We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Save Saved
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer for YOU!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great location and Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at Misc for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We were greeted warmly by Pepijn and later Rachel. Very warm and frinedly. The stairs are steep and Pepijn took our luggage up while we went to the carpark. We originaly were planning on parking at the Arena but drove in to drop luggage and Pepijn told us to park close by at the station and it's only 10 Euro for 24 hours; a fantastic bargain and within a short walk. Our Morrocan themed room was on the back with a garden view which was quiet and lovely. The room was nice with excellent bedding. The bathroom was more than adequate although there is only a small shelf over the sink to put things on. The bathrobes is a nice touch as is the mini fridge with snacks, colas and even beer; and at no charge. Breakfast was outstanding with juice; breads/toast and croissants; ham, cheese and yogurt. Scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon was freshly made on request. Coffee was served freshly made from the expresso machine. Oh, and did I mention the great location. We walked to everything. We also enjoyed having the bar available and had a cocktail before dinner one evening.

Room Tip: Garden view room quiet and nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    64
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
241
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We do not often review, only when excellent or horrible. This was an excellent stay. From their sending a cab to the airport so we don't get ripped off, to the comfortable and spacious room, the excellent breakfast and the close proximity to everything. This was a great stay, would recommend and go back anytime.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

At first I couldn’t put my finger on it, but by the end of my stay at misc eatdrinksleep it finally came to me. Staying here was like revisiting my college dormitory from over forty years ago (but not necessarily in a bad way). The similarities were striking: small refrigerator with snacks and beer, small bathroom, small shower, a ‘bed sheet’ hung on the wall for decoration, a large ‘poster’ on the wall, a small TV, a really funky light fixture, a steep climb up three flights of narrow stairs, drunken shouting outside at 3 a.m. in the morning (happened only on Friday night), and the smell of marijuana from down the block a bit. Just like being back in my dorm room in college. And just as comfortable and memorable.

Other reviewers have pointed out all the really good things about staying here and I agree with most of them. For me, the bottom line of evaluating hotels is this: would I stay here again if I had a choice? For misc eatdrinksleep, the answer is ‘yes’. Enough said.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms can be a little noisy - plenty an bars just down the street. But worth it for the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at misc eatdrinksleep and wished we could have stayed for longer. After arriving from an overnight intercontinental flight Rachel greeted us warmly and gave us directions for a short walking tour of the city while we waited for our room to be available. Knowing that we were totally exhausted from our flight, she offered to text us as soon as we could check in so we could collapse into the cozy bed for a quick afternoon nap. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and provided lots of energy for the trip ahead! As we were leaving Rachel ensured that we had the proper information to take the train to our next destination and also helped us arrange advanced tickets for the Anne Frank House, ensuring we didn't spend hours waiting in line.

We look forward to returning to Amsterdam and staying here again! Without a doubt we will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have become of late a bit cynical about top rated hotels on Tripadvisor, often it leans towards the B&B type experience with (for me) intrusively personal service and "meeting the family" rather than just good solid professional hospitality. This place, quite simply is a little gem & I see no reason to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. Its small, well run with great personal touches (wonderful free minibar, great coffee in every room etc. etc.) and hosts who really know how to deliver a wonderful, perfectly judged experience.

Room Tip: Off street rooms have a nice garden view. Top floors are quiet a climb, but probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at Misc Hotel with my partner as we've heard that it is a great place to be plus, you can get helpful tips from the owners where to go and what to do. It's also located just in the heart of the historic district and market. We were met by the very gracious owners and did chit chat over a glass of wine, which is totally an extra mile- big big thank you for the warm welcome Rachel and Pepijn!!! Oh and the room we stayed at was very artsy and gezellig at the same time, overlooking the canal and historic Dutch buildings! We also just walked our way to the gay area and Red Light district!!! This place is the definitely highly recommended! Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very happy throughout a week-long stay in our canal view room at misc eatdrinksleep. The room was spacious with enough room to walk around and to sit in a chair or at the desk during downtime. The large bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows were of high quality, so we slept wonderfully. Occasional street noise was not enough to bother us. The coffeemaker and small refrigerator stocked with water, drinks and snacks were very generous and convenient. The shower and soaps were nice and the towels were very good.
Breakfast was a treat, multiple courses including coffee, orange juice, baked breads, nice jams, fresh fruits, ham and cheeses, eggs, bacon and croissants cooked to order and served in a pleasant bright eating area.
The narrow steep circular stairway was a workout, but we are age 60+ empty nesters and we did not mind the climb. (We did appreciate help with our luggage, which was offered and provided without our having to ask for it.) We enjoyed the experience of staying in an authentic canal house in the center of the city, and taking in the canal views from our windows.
The location is excellent for walking everywhere. We walked to Centraal Station to the north, the Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw and Vondelpark to the south, through the Jordaan to the west and to the Sheepvartmuseum to the east - all points of the heart of the city were walkable from this location. Our walking excursions usually took us through Dam Square one or more times per day; we enjoyed experiencing this busy historic area at all times of day and evening.
Misc eatdrink sleep is not a big fancy hotel, but for an affordable, good quality, exceedingly comfortable place to stay which provides generous amenities and very much supports sightseeing throughout the city, we were very pleased with our choice and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.