We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat well, drink well, sleep well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Eat well, drink well, sleep well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Quirky place in a great location, just outside Red Light area near lovely bars and restaurants. The breakfast is really good, bes bread ever and great coffee. The snack bar including water, juice, beer and crisps was much appreciated and replenished daily. Rooms are individually decorated - we stayed in 2 of the back rooms which were both really quiet and beds really comfortable. Do note that this is a 2 star so although the rooms are slightly worn in places, they are great size and comfortable. Pepjin and Rachel were most helpful and go the extra mile - booking Rijksmuseum tickets at a moment's notice; arranging for us to go on a really great canal cruise; suggesting meal options.
For the price this is excellent - considering the fantastic breakfast and snack/drinks plus the great location (walkable from Central Station) so don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Baroque room quiet and quirky
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    72
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
262
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is good. the facility is not great with rooms that are not too comfortable, very steep stairs and indifferent hosts. Breakfast was fine. place was clean. The area is interesting and within walking distance to many of the sites in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misc-eatdrinksleep, Owner at misc eatdrinksleep, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback, and are genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at misc eatdrinksleep.

In true Boutique hotel style, our 17th-century canal house features just six miscellaneous themed rooms. We are doing our utmost to make these rooms as comfortable as possible from luxury king-size beds with down bedding and pillows (different kinds of bedding possible upon request, for example in case of allergies) to comfortable seating and fresh flowers in all of our rooms. In all of our rooms you will also find our in-room amenities, such as our free mini & snack bar (re-freshed daily), Nespresso coffee/tea maker, bathrobes, Rituals™ bath products, etc.

Our breakfast is served from 09:00 to 12:00 and from 07:30 to 09:00 upon request. We offer a freshly prepared breakfast including croissants from the oven, different types of country-style bread, Dutch artisan cheeses, butcher's cut ham, an egg (any style), bacon, muesli, granola, yogurt, milk, fresh fruit, fruit jams, fruit smoothies, fresh orange juice and tea or any style of coffee. Gluten-free options or any other style breakfast are available upon request.

We enjoy welcoming each of our guests personally and making the check-in process as personal as possible, by taking all our guests to their rooms to show how everything works from the coffee machine to the heating and Wi-Fi. Yes, all our rooms can only be reached by stairs and for Amsterdam standards they are actually not that steep.

On our website is written:

“In true Boutique hotel style this 17th-century, listed (national monument), canal house features just six miscellaneous themed rooms… Our rooms are located on the 1st through the 3rd floor and can only be reached by stairs. Since we do not have an elevator and our stairs are typical for Amsterdam (i.e. steep and narrow), we are more than willing to carry your bags to and from the room for you!”

I am very sorry to hear that you found us indifferent, in my opinion the facts above speak to the contrary. We might not have been your kind of people and our hotel might not have been the experience you were looking for. We are sorry to hear this and we want to apologize for not having been able to be better hosts to you. But we are far from indifferent I can assure you of that.

I would like to close this with stating the following: we are a small boutique hotel and we take immense pride in offering care and personal service to each one of our guests. Your happiness and enjoyment of the city is what we strive for. I hope that this experience doesn’t deter you from visiting our wonderful city in the future.

Kind regards,

Pepijn van Beusekom

co-owner/manager
misc eatdrinksleep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt Lake City, Utah, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

great little place in a very central location. easy to walk everywhere from here. breakfast here is really nice part of being at the hotel. also loved in in room nespresso and the mini bar with beers and soda.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed three nights. Easy walk from train station, great location within walking distance to main attractions. Friendly and helpful owners, fantastic breakfast, conversation, and coffee courtesy of Gabriel. The room was small but clean and well decorated with good size bathroom. Quiet room overlooking garden. The snacks and treats which were regularly restocked were much appreciated. A lovely introduction to a great city

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent service and excellent breakfast/food.
Great deal for the location.
Well kept.
Lovely owners/people running the place. Very helpful.
Great location, beside the RLD but not in it. Not more than a 20 minute walk from all the best to see and do in the city.
Superb coffee.
Lovely older building.
Would recommend it in a heartbeat. If I go back, I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the moment we checked in and met Rachel, we wished we were staying at this hotel more than two nights! Rachel and Pepijn are very gracious and friendly, the location is wonderful, the room was large and the bed was very comfortable. We had been in London previously with a very soft bed, and really appreciated this one. The breakfast was excellent - we had to leave early to catch our flight and Rachel arranged for a taxi and had breakfast served to us an hour earlier than usual. Yes, the stairs are steep - but that adds to the charm, and your luggage is taken up and down to your room for you. You can walk to everything from here, it is a fantastic location. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Misc for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We were greeted warmly by Pepijn and later Rachel. Very warm and frinedly. The stairs are steep and Pepijn took our luggage up while we went to the carpark. We originaly were planning on parking at the Arena but drove in to drop luggage and Pepijn told us to park close by at the station and it's only 10 Euro for 24 hours; a fantastic bargain and within a short walk. Our Morrocan themed room was on the back with a garden view which was quiet and lovely. The room was nice with excellent bedding. The bathroom was more than adequate although there is only a small shelf over the sink to put things on. The bathrobes is a nice touch as is the mini fridge with snacks, colas and even beer; and at no charge. Breakfast was outstanding with juice; breads/toast and croissants; ham, cheese and yogurt. Scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon was freshly made on request. Coffee was served freshly made from the expresso machine. Oh, and did I mention the great location. We walked to everything. We also enjoyed having the bar available and had a cocktail before dinner one evening.

Room Tip: Garden view room quiet and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsNL and Tingo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.