We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, we will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, we will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the moment we checked in and met Rachel, we wished we were staying at this hotel more than two nights! Rachel and Pepijn are very gracious and friendly, the location is wonderful, the room was large and the bed was very comfortable. We had been in London previously with a very soft bed, and really appreciated this one. The breakfast was excellent - we had to leave early to catch our flight and Rachel arranged for a taxi and had breakfast served to us an hour earlier than usual. Yes, the stairs are steep - but that adds to the charm, and your luggage is taken up and down to your room for you. You can walk to everything from here, it is a fantastic location. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    72
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
262
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Misc for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We were greeted warmly by Pepijn and later Rachel. Very warm and frinedly. The stairs are steep and Pepijn took our luggage up while we went to the carpark. We originaly were planning on parking at the Arena but drove in to drop luggage and Pepijn told us to park close by at the station and it's only 10 Euro for 24 hours; a fantastic bargain and within a short walk. Our Morrocan themed room was on the back with a garden view which was quiet and lovely. The room was nice with excellent bedding. The bathroom was more than adequate although there is only a small shelf over the sink to put things on. The bathrobes is a nice touch as is the mini fridge with snacks, colas and even beer; and at no charge. Breakfast was outstanding with juice; breads/toast and croissants; ham, cheese and yogurt. Scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon was freshly made on request. Coffee was served freshly made from the expresso machine. Oh, and did I mention the great location. We walked to everything. We also enjoyed having the bar available and had a cocktail before dinner one evening.

Room Tip: Garden view room quiet and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We do not often review, only when excellent or horrible. This was an excellent stay. From their sending a cab to the airport so we don't get ripped off, to the comfortable and spacious room, the excellent breakfast and the close proximity to everything. This was a great stay, would recommend and go back anytime.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

At first I couldn’t put my finger on it, but by the end of my stay at misc eatdrinksleep it finally came to me. Staying here was like revisiting my college dormitory from over forty years ago (but not necessarily in a bad way). The similarities were striking: small refrigerator with snacks and beer, small bathroom, small shower, a ‘bed sheet’ hung on the wall for decoration, a large ‘poster’ on the wall, a small TV, a really funky light fixture, a steep climb up three flights of narrow stairs, drunken shouting outside at 3 a.m. in the morning (happened only on Friday night), and the smell of marijuana from down the block a bit. Just like being back in my dorm room in college. And just as comfortable and memorable.

Other reviewers have pointed out all the really good things about staying here and I agree with most of them. For me, the bottom line of evaluating hotels is this: would I stay here again if I had a choice? For misc eatdrinksleep, the answer is ‘yes’. Enough said.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms can be a little noisy - plenty an bars just down the street. But worth it for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at misc eatdrinksleep and wished we could have stayed for longer. After arriving from an overnight intercontinental flight Rachel greeted us warmly and gave us directions for a short walking tour of the city while we waited for our room to be available. Knowing that we were totally exhausted from our flight, she offered to text us as soon as we could check in so we could collapse into the cozy bed for a quick afternoon nap. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and provided lots of energy for the trip ahead! As we were leaving Rachel ensured that we had the proper information to take the train to our next destination and also helped us arrange advanced tickets for the Anne Frank House, ensuring we didn't spend hours waiting in line.

We look forward to returning to Amsterdam and staying here again! Without a doubt we will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have become of late a bit cynical about top rated hotels on Tripadvisor, often it leans towards the B&B type experience with (for me) intrusively personal service and "meeting the family" rather than just good solid professional hospitality. This place, quite simply is a little gem & I see no reason to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. Its small, well run with great personal touches (wonderful free minibar, great coffee in every room etc. etc.) and hosts who really know how to deliver a wonderful, perfectly judged experience.

Room Tip: Off street rooms have a nice garden view. Top floors are quiet a climb, but probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at Misc Hotel with my partner as we've heard that it is a great place to be plus, you can get helpful tips from the owners where to go and what to do. It's also located just in the heart of the historic district and market. We were met by the very gracious owners and did chit chat over a glass of wine, which is totally an extra mile- big big thank you for the warm welcome Rachel and Pepijn!!! Oh and the room we stayed at was very artsy and gezellig at the same time, overlooking the canal and historic Dutch buildings! We also just walked our way to the gay area and Red Light district!!! This place is the definitely highly recommended! Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsNL and Tingo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.