We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service and facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“Excellent location, service and facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I from Australia stayed for a week and we loved everything about this little bnb. Fantastic location which allowed us to walk everywhere in the city. Breakfast was also a highlight which was cooked perfectly (try their scrambled eggs). The fridge was restocked each day with snacks and drinks. The transport to the bnb was also great, it included a quick tour of the city on the way to the hotel, given by an enthusiastic ex-dance teacher driver - very cool guy.
The owners were very friendly and outgoing, helping us with everything we needed.
We both felt very relaxed and "at home" when we stayed. just remember to book in advance as there aren't many rooms!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    72
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
262
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We spent three nights in this well kept little B&B located right in the heart of Amsterdam. It being our first visit we weren't sure where we wanted to be, but this place was perfect. As we were traveling by backpack this met our every need. From the most delicious/filling breakfasts, to the central location right across the square from the metro which took you around the city. Each day the room was re stocked with juice, water, beer, and snacks. As well as complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate. It was walking distance to shopping, all the best attractions, and just around the corner from the red light district and all the little cafes. When we come back to Amsterdam, we will be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Feel Like I am adding to already overfull bag of glowing reviews but here goes;
If you understand that this a great bed and breakfast rather than a hotel then you will not be disappointed.
Right from the booking we were met with a useful email about the booking and arranging transport to the hotel. This was a small hint of the excellent efficiency that this place is run with.
My partner and I had booked a weekend trip to Amsterdam and this was a very useful base point. The hotel is situated just a road parallel to the red light district in the historical heart of city. This means it is pretty much easy to walk quickly to all the main parts of the city and the train station.
The room was small on the second floor facing the garden. It was perfectly formed with all that you would need. The free mini bar, the coffee machine and the rituals toiletries add that little something extra.
The service was clinical rather than overtly friendly. Pepijn was very efficient and we did not want for anything. Bearing in mind his wife had just had a baby this was especially impressive. The breakfasts were very tasty and all that we would want to eat.
For a romantic trip to Amsterdam we could not have asked for more from a place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were very happy to have found this little very cozy hotel. The rooms are very nice, romantic, relaxing, comfortable and have everything you need. The bathroom is nice and big for Dutch standards and also has everything and then some of what you could possible need. Rachel and Pepijn are fantastic hosts. We got to Amsterdam around 10 in the morning and our room was not ready. We did get to leave our luggage there while we went sight seeing into the city. Upon our return our room was ready and our luggage put in it! We had the most comfortable night sleep. It was amazingly quiet for a room right in the middle of a city. Breakfast was fantastic with fresh squeezed orange juice, meats and cheeses, eggs to order, freshly baked bread etc etc. Also, you can buy tickets here for the Heineken Experience, canal tours etc. Very handy! Location is right in the middle of everything. Perfect! We will for sure return to this hotel next time we are in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: our room was on the back side. amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel with only 6 rooms but this means great service.
The room we had was on the top floor with a lovely canal view, great bed, free mini bar and just generally very nice.
Breakfast was excellent, fresh cooked eggs and bacon with fresh bread, warmed croissants and cheese and ham platter.
Was great all-round accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'll just add to all the other great reviews - they're all true, it's a great place to stay. It has an unbeatable location and is a really comfortable base for a stay in Amsterdam. It is so refreshing to stay somewhere with a bit of character. Thanks Rachel and Pepijn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at Misc for one night on my way to Africa. The staff was very helpful; providing directions to hotel and helping me with a bike tour and dinner reservation for my one evening.

As other have noted, the hotel is right on a canal in the center of Amsterdam. The stairs are very narrow, which could be tricky for older residents but added to the charm for me.

As I had to leave before breakfast, staff made me a continential breakfast and left it in my room. They were also able to arrange a car to take me to the airport early the next day.

It was a great respite for me, on my way to a larger adventure. I will certainly be back!

Room Tip: I enjoyed having a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL and Tingo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.