We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Try It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Spent just one night here after three days of Business outside of Amsterdam. Our short stay was a real pleasure indeed. The room was very well appointed with the usual layout of TV, safe, Bar fridge (all inclusive in your initial price) comfy bed and curtains that worked. The bathroom had all the free "gifts" of soap and sewing kit that one finds these days. Breakfast,on the morning of our departure, was delicious and everything one could have asked for was there and FRESH! I have nothing negative to say about the Hotel and would stay again as is well priced and in an outstanding location to really see the sights. If I had to moan then the bathroom could have been a lot cleaner.
A nice stay albeit too short.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    85
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
302
27
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here last week for my wifes 50th birthday.Ariived and room ready in 45 mins.Rembrandt room was lovely.Nice view of canal and bottle of bubbly and chocs waiting for us!!!!.Breakfast was a treat with cheese/ham/croissant/eggs and bacon available plus lovely coffee.Location very central for exploring this city!!!!.Stairs are very narrow so be careful. Being beside the canal and some cafes/bars there can be noise!!!!.Rachel and Pepjin are lovely hosts and nothing is a problem for them.

Room Tip: Canal rooms have nice view but can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I can't really say anything that hasn't been said. The hotel is simply amazing!!! Location is great - close to downtown without being "in" the red light district.

We changed our flights last minute and arrived a day early this meant two things 1 we had to change rooms and 2 Pepjin had to wait until 2 am for us to arrive. Not only did Pepjin take our luggage up to the room at 2 am (and we don't travel light!!!!!) right at the top of the house but Rachel & Pepijn also moved our stuff between the rooms the next day. In my experience a lot of hotel are not willing to do this.

The two rooms both had pros and cons -
1st one - right at the top - garden view - had much nicer (my opinion) decor than the second one, but was much smaller being at the back it was quieter allowing us to open our windows at night.

2nd room - (room number 1) was on the canal so awesome views and ambiance, was much bigger but due to noise windows had to be closed and so was a bit stuffy- I should have asked for the AC or fan remote. Also I wasn't a huge fan of the bathroom design - toilet on one side of the passage and the remainder on the other. But not much that can be done about that - due to the shape of the building.

Both rooms were impecibly clean and offered the bonus of nespresso machines free wifi and free mini bar. Breakfast of egg, bacon, croissants and toast cereal etc was great and personal.

Will definitely be back!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently in the Rembrandt room canal view. I was worried at first when I booked this hotel thinking maybe I should have picked a more modern place, but I was wrong. This hotel was perfect, location, staff, food, everything. I can't recommend it enough. The owner was so nice and the guy that cooks you breakfast and brings up your luggage very sweet. If you want a great place to stay with an excellent breakfast--free wifi, easy access to the metro and all over Amsterdam this is the place. And they have a free mini bar. Can't go wrong with this hotel. Loved it!! Hope to go back.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are nice, but on weekends a bit noisy at night, but I loved having a canal room. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Very easy access from the railwaystation. We booked directly on the hotel website (best price!) and recieved very helpful hints and advise for our stay by e-mail prior to the arrival.

Only 6 rooms, our was nice and cosy.

GREAT breakfast made and served especciallty for you.

Extremely helpful staff (owners) which give good advise on acticities tickets and restaurants.

The hotel is within walking distance from the entire downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay in room 5 which is at the top of the "lighthouse" stair case...found myself using my feet and hands crawling up at one stage! No need to worry about your luggage as it is taken up by staff which is a big plus! The location is fantastic with the canal in the front and the red light district just behind! Not for the faint hearted but very interesting seeing the other side of life. Breakfast was cooked individually and as there is only 6 rooms, you get that personal touch in all aspects. Happened to mention to the owners that we were travelling by train to Delft the next day and they printed out a timetable for us, very thoughtful. We will be back and definitely will be staying at this gorgeous little hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Quirky place in a great location, just outside Red Light area near lovely bars and restaurants. The breakfast is really good, bes bread ever and great coffee. The snack bar including water, juice, beer and crisps was much appreciated and replenished daily. Rooms are individually decorated - we stayed in 2 of the back rooms which were both really quiet and beds really comfortable. Do note that this is a 2 star so although the rooms are slightly worn in places, they are great size and comfortable. Pepjin and Rachel were most helpful and go the extra mile - booking Rijksmuseum tickets at a moment's notice; arranging for us to go on a really great canal cruise; suggesting meal options.
For the price this is excellent - considering the fantastic breakfast and snack/drinks plus the great location (walkable from Central Station) so don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Baroque room quiet and quirky
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#11 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.