We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best New Year Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Save Saved
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, Amsterdam 1012 CV, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer for YOU!
Ranked #21 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Haydock
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best New Year Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

For the second year running we stayed here over New Year, and if anything, it was even better than last year. Rachel & Pepijn remain the perfect hosts, and Pepijn has now learned to smile (*joke*!!). Their service is still wonderful despite the attentions of their 1-year old daughter (who is lovely). Breakfast until midday was something every hotel in the world should copy - who wants to have to get up at the crack of dawn when they're on holiday? And the breakfast itself is great - scrambled eggs and bacon, ham and cheese, croissant, as much toast and cereal as you can eat with several choices of toast toppings, fresh orange juice, Innocent smoothies, tea, coffee - you only need to buy dinner if you wake up late and stuff yourself at breakfast! Which we did. The location is great, in the old town but just outside the red light district. There is an Irish bar about 10 feet away which shows the football (that was the only reason we went, but it was a nice friendly place with OK beer), and a further 20 feet down the road is De Bekeerde Suster, the best bar in the whole world - proper Dutch pub with their own micro-brewery plus loads of bottled (mostly Belgian) beers of great taste and potency. I recommend the Kasteel at 11% abv, but be careful! Back to how wonderful the hotel is, they will try to book anything you like - hotels, museum tickets etc and will recommend good to great restaurants for you (unfortunately t'Greetje, which we went to last year, was shut over the festive season this year). And if you're lucky enough to be there on 2nd January, you get to see the dragon dance... The only problem with this hotel is that it only has 6 rooms and they get booked up very quickly! Actually, I should have said I hated the place and that no-one should ever go there, so I can reserve my next trip whenever I want, but I couldn't do that to this wonderful couple. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would.

Room Tip: Garden-facing rooms are quieter, especially if you're there for New Year's Eve as we were, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    64
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
241
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in November and really enjoyed it. Great location, convenient for historic walks. Quiet room (our overlooked the garden). Stairs are the typical Dutch type, so be careful when traversing them. Breakfast was very satisfying. As was noted in other reviews, hosts Rachel and Pepjin were very good and very informative.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spent just one night here after three days of Business outside of Amsterdam. Our short stay was a real pleasure indeed. The room was very well appointed with the usual layout of TV, safe, Bar fridge (all inclusive in your initial price) comfy bed and curtains that worked. The bathroom had all the free "gifts" of soap and sewing kit that one finds these days. Breakfast,on the morning of our departure, was delicious and everything one could have asked for was there and FRESH! I have nothing negative to say about the Hotel and would stay again as is well priced and in an outstanding location to really see the sights. If I had to moan then the bathroom could have been a lot cleaner.
A nice stay albeit too short.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here last week for my wifes 50th birthday.Ariived and room ready in 45 mins.Rembrandt room was lovely.Nice view of canal and bottle of bubbly and chocs waiting for us!!!!.Breakfast was a treat with cheese/ham/croissant/eggs and bacon available plus lovely coffee.Location very central for exploring this city!!!!.Stairs are very narrow so be careful. Being beside the canal and some cafes/bars there can be noise!!!!.Rachel and Pepjin are lovely hosts and nothing is a problem for them.

Room Tip: Canal rooms have nice view but can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I can't really say anything that hasn't been said. The hotel is simply amazing!!! Location is great - close to downtown without being "in" the red light district.

We changed our flights last minute and arrived a day early this meant two things 1 we had to change rooms and 2 Pepjin had to wait until 2 am for us to arrive. Not only did Pepjin take our luggage up to the room at 2 am (and we don't travel light!!!!!) right at the top of the house but Rachel & Pepijn also moved our stuff between the rooms the next day. In my experience a lot of hotel are not willing to do this.

The two rooms both had pros and cons -
1st one - right at the top - garden view - had much nicer (my opinion) decor than the second one, but was much smaller being at the back it was quieter allowing us to open our windows at night.

2nd room - (room number 1) was on the canal so awesome views and ambiance, was much bigger but due to noise windows had to be closed and so was a bit stuffy- I should have asked for the AC or fan remote. Also I wasn't a huge fan of the bathroom design - toilet on one side of the passage and the remainder on the other. But not much that can be done about that - due to the shape of the building.

Both rooms were impecibly clean and offered the bonus of nespresso machines free wifi and free mini bar. Breakfast of egg, bacon, croissants and toast cereal etc was great and personal.

Will definitely be back!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently in the Rembrandt room canal view. I was worried at first when I booked this hotel thinking maybe I should have picked a more modern place, but I was wrong. This hotel was perfect, location, staff, food, everything. I can't recommend it enough. The owner was so nice and the guy that cooks you breakfast and brings up your luggage very sweet. If you want a great place to stay with an excellent breakfast--free wifi, easy access to the metro and all over Amsterdam this is the place. And they have a free mini bar. Can't go wrong with this hotel. Loved it!! Hope to go back.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are nice, but on weekends a bit noisy at night, but I loved having a canal room. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very easy access from the railwaystation. We booked directly on the hotel website (best price!) and recieved very helpful hints and advise for our stay by e-mail prior to the arrival.

Only 6 rooms, our was nice and cosy.

GREAT breakfast made and served especciallty for you.

Extremely helpful staff (owners) which give good advise on acticities tickets and restaurants.

The hotel is within walking distance from the entire downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, Amsterdam 1012 CV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.