We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who designed the bedrooms?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogoorddreef 66, 1101BE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #97 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Who designed the bedrooms?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Overall this hotel is excellent value for money - it is roughly 45 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam travelling by metro- When we experienced the 'hordes' of tourists in Amsterdam we were absolutely delighted by the location of the hotel - the surrounding area was quiet with some very good restaurants nearby.
The Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Breakfast excellent - good variety of cereals, meats, fresh bread and croissants etc.
But - OH my goodness - WHO DESIGNED the furnishings in the bedrooms??!! There are absolutely no drawers and no shelving or storage space for underwear etc and very little hanging space for clothes..
Overall however, I would recommend this hotel for business, weekends or short stays in Amsterdam.
..

Room Tip: Buy a daily "run about" travel ticket at the station as these cover trains, metro, trams a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear stronach01,

Thank you for visiting our hotel and tripadvisor.com to share the experiences you had during you recent. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our Continental Breakfast. As recommended by you most of our guests are indeed business travelers and guest visiting for weekends or short stays.

Kind regards,


Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    124
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
94
9
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I did not really feel welcome in the Holiday Inn Arena Towers when I visited them last month. I entered the receptions downstairs and the guy behind the desk first let me wait for him answering few calls before shooing me away to the Express hotel's reception "behind the corner".
I guess I first checked the real Holiday Inn and then accidentally booked to room from Express hotel side. I thought I had the access to the gym and I even brought my gym gear with my, but alas such a treat is not available in the Express side of the aisle. And neither is the breakfast what I thought it would be. It is basically only bread and butter. That's according to the Holiday Inn Express brand. Heck, to me the whole concept is utter failure: Holiday Inn is just one of the roadside strip mall motel brands with or without the Express in the name and having rude service does nor really help. To me it is all the same. And adding the cherry on the top: naturally I could not be awarded the IHG rewards points as I was stupid enough to book through booking.com. Paid dearly for two rooms and probably the same price that the Holiday Inn sans Express would have cost me, did not have the access to gym, not having a proper breakfast (Ever visited a hostel? Then you know what sort of breakfast it was) and not even granted the points from the stay. I do not know about you, but I have had it for the whole Holiday Inn with or without Express for a while. Well, have to say rooms were nice and if you plan to visit the Arena, that is practically next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Seppo h,

First of all I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review. We are sorry to hear that you left Amsterdam with this impression of your hotel. Service and quality are the two keywords when it comes to the way we are being perceived by our guests.

I understand that you are disappointed that you could not use the gym of the connecting Holiday Inn. As Holiday Inn Express is a hotel offering select service a gym not included in the services offered. Please come by the reception during a next stay as we have some maps available offering routes to run in the direct surroundings of the hotel or we can show you how to get to a nearby gym.

We appreciate you being a IHG Rewards Club member and would like to thank you once more for your loyalty. Unfortunately we do not offer any points over bookings made through booking.com. Booking direct through igh.com promises to get you the best rate available on top of earning points.

Please feel free to contact me via info.amsea@hiex.nl should your require any assistance with future bookings or additional information.

Kind regards,
Jill Bos
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zesite
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

There is a real lake of information on the web site that made me unhappy.
This is about "late" checkout that I was supposed to get: checkout was only extented from noon to 2pm, which is not what I call late checkout (6pm is a late checkout).
The other bas surprise was about city taxes: that was not clear that we would have to pay 5% extra at hte end of the stay. 5% here for service, 5% here for taxes, late checkout that is not late..

What I did not like neither:
- the curtain that leaves the light waking you early in the morning,
- no more soap in the shower (soap machine was removed),
- the low quality of the products for the breakfast
- the price (too hich for such an hotel) and the extra taxes

What I liked:
- clean and modern room

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear zesite,

First of all thanks for the review. I am sorry to read that the information provided through internet did not match your expectations.

Last night I have checked a few sites(e.g. booking.com, ihg.com and expedia.com) representing our hotel and all state that checkout is at noon. Upon availability it always is my pleasure offer our guests a late check-out free of charge. These same sides all mention the City Tax, a tax that we are obliged by law to charge over every night stayed in Amsterdam. As we have only opened recently it is very well possible that we overlooked some websites like the one checked by you. I would be grateful if you could let me know which side provided you with this information, you may contact me via info.amsea@hiex.nl.

I would like to apologize for the non-closing curtain as well as the missing soap. Please rest assure that this issues have been addressed and rectified. Holiday Inn Express offers FREE continental breakfast to all of its guests and the items provided are all carefully selected and served across the Dutch estate. I am sorry to read that the breakfast did not meet your expectations.

Thanks again for the feedback, allowing us both to grow and improve and I do look forward to hearing from you regarding your booking channel.

Kind regards,


Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I had a very nice stay at this hotel in June 2014. You can get there by fast Train from Schiphol Airport for just 4 Euros one way it takes 15 minutes from airport to hotel and there are just few stops!

Holiday Inn Express seems to be brand new which is good. Hotel is in walking distance /approx. 5minutes walk/ from metro and train station called Biljmer Arena. It is fantastic that city center can be reached by metro in 15 minutes. Also congress center RAI is very close by metro.

Room was nice and very clean with daily houskeeping service of course. There was an aircondition and it is unable to open the window. Also if you are planning to stay longer and you take more clothes with you, there are only few shelves and no wardrobe inside the room.

Breakfast was served at the restaurant on 2nd floor. The variety was quite poor but ok for 3-star hotel. Quality of food was ok including some vegetables, orange juice and coffee.

Service at the front desk was awesome!

Very good value considering that it is 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear MariannMa,

First of all: Thanks for the nice words towards our team, they were very excited to read about your enthusiasm.

Holiday Inn Express as all about “Everything you need and nothing you do not need” we like to keep things Smart Simple & Spot on. This means that rooms are built rather efficiently with a great walk-in shower and nice beds. Our continental breakfast is served for FREE as is the WiFi.

We look forward to having you back!

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

At 5 minutes walking from the train station, new rooms and good service, this is a good option for short stays.
Taxi cost: 40 Euro from city center to the Hotel in the evening.
You can rent bikes and scooters at reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX_ArenaTowers, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear BogdanV,

I happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our newly opened hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back and tell you more about some nice tours to take with one of our bikes.

Kind regards,

Paul Bremen
Hotelmanger
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoogeveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a new hotel that opened a week ago so all was perfect in that sense. Great location by Arena and Ziggo Dome for staying after events. Plenty of (paid) parking and nice breakfast buffet. Rooms are a bit small but well decorated and furnished. However, biggest disappointment was the bed. Not only small for 2 persons but very hard so very uncomfortable. Why does a new hotel not have very comfortable beds? Result a bad night rest and we will not stay there again unless they have softer beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkenberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I had a late booking for the PLMA exhibition and there was not many hotel rooms left. This property was on the right side of the town and just a few stations away from the exhibition area. The hotel is really fresh and close to subway and railway (5 minutes’ walk). From the airport it is just about 15 minutes by train. The location itself is close to the Arena and the area is filed up with office buildings.

The service was excellent and a very welcoming and friendly staff. The room size is what you could expect in this Express concept, small but nice. I was on the top floor overlooking the country side in distance and it was very quiet. The standard room is ok for one persona but the bed could be small for two person. The bed was equipped with four pillows of various softness, but too hard for my taste.

The fire alarm went off at 24.00 and 06.00. Of course it’s nothing that happening al the time. The breakfast is also what you could expect from till Express concept. There is a small breakfast buffet, nice and fresh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam - Arena Towers
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Casa 400
Hotel Casa 400
#59 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
3.6 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#152 of 354 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers

Address: Hoogoorddreef 66, 1101BE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.