We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, delightful inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer for YOU!
Ranked #22 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, delightful inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

On a recent press trip through The Netherlands, I had one night on my own. Left to locate and book a hotel on my own, I read the review right here on Trip Advisor! I chose misc eatdrinksleep partially based on the reviews. I couldn't be more pleased with my experience. I'm a travel writer and review hotels, destinations and restaurants for articles. Although this little gem wasn't scheduled to be part of my Amsterdam coverage, I'm adding it as a lodging option. Absolutely lovely rooms, delicious breakfast, gracious hosts and perfect location! I highly recommend this for anyone looking for smaller inn. Wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    72
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
258
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here for four nights, and found this hotel to be very well located. Easy walking distance from the central train station, and numerous restaurants and takeaways nearby. Red light district just a street away, but for those keen to avoid it, this is easily done by avoiding the connecting side streets and sticking to the main road.
Hotel was very accommodating, especially with early breakfast if needed. My room was perhaps a but elaborately decorated for my needs, but perfect for a couple. Quiet hotel with no noise, despite it's quite central location and busy street footfall.
Be warned the stairs are a bit steep, but be warned, they are steep in just about every establishment in Amsterdam!
I would highly recommend this establishment, to those travelling together, and also to those travelling alone...

Room Tip: All rooms are supposedly decorated different, see the website. Option of canal view or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this hotel! The owner's were so friendly and even setup a canal tour for us within the first hour of us being there. The boat for the canal tour was small, open, and extremely quiet, which I would much prefer to the huge, enclosed ones where you probably couldn't get many good pictures or much of a tour. They also gave us great advice on where to eat, where to shop, which museums to skip, etc. They were very easy to talk to, but gave you space and privacy as well.

They had a free smartphone app with an offline map of Amsterdam that we could use throughout the city (no data needed), which was a godsend. The app also had attractions, restaurants, shops, etc that they recommended.

We stayed on the top floor with air conditioning because I have allergies and asthma. The room was huge with a minibar and fridge (everything in it was free and they refilled it everyday!) and a table. The shower and toilet were in separate rooms, which is convenient.

The owner's sister has celiac disease, so she knew how to handle my gluten intolerance very well! I did mention when I was booking "gluten free food if possible, please" when booking.

The breakfast was huge and amazing. Definitely the best I've ever had in a hotel and probably even in a restaurant. They had gluten free bread and gluten free granola (more than enough for my huge appetite over 4 nights), so I got to eat everything that my friend did :) I sent pictures to my family right away because I was so excited! They served us Dutch strawberries, cheeses, and ham, which were really great. They made everything fresh, and served breakfast until noon. They weren't even mad when we showed up at 11:30 or 11:40. :)

The location was good too. Near Nieuwmarkt, which was nice to go out for drinks at night. Relaxing atmosphere.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and I will definitely stay here again when returning to Amsterdam :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Weekend to get a look in Amsterdam. Booked on line and found the location good for what we wanted. Near the red light district and the main train station and center of town. Big beds, good breakfast and friendly enough. Amsterdam is the dogs.... cafes and bikes. Coming back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My beautiful Russian girlfriend and I stayed here and fell in love with each other and Amsterdam all at once.

The rooms are amazing and our view was over the channel and it was so perfect.

The location is so central you can simply walk everywhere.

Nothing beats a no rush romantic morning knowing that a hand cooked incredible breakfast is available to refuel until midday :-)

The hosts are fantastic and make you not only feel at home but part of their family.

Well done guys!

Thank you for making our first time in Amsterdam amazing. We will be back and are telling everyone we know to stay with you.

Room Tip: Channel view rooms are simply amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Brilliant small hotel. Location is good, it is close to the red light district but it was absolutely fine, don't let that put you off. I felt extremely safe there, and even walking around the red light district in general. The hotel is unusual but very cleverly designed to make the most of the space available.

We had a front room overlooking the canal, it wasn't at all noisy. The owners were very accommodating especially Rachel who was just lovely and is a born host! We had good conversations about food and music.

The breakfasts were fab, really good to start your day. I can still taste that Gouda cheese with cumin and the fresh bread. It just had a lovely feel and atmosphere - would absolutely recommend and return.

Room Tip: We had a front facing canal room, wasn't at all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I visited this hotel for three nights this week. We always visit luxury chain hotels and choosing a family run hotel was a new thing for us. We chose by reading other trip advisor reviews and we were glad that we did. It is a lovely hotel in a perfect location in walking distance to lots of shops, bars and restaurants. The first night we did not want to walk far and we enjoyed a delicious thai meal and cocktails in a bar and ice cream and waffles, all on the same street as our hotel! The hotel room number 6 was romantic but also functional with a pretty garden view. We had a good nights sleep each night and were not disturbed by any street noise. The hotel owners were welcoming and very helpful and thoughtful. We enjoyed the prosecco and chocolates and the mini bar treats in our room The breakfast was ample and the chef was very polite. We would use this hotel again and it has certainly made us more keen to use a family run hotel again in the future.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsNL and Tingo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.