We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of misc eatdrinksleep

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added misc eatdrinksleep to your Saves list
misc eatdrinksleep
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

A cool, comfortbale, clean cosy hotel set in the heart of Amsterdam. Really helpfull service, very comfortbale beds, super breakfasts. We arrived to witness Queens Day - which sees the whole city decked in orange and in serious party mood, a truly unique experience! We had a super stay. Do try the bike hire and get out on the water!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    72
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
262
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Took the train from Paris to Amsterdam for a one-night stay with the wife and daughter. The location of the hotel is great. You can easily walk to everything. The owners are wonderful and very helpful with recommendations. Loved the room. Great view of the canal, very quiet at night and very comfortable beds. It was very nice having the free mini-bar and the breakfast was very good. Couldn't have been happier. Definitely recommend to anyone coming to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We chose this hotel as we were looking for somewhere central, small and special. It did not disappoint on any of these counts. We chose a garden-facing room, which was lovely and quiet (the Baroque), with just the right amount of space. The minibar was very generously stocked with nice freebies and we adored the Nespresso machine. The owners, Rachel and Pepijn, were very helpful. By the way, if you are hesitant about staying in a small place because you think you won't be left in peace, that isn't a problem here, as the owners are nice and friendly but also quite unobtrusive. In summary, an excellent stay and we'll definitely be returning there when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We had a fabulous experience with Misc Eatdrinksleep. My teenage son and I visited for three nights. We had a cosy room facing the canal, filled with homey touches like fresh flowers and fluffy white cotton robes. The room was immaculately clean. The rain shower very refreshing in the morning and after a long day of museum hopping.

Breakfast was amazing. Made to order eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, cereals, various juices, fresh bread and croissants. Very top shelf, and no need to eat again until late in the day. There is also a complimentary stocked mini fridge that my son ravaged each evening. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate was also available in the room. In addition, our flight left early on our last day, so Rachel put together an breakfast tray for us the night before.

Rachel and Pepijn were perfect hosts. Where else can you actually get a wake up call from the owners personally? They gave us great advice on transportation, sights, and places to eat.

The location is amazing. . It is central and an easy walk to all points of interest in Amsterdam. No need to use the subway or the tram really. I felt extremely safe! I went out walking alone most evenings and never had a hint of trouble.

Great trip, we will definitely go back. High speed internet was also included in the room

Room Tip: Garden view may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Reallly enjoyed our stay in this hotel, we were in the Design Room at the front of the htoel literally looking down onto the canal. The location is really central and perfect for sight seeing, we walked everywhere. The the service was very friendly and helpful from recommending restaurants to having a big stack of guidebooks available to browse.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in March 2011. We had the Baroque room at the back. It was really quite, day and night. The room had two windows on different walls which made it feel spacious, brigh and airy. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The beds and pillows really comfy. My wife suffers from insomnia but it was the first time she ever got 3 full nights sleep in a hotel. The fridge was restocked every day and had a selection of chocolate, soft drinks, beer, water, juice, and chips. The room also had a safe, Nespresso coffee machine, bathrobes, multi-channel TV (with plenty of English speaking channels). The breakfast was excellent. There was a selection of juices, smoothies, cereal, bread, cheese, and cold meat.Everything was so fresh.Eggs and bacon were cooked to order. The area around the hotel felt safe as there was always plenty of people around the cafes and bars. A supermarket nearby was also convenient. The hotel is located less than 10 minutes walk to Dam Square, about 10-15 mins walk to Central Train Station, about 20-30 mins to Museumplein. You can also rent the hotels own bikes. The stairs in the hotel are quite steep but our bags were brought up for us while we checked in so that was great. I highly recommend this hotel I would definitely go back. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples looking for something special.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed here in March 2011 with my partner. Was really impressed with the hotel, really quirky and unique. Each room has a different design, ours was the 'design' room and was lovely. Immaculately clean, both bedroom and en-suite. You also get a free min-fridge which is stocked up everyday!
We had to check-out really early so the owners made sure we had breakfast in the room before we left, which was perfect.
Breakfast is so nice, and you can have pretty much whatever you like.
It is in an ideal location, walking distance from; cafes, bars, red light district, vintage shops, museums.
I can't wait to go again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to misc eatdrinksleep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about misc eatdrinksleep

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 20, 1012 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — misc eatdrinksleep 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misc eatdrinksleep is a lovely little hideaway located on a wide canal, close to the picturesque Nieuwmarkt Square, in the heart of the historic city centre of Amsterdam. This modernized 17th-century canal house features just six personally styled rooms. Each is a unique mix of style, charm and practicality, and overlooks either the canal or a fetching Amsterdam secret garden. We offer exceptional hospitality for the cultural pilgrim, the hopeless romantic and weary business traveler alike. We hope that our unique canal house hotel becomes your home away from home in Amsterdam! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL and Tingo so you can book your misc eatdrinksleep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misc Eatdrinksleep Amsterdam
Misc Eatdrinksleep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage misc eatdrinksleep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.