We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed at Misc Eatdrinksleep for four nights in February and had a great stay in Amsterdam. The small friendly hotel is in the perfect position for visitors, not too far from the station, beside a pretty canal, close to the market at Nieuwmarkt and some of the university buildings, and a beautiful walk away from the museums area. We stayed in the Design Room on the first floor, overlooking the canal and comfortably provided for, and weren't disturbed by noise from the street. Breakfast is served in a generously laid back way, and Rachel and Pepjin's recommendations as to where to eat out are spot on. We frequented the friendly 'brown cafe', Engelbewaarder, further down the canal and splashed out on a meal at Greetje, a comfortable stroll away, for the final night. We'll definitely stay there again when we, hopefully, return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    73
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
268
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for a short break on 17th February 2014. We had our two teenage girls with us,, who loved their twin room on the top floor. They said there was some noise from the street, but they used the 'white noise' machine, which is kindly supplied, and, well, they're teenagers, so can pretty much sleep through anything! We had the lovely double room on the top floor, overlooking the garden, which we also loved. It's the little extras,which most small hotels don't usually supply that make this hotel stand out; bath robes, coffee machines, free mini bar etc.

The breakfast was lovely, and plenty of it too, and the owners were friendly, without being overbearing. They kindly offered to let us drop off our case when we arrived early on our first day - we later found it safely delivered to our room, and on our last day, they stored it again, ready for us to collect just before we headed to the airport in the evening.

We were offered great suggestions for restaurants, as well as being able to purchase tickets for museums in advance.

The hotel is only a couple of streets away from the red light district, but we found it a great central location for getting around the city. We'd originally planned on trying to use the hotels bicycles, but being a pedestrian was scary enough on occasions, so we migght need to build up the courage to do that on our next visit! A lovely stay, enjoyed by the whole family; would definitely recommend this to couples and families alike!

Room Tip: If you need quiet, ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Misc Eatdrinksleep is such a warm and welcoming hotel. The owners were so friendly and helpful and made our stay really comfortable. The room was immaculate with everything we needed and plenty of space for 2 people. Breakfast was delicious and really laid back - a perfect start to the day. I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel and would recommend it highly to travellers who are looking for a low key, relaxing and personal place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent a week here over New Year. The first 2 nights were in a garden-view room, which was a little cramped for our liking, with awkward bedside lamps and those annoying bedcovers. However, fortune had it that we were then transferred - for a totally different reason - to the canal-view room opposite. Suddenly the extra 4 sq.m. made an enormous difference, not to mention the view and other comforts we lacked in the first room. This also changed our mind completely about the hotel!
As for hosts Rachel & Pepijn, nothing is too much for them: from carrying bags up the steep stairs and making a mean breakfast coffee to offering helpful tips on sightseeing activities and even printing out our boarding passes for the flight home!
The hotel is rather pricier than our usual choices, but this is Amsterdam and the option of a 17th-century canal house in an unbeatable central location made it worthwhile. Free wifi is available (and works properly!), as are coffee-makers and free refreshments in the rooms.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to others. Everything was perfect - well, maybe not the weather, but that's no fault of the hotel's! (Perhaps an apron at the breakfast bar would lend a more professional touch,.. if I may be so bold as to suggest anything.)
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Canal-view rooms are larger and more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were drawn to the hotel by the great reviews but were not really bowled over by our stay. There is no doubt that the owners were very helpful and friendly, the place was clean, good quality comfortable bedding and a very tasty breakfast cooked to order.
The downside was the noise from the street. We were in the 'African Room'. There is a large decorative photographic wall poster, perhaps 2m x 3m, depicting a tropical beach sunset which has clearly seen better days and could have done with a little tlc. The bedroom over looks the canal has a really tiny shower-room and separate toilet. There is no double/secondary glazing and perhaps owing to the proximity of the red light district, we were awoken throughout the night and into the morning on several occasions by people having fun below. We live on a busy street, a bus route, in a major city so it's not as though we are unaccustomed to some traffic noise.
We would not return to this hotel as it seems to me that sleep quality has to be the most important criteria when choosing a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

For the second year running we stayed here over New Year, and if anything, it was even better than last year. Rachel & Pepijn remain the perfect hosts, and Pepijn has now learned to smile (*joke*!!). Their service is still wonderful despite the attentions of their 1-year old daughter (who is lovely). Breakfast until midday was something every hotel in the world should copy - who wants to have to get up at the crack of dawn when they're on holiday? And the breakfast itself is great - scrambled eggs and bacon, ham and cheese, croissant, as much toast and cereal as you can eat with several choices of toast toppings, fresh orange juice, Innocent smoothies, tea, coffee - you only need to buy dinner if you wake up late and stuff yourself at breakfast! Which we did. The location is great, in the old town but just outside the red light district. There is an Irish bar about 10 feet away which shows the football (that was the only reason we went, but it was a nice friendly place with OK beer), and a further 20 feet down the road is De Bekeerde Suster, the best bar in the whole world - proper Dutch pub with their own micro-brewery plus loads of bottled (mostly Belgian) beers of great taste and potency. I recommend the Kasteel at 11% abv, but be careful! Back to how wonderful the hotel is, they will try to book anything you like - hotels, museum tickets etc and will recommend good to great restaurants for you (unfortunately t'Greetje, which we went to last year, was shut over the festive season this year). And if you're lucky enough to be there on 2nd January, you get to see the dragon dance... The only problem with this hotel is that it only has 6 rooms and they get booked up very quickly! Actually, I should have said I hated the place and that no-one should ever go there, so I can reserve my next trip whenever I want, but I couldn't do that to this wonderful couple. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would.

Room Tip: Garden-facing rooms are quieter, especially if you're there for New Year's Eve as we were, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in November and really enjoyed it. Great location, convenient for historic walks. Quiet room (our overlooked the garden). Stairs are the typical Dutch type, so be careful when traversing them. Breakfast was very satisfying. As was noted in other reviews, hosts Rachel and Pepjin were very good and very informative.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelsNL so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.