We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

They are centrally located, easy walk from the train station, helpful in obtaining museum and canal cruise tickets, restaurant recommendation was excellent. Great breakfast cooked to order. Garden view room was quite, cooled by a fan and windows. Bed, bathroom, stocked fridge all made for a fine Amsterdam base of exploration.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    83
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
297
24
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

After carefully reviewing this hotel prior to booking, we had very high expectations for our stay. We are delighted to say that they were not only met, but even exceeded. The hotel room was modern, clean and beautifully furnished, while the rest of the hotel was charming as a typical Dutch abode. For one of the days we had planned a day trip to Efteling (amusement park close to Den Bosch) and the owners provided us with a detailed itinerary for how to get to the park and then to the airport afterwards. Overall, the hosts went above and beyond to help in any way they could, with the perfect blend of warm hospitality and professionalism.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga via London and DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed there for the one night we had in Amsterdam. The hotel was really nice and corresponded exactly to my stereotype of Amsterdam: small, steep staircase, crooked walls, fun/interesting decoration (in our case, the room was mainly in red and had a very Asian feel to it). The bathroom was also very nice, with high-standard fixtures. The only problem was that the shower did not really have a basin and when showering, ended up flooding the whole bathroom - we thought this was normal for Holland (you know, water everywhere), and were surprised to find out that it was actually a blocked pipe and we'd flooded half the room!
Breakfast was excellent, with a very fresh and tasty selection of both sweet and savoury food.
The owners were super-friendly and helpful - we spent a good time on arrival and on the day after discussing possible trips to take and places to see. All in all a great experience and would definitely look into staying there again on our next trip!

Room Tip: Our room faced out back and was therefore very quiet at night. Not sure if the other side is louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

After booking based on tripadvisor reviews, we were utterly delighted with our 2 night stay in this lovely hotel. We stayed in the Wonders Room, which was heavenly! The minibar was stocked full of tasty treats, perfect after a long day walking/travelling and Rachel gave us a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates for two upon arrival! What a lovely surprise! :) The hotel is located perfectly, not too far to walk from Centraal Station, on a canal and right near some great restaurants and not too far from some attractions. It is near the red light district, which is all part of the Amsterdam experience, but you can walk past/round it. The breakfast served was delicious! Freshly squeezed orange juice, great coffee and excellent, fresh bread, cheeses and EGGS! wow! The best eggs we've ever tasted! Scrambled and fried, done to perfection! Rachel was incredibly friendly and helpful with making sure we had everything and it was lovely to see Sophia, their little toddler interact with the other guests and play nearby. The minibar was freshly stocked upon our return, which was brilliant!
Upon checkout day, we were in a rush to get to Koan Float (highly recommended!) and were able to leave our bags and check out quickly, coming back that evening to collect our bags and settle up money.Nothing was too much trouble!
I've been reading why some people have given 'terrible' reviews on here, as we really could not fault it (if pushed, we would say the wet room was a bit too wet- but we probably weren't used to it!)
This is the perfect hotel if you don't want some big hotel with fancy lights and a different person on reception every day. If you are happy to have a chat about what toddlers like or have a simple, yet delicious breakfast in an utterly clean, modern, characterful building, then this is the place for you!
If you want a run of the mill experience, far away from the hustle and bustle and what makes Amsterdam great, in a copy and paste room with loads of other guests and you're the sort of person that likes to be waited on hand and foot whilst on holiday, this isn't the place for you!

Room Tip: We stayed in Wonders Room, which was magical, but take a look on the website for all the different t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

In all my years of travel have I ever seen such a kind gesture! I had to call my mom in Canada, and talked with her for an hour and a half...I was totally prepared to pay, what would have been a huge amount likely 150Euo or more...the owner asked if I had breakfast, and when I told him no, he said "forget the phone call" Unbelievable!! This place is the best, with great location, canal views and excellent beds...outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed here early July. Rachel And Pepijn the owners made us feel most welcome. It is only a 6 room hotel, but that made it so much better. Rachel and Pepijn ( not forgetting Sophia ) were very helpful with directions and eating out sites. Freshly cooked breakfast daily. Our room was large and clean and the owners went out of their way to provide refreshments free of charge daily in the mini bar as well as acting as porters. Overall an extremely pleasurable time was had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very friendly small hotel ( 6 rooms) in the heart of Amsterdam; excellent, welcoming and helpful owner/hosts, Rachel and Pepijn; fresh breakfast cooked to order; free minibar with snacks, refilled every day; large and well appointed canal-view rooms. The hosts are happy to help organize the guests' activities, recommend good restaurants and make reservations, etc.
There is no elevator and the staircase is quite steep, but they will cheerfully carry your bags up and down for you.
Great location, close to most museums and attractions, which really lets guests feel the vibes of the city.
I would come back here.

Room Tip: Choose the canal-view rooms rather than the garden-view, since they are appreciably larger and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.