the welcome when we arrived was genuine and truly caring for our best. The room with garden view was beautiful and very clean and nice.
Most of all we appreciated the feeling of staying with the family and being able to get good advice about tours, restaurants, what to see and when. It really blew our minds when they found out that we were celebrating our 15:th anniversary and they arranged a good price for a canal boattour and gave us a bottle of champagne!
We are most certainly coming back and there is no other hotel we rather would stay at!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

They are centrally located, easy walk from the train station, helpful in obtaining museum and canal cruise tickets, restaurant recommendation was excellent. Great breakfast cooked to order. Garden view room was quite, cooled by a fan and windows. Bed, bathroom, stocked fridge all made for a fine Amsterdam base of exploration.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

After carefully reviewing this hotel prior to booking, we had very high expectations for our stay. We are delighted to say that they were not only met, but even exceeded. The hotel room was modern, clean and beautifully furnished, while the rest of the hotel was charming as a typical Dutch abode. For one of the days we had planned a day trip to Efteling (amusement park close to Den Bosch) and the owners provided us with a detailed itinerary for how to get to the park and then to the airport afterwards. Overall, the hosts went above and beyond to help in any way they could, with the perfect blend of warm hospitality and professionalism.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga via London and DC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed there for the one night we had in Amsterdam. The hotel was really nice and corresponded exactly to my stereotype of Amsterdam: small, steep staircase, crooked walls, fun/interesting decoration (in our case, the room was mainly in red and had a very Asian feel to it). The bathroom was also very nice, with high-standard fixtures. The only problem was that the shower did not really have a basin and when showering, ended up flooding the whole bathroom - we thought this was normal for Holland (you know, water everywhere), and were surprised to find out that it was actually a blocked pipe and we'd flooded half the room!
Breakfast was excellent, with a very fresh and tasty selection of both sweet and savoury food.
The owners were super-friendly and helpful - we spent a good time on arrival and on the day after discussing possible trips to take and places to see. All in all a great experience and would definitely look into staying there again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Our room faced out back and was therefore very quiet at night. Not sure if the other side is louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

After booking based on tripadvisor reviews, we were utterly delighted with our 2 night stay in this lovely hotel. We stayed in the Wonders Room, which was heavenly! The minibar was stocked full of tasty treats, perfect after a long day walking/travelling and Rachel gave us a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates for two upon arrival! What a lovely surprise! :) The hotel is located perfectly, not too far to walk from Centraal Station, on a canal and right near some great restaurants and not too far from some attractions. It is near the red light district, which is all part of the Amsterdam experience, but you can walk past/round it. The breakfast served was delicious! Freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee and excellent, fresh bread, cheeses and EGGS! wow! The best eggs we've ever tasted! Scrambled and fried, done to perfection! Rachel was incredibly friendly and helpful with making sure we had everything and it was lovely to see Sophia, their little toddler interact with the other guests and play nearby. The minibar was freshly stocked upon our return, which was brilliant!
Upon checkout day, we were in a rush to get to Koan Float (highly recommended!) and were able to leave our bags and check out quickly, coming back that evening to collect our bags and settle up money.Nothing was too much trouble!
I've been reading why some people have given 'terrible' reviews on here, as we really could not fault it (if pushed, we would say the wet room was a bit too wet- but we probably weren't used to it!)
This is the perfect hotel if you don't want some big hotel with fancy lights and a different person on reception every day. If you are happy to have a chat about what toddlers like or have a simple, yet delicious breakfast in an utterly clean, modern, characterful building, then this is the place for you!
If you want a run of the mill experience, far away from the hustle and bustle and what makes Amsterdam great, in a copy and paste room with loads of other guests and you're the sort of person that likes to be waited on hand and foot whilst on holiday, this isn't the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in Wonders Room, which was magical, but take a look on the website for all the different t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

In all my years of travel have I ever seen such a kind gesture! I had to call my mom in Canada, and talked with her for an hour and a half...I was totally prepared to pay, what would have been a huge amount likely 150Euo or more...the owner asked if I had breakfast, and when I told him no, he said "forget the phone call" Unbelievable!! This place is the best, with great location, canal views and excellent beds...outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelsNL so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.