We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel on the gracht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Jewel on the gracht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were very happy to have found this little very cozy hotel. The rooms are very nice, romantic, relaxing, comfortable and have everything you need. The bathroom is nice and big for Dutch standards and also has everything and then some of what you could possible need. Rachel and Pepijn are fantastic hosts. We got to Amsterdam around 10 in the morning and our room was not ready. We did get to leave our luggage there while we went sight seeing into the city. Upon our return our room was ready and our luggage put in it! We had the most comfortable night sleep. It was amazingly quiet for a room right in the middle of a city. Breakfast was fantastic with fresh squeezed orange juice, meats and cheeses, eggs to order, freshly baked bread etc etc. Also, you can buy tickets here for the Heineken Experience, canal tours etc. Very handy! Location is right in the middle of everything. Perfect! We will for sure return to this hotel next time we are in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: our room was on the back side. amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    73
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
268
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel with only 6 rooms but this means great service.
The room we had was on the top floor with a lovely canal view, great bed, free mini bar and just generally very nice.
Breakfast was excellent, fresh cooked eggs and bacon with fresh bread, warmed croissants and cheese and ham platter.
Was great all-round accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I'll just add to all the other great reviews - they're all true, it's a great place to stay. It has an unbeatable location and is a really comfortable base for a stay in Amsterdam. It is so refreshing to stay somewhere with a bit of character. Thanks Rachel and Pepijn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at Misc for one night on my way to Africa. The staff was very helpful; providing directions to hotel and helping me with a bike tour and dinner reservation for my one evening.

As other have noted, the hotel is right on a canal in the center of Amsterdam. The stairs are very narrow, which could be tricky for older residents but added to the charm for me.

As I had to leave before breakfast, staff made me a continential breakfast and left it in my room. They were also able to arrange a car to take me to the airport early the next day.

It was a great respite for me, on my way to a larger adventure. I will certainly be back!

Room Tip: I enjoyed having a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Everything about my stay here was perfect. From booking direct with Rachel, to the constant communication prior to arrival as to how to get there, helpful hints etc, everything was wonderful. Location is FANTASTIC!!! There isn't a better place to stay to be in the centre of Amsterdam but also close to the sites. Walking distance really is walking distance. Accommodation was lovely, service was fantastic. Everything was just wonderful. Really, really loved it here. Nothing was too much trouble. And the cost of accommodation was reflected in the stay. Was happy with the price I paid for the service I received.

Thanks :-) Will absolutely only stay here on return visits to Amsterdam.

Rachel and Pepijn are lovely people! Wishing them all the best for the future (and their baby's safe arrival!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable, peaceful and in good condition, the included breakfast was very good, and the inclusive mini-bar was a nice touch. Rachel and Pepijn are lovely people!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Misc eatsleepdrink for 3 nights and were very happy with our time there. The room (Africa room) was very spacious and met all our needs, even though it was on the top floor, up a very narrow staircase. It had a wonderful view of the canal out front of the hotel and was reasonably quiet despite the amount of people passing at all hours. The highlight of the stay though would definitely be the breakfasts. Outstanding quality and very filling. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in supplying local knowledge. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam, a fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and HotelsNL so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.