We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spell G-E-Z-E-L-L-I-G: Perfect location; more than reasonable price; gracious hosts and owners!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Save Saved
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer for YOU!
Ranked #21 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Spell G-E-Z-E-L-L-I-G: Perfect location; more than reasonable price; gracious hosts and owners!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed at Misc Hotel with my partner as we've heard that it is a great place to be plus, you can get helpful tips from the owners where to go and what to do. It's also located just in the heart of the historic district and market. We were met by the very gracious owners and did chit chat over a glass of wine, which is totally an extra mile- big big thank you for the warm welcome Rachel and Pepijn!!! Oh and the room we stayed at was very artsy and gezellig at the same time, overlooking the canal and historic Dutch buildings! We also just walked our way to the gay area and Red Light district!!! This place is the definitely highly recommended! Will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    69
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
27
252
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwestern New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were very happy throughout a week-long stay in our canal view room at misc eatdrinksleep. The room was spacious with enough room to walk around and to sit in a chair or at the desk during downtime. The large bed was extremely comfortable, and the pillows were of high quality, so we slept wonderfully. Occasional street noise was not enough to bother us. The coffeemaker and small refrigerator stocked with water, drinks and snacks were very generous and convenient. The shower and soaps were nice and the towels were very good.
Breakfast was a treat, multiple courses including coffee, orange juice, baked breads, nice jams, fresh fruits, ham and cheeses, eggs, bacon and croissants cooked to order and served in a pleasant bright eating area.
The narrow steep circular stairway was a workout, but we are age 60+ empty nesters and we did not mind the climb. (We did appreciate help with our luggage, which was offered and provided without our having to ask for it.) We enjoyed the experience of staying in an authentic canal house in the center of the city, and taking in the canal views from our windows.
The location is excellent for walking everywhere. We walked to Centraal Station to the north, the Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw and Vondelpark to the south, through the Jordaan to the west and to the Sheepvartmuseum to the east - all points of the heart of the city were walkable from this location. Our walking excursions usually took us through Dam Square one or more times per day; we enjoyed experiencing this busy historic area at all times of day and evening.
Misc eatdrink sleep is not a big fancy hotel, but for an affordable, good quality, exceedingly comfortable place to stay which provides generous amenities and very much supports sightseeing throughout the city, we were very pleased with our choice and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A great little boutique hotel within walking distance of everything! Pepijn and Rachel were great hosts. There was a welcome bottle of prosecco, made to order breakfasts, and a constantly stocked mini bar and coffee maker. The canal view room was great. There was a white noise machine for use if the natives got too restless outside!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed a few time now and can't say enough good things about Hotel Misc! Rachel and Pepijn are great hosts who are both friendly, good humored, helpful and go out of their way to make sure their guests are well looked after! The rooms are clean, with beautiful linens and soft towels! The location is fabulous and the breakfasts are yummy with fresh breads, cheese, ham, yogurt, cereal, fruit and also bacon and eggs made to order with croissants! The coffee is great! Why stay anywhere else :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great location in Amsterdam. Red light district is just around the corner but far enough away not to see. Great bars in the neighborhood. Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious by European standards. The hosts were wonderful and helpful in every way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Rachel and Pepijn have a gorgeous hotel and also have an apartment to rent. We have stayed at both places multiple times and would highly recommend. Both are fantastic central locations. Walking distance everywhere and trams close by. There are stairs though so you need to be prepared to take your suitcase up the stairs (although most times Pepijn will be there to help!).

Well priced, lovely rooms and fantastic service. We will go back and stay each time we return to the beautiful Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband & I stayed 3 nights in early August. Hosts Rachel and Pepijn were helpful and attentive, securing advance tickets to Van Gogh Museum which moved us to the front of a long line-up. We stayed in the "Wonders" room, which was 1 flight up a narrow staircase, typical in Europe. The room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Best of all were the many drinks and snacks that were replenished daily, at no charge! Spaces in Europe are typically small... this bathroom would benefit with more shelf space for personal items. The location was perfect. We walked to and from the Central train station easily as well as walked the town from this darling B&B. Watch for the address as you can easily miss it when walking by the first time:) The pass keys for the building and room worked well and we felt very safe. Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and served with love. There was an abundant array of reference books to browse and plan your stay. The internet and A/C worked well, too. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room and though one could hear neighbors, it got quiet early even on a weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.