We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€115 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A real gem in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Let me start by saying that all the reviews are true. This is a great place with a lot of little extra touches that make it really memorable. My boyfriend and I planned a two-week trip through Germany and Belgium, ending in Amsterdam. Most of our hotels were in the 60-80 euros range, but those prices seemed downright impossible in Amsterdam. Researching hotels there, it seemed that you couldn’t get anything decent under 100 euros per night, and Boogaard’s was 115. Because Amsterdam would be the last stop on our busy trip, I decided to splurge a little and book this place. I found it through Rick Steves’ book, and I corroborated the recommendation on Trip Advisor. I’m not really a B&B kind of person, but this place provides plenty of privacy while allowing a nice communal breakfast, where you get to know other travelers.

As the other reviews say, Peter is a great host. He showed off his beautiful canal house and his adorable dogs Pepe and Curly, and provided directions and maps to all the good spots and restaurants. He’ll make restaurant reservations for you, and you can use the communal laptop any time to check email and book museum tickets (which Peter will print out for you). One of the best parts was that he did our laundry (free). After doing my own laundry in the sink for two weeks, this was awesome! Peter bakes seemingly every day, as he always had delicious cakes lying around for us to snack on. He also stocks the fridge with two beers and two sodas per day per couple. Another nice touch. You can also help yourself to coffee and tea and snacks in the shared living room/kitchen.

The breakfasts are fantastic. The highlight for us was Peter’s homemade Dutch pancakes with endless choices of fillings, such as Nutella and bananas - yum. Our bedroom was stylish and comfy (with four pillows each!) and probably the most comfy bed we had in our two weeks of traveling. The bathroom shower was nice and big – not the typical glass box in which you can barely move that is so prevalent in European mom-and-pop places.

The location is great. It’s less than a 10-minute walk from Centraal Station but in a quiet, residential neighborhood called the Jordaan. There are several cool local bars within a couple blocks (try The Two Swans for real local flavor), and it’s just a 10-minute walk to the Anne Frank House. This place books up quickly, so plan far in advance to stay here. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
490
34
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I just got home from our trip to Amsterdam. When we started looking into B&Bs, my husband thought all of these reviews were too good to be true. We booked Boogaards anyway because trip advisor hadn't failed us yet. Yet again, the reviews were correct! Boogaards is everything that all of these positive reviews said it would be. Peter was a great host. He was a pleasure to talk to each morning, he showed us where to go and how to get there each day, and he provided us with a complementary bottle of champaign to celebrate our anniversary!

Our bedroom (with en suit bathroom) was extremely clean and comfortable. It was nice to come home after a long day of site seeing and find fresh baked cakes, a nice clean room, and even our laundry cleaned and folded. You can not beat the value and experience you get at Boogaards. I can't say enough good things about Peter and the business that he runs.

Thanks again to Peter and family for a great vacation!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

We had the most fabulous stay at peters bed and breakfast, Peter was an excellent cook with wonderful breakfasts and cakes and advisor on where to go and how to get there he made us feel so welcome. His home is kept just beautiful and always a wonderful smell of home cooking we could not reccommend peters any higher.

natalie and richard

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

Peter was a wonderful host who provided information on tours, restaurants, and the city/country in general. He helped obtain lost luggage in a timely manner, always had time to sit and talk, let us meet his dogs, and even did our laundry. The location was perfect to walk to most museums and restaurants, and the tram system very easy to use. All shops, tours, service people speak English. Amsterdam is a great city for the tourist to visit, lots of interesting things to do and easy to move around. Peter's suggested restaurants were very good. I travelled with my sister and brother-in-law and we had two bedrooms with en suite baths and a shared common room with tea/coffee and treats always available. We stayed for three days and enjoyed every minute. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Peter is a wonderful host who is great to visit with and who runs a fine B&B. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

July this year we visited Amsterdam & we were fortunate to stay at Boogaard's Bed & Breakfast with Peter & his Family for 5 nights.We have stayed in many b/b's,but we would have to say Peters is 5 star accommadation. A 10 minute pleasant walk from Central Station.We stayed in the hunting room beautifully decorated, a variety of pillows on the bed for any occasion,& a great selection of toiletries in the bathroom.Full access to a kitchenette outside our room,the fridge stocked with cold drinks.A coffee machine ready for use with good quality coffee,along with Peter's home baked cakes each day .Use of a laptop computer at all times.A home away from home.
Breakfast was a gourmet delight .Something different each day prepared & served by Peter around a hugh family table.The bread & butter pudding was YUM!!! Plenty of chatter about many topics & places to visit.Peter is a wonderful host.
A delightful home with attention to detail in all respects.
Thank you Peter & Family for sharing your home with us.We will keep in contact.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Peter Boogard's B&B is in an excellent location a very easy 10 minute walk from the Centraal station, the main rail station. It is in a very charming neighborhood that is walkable to most of the sights you want to see. The B&B is set up with a total of 4 guest rooms, with 2 on each floor. In between the rooms is a clean and well-decorated sitting area, a computer to use, and a wonderful efficiency kitchen. The kitchen is stocked with coffees, teas, sodas and snacks (some of them homemade) for 24 hour access. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable and I believe all have their own en suite toilet/shower (ours did). Unfortunately, we were only able to have one breakfast, but Peter cooked and the food was truly wonderful. Peter is a very accommodating host, and our experience at his B&B was nothing short of 5 stars. Believe the reviews.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.