We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive aura” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogoorddreef 66, 1101BE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #119 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tashkent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Positive aura”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This hotel located far from the center, but you feel the comfort about the place. It is brand new, clean and fresh. I stayed in this hotel in June, and I liked my experience. You would want this place to be more "homye" because it gives you sense of relaxation and tranquility. I would add old paintings of photos in frames to complete this feeling..
I liked their shower- really modern and cool design.
I liked the security system, which will protect strangers to enter the hotel above the reception level.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear golubka,

I am happy to read your felt secure and safe whilst staying with us. Always very important when traveling! I am also happy to inform you that we have ordered some art work for the walls in our communal areas; I could not agree more with you that a some pictures will add to the homey feeling of our hotel. Have a great day and we look forward to welcoming you back in the (near) future!

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    66
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
49
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

when I came down the second morning and walked up to the reception to ask for some soy milk I got some REALLY BAD attitude from the male staff.
I don´t have any soy milk was the answer I got...
But when I said that the day before a girl in the reception helped me, he just kept on going with his BAD attitude and keeps on repeating ; I DON`T HAVE ANY SOYMILK!!!!!
Walked away with sadness..... This is not what you want to experience first thing in the morning....
Luckily the kitchen staff was really nice and helped me with a smile :) Big thank you!!!!!
It is 2014 and every 10 person is vegan today, So this should not be a problem...

Apart from this, it was one of the best hotels I stayed in Amsterdam!!!
Nice and clean and just 15min to the central station. But recommend you to get of the train at Niewmarkt and walk from there instead. Damrak is just to touristic ;)

The beds are great, and it´s quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear prettylittletravel,

Thank you for your time writing this review and thank you for your kind words! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, even though we had some issues finding the soy milk. Please rest assure that we shared your comments and now all of us are aware that we do have soy milk and where to find it. It would be nice if you could visit us against to check us out! Again thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The room was small, but very clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast was good and plentiful. It's far away from the city center, but if you have reason to be out that way, it's a good place to stay. It's also priced reasonably.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a great deal of difference among rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Beth B,

Thanks for taking your time to share your experiences at the Holiday In Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers. My team and I are happy to see you had such a nice time whilst staying with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xanthi, Greece
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Arena Towers for a couple of nights this July, and we really enjoyed the spacious rooms provided. They were much bigger than the rooms from other Holiday Inn Express hotels across Europe. Also notice that the hotel is a part of a brand new building complex. Although it's a far away from central Amsterdam, you can reach the city's centre in a few minutes by metro (metro stops about 800m far from the hotel). Breakfast was better than average 3 star hotel's one. Everyone there was really helpful an prompt. We strongly recoment that hotel for anyone who is looking for a not central hotel. Note also that is biside Amsterdam Arena, where AJAX plays.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Antonis P,

Thank you for your kind words! Much appreciated especially by such an experienced traveler as yourself. The hotel has indeed recently been opened, just two months ago we welcomed our first guest. Great to read that you enjoyed our Continental Breakfast. Hope to welcome you back to our hotel, here in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,


Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Overall this hotel is excellent value for money - it is roughly 45 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam travelling by metro- When we experienced the 'hordes' of tourists in Amsterdam we were absolutely delighted by the location of the hotel - the surrounding area was quiet with some very good restaurants nearby.
The Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast excellent - good variety of cereals, meats, fresh bread and croissants etc.
But - OH my goodness - WHO DESIGNED the furnishings in the bedrooms??!! There are absolutely no drawers and no shelving or storage space for underwear etc and very little hanging space for clothes..
Overall however, I would recommend this hotel for business, weekends or short stays in Amsterdam.
..

Room Tip: Buy a daily "run about" travel ticket at the station as these cover trains, metro, trams a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear stronach01,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and tripadvisor.com to share the experiences you had during you recent. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our Continental Breakfast. As recommended by you most of our guests are indeed business travelers and guest visiting for weekends or short stays.

Kind regards,


Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I did not really feel welcome in the Holiday Inn Arena Towers when I visited them last month. I entered the receptions downstairs and the guy behind the desk first let me wait for him answering few calls before shooing me away to the Express hotel's reception "behind the corner".
I guess I first checked the real Holiday Inn and then accidentally booked to room from Express hotel side. I thought I had the access to the gym and I even brought my gym gear with my, but alas such a treat is not available in the Express side of the aisle. And neither is the breakfast what I thought it would be. It is basically only bread and butter. That's according to the Holiday Inn Express brand. Heck, to me the whole concept is utter failure: Holiday Inn is just one of the roadside strip mall motel brands with or without the Express in the name and having rude service does nor really help. To me it is all the same. And adding the cherry on the top: naturally I could not be awarded the IHG rewards points as I was stupid enough to book through booking.com. Paid dearly for two rooms and probably the same price that the Holiday Inn sans Express would have cost me, did not have the access to gym, not having a proper breakfast (Ever visited a hostel? Then you know what sort of breakfast it was) and not even granted the points from the stay. I do not know about you, but I have had it for the whole Holiday Inn with or without Express for a while. Well, have to say rooms were nice and if you plan to visit the Arena, that is practically next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Seppo h,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review. We are sorry to hear that you left Amsterdam with this impression of your hotel. Service and quality are the two keywords when it comes to the way we are being perceived by our guests.

I understand that you are disappointed that you could not use the gym of the connecting Holiday Inn. As Holiday Inn Express is a hotel offering select service a gym not included in the services offered. Please come by the reception during a next stay as we have some maps available offering routes to run in the direct surroundings of the hotel or we can show you how to get to a nearby gym.

We appreciate you being a IHG Rewards Club member and would like to thank you once more for your loyalty. Unfortunately we do not offer any points over bookings made through booking.com. Booking direct through igh.com promises to get you the best rate available on top of earning points.

Please feel free to contact me via info.amsea@hiex.nl should your require any assistance with future bookings or additional information.

Kind regards,
Jill Bos
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zesite
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

There is a real lake of information on the web site that made me unhappy.
This is about "late" checkout that I was supposed to get: checkout was only extented from noon to 2pm, which is not what I call late checkout (6pm is a late checkout).
The other bas surprise was about city taxes: that was not clear that we would have to pay 5% extra at hte end of the stay. 5% here for service, 5% here for taxes, late checkout that is not late..

What I did not like neither:
- the curtain that leaves the light waking you early in the morning,
- no more soap in the shower (soap machine was removed),
- the low quality of the products for the breakfast
- the price (too hich for such an hotel) and the extra taxes

What I liked:
- clean and modern room

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear zesite,

First of all thanks for the review. I am sorry to read that the information provided through internet did not match your expectations.

Last night I have checked a few sites(e.g. booking.com, ihg.com and expedia.com) representing our hotel and all state that checkout is at noon. Upon availability it always is my pleasure offer our guests a late check-out free of charge. These same sides all mention the City Tax, a tax that we are obliged by law to charge over every night stayed in Amsterdam. As we have only opened recently it is very well possible that we overlooked some websites like the one checked by you. I would be grateful if you could let me know which side provided you with this information, you may contact me via info.amsea@hiex.nl.

I would like to apologize for the non-closing curtain as well as the missing soap. Please rest assure that this issues have been addressed and rectified. Holiday Inn Express offers FREE continental breakfast to all of its guests and the items provided are all carefully selected and served across the Dutch estate. I am sorry to read that the breakfast did not meet your expectations.

Thanks again for the feedback, allowing us both to grow and improve and I do look forward to hearing from you regarding your booking channel.

Kind regards,


Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers

Address: Hoogoorddreef 66, 1101BE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.