We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoiled!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall and Winter Speciial
Ranked #3 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spoiled!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Peter was born to do this. Great accommodation, terrific company and incredible food. This is why Boogaard's is Amsterdam's best B&B. My wife and I were lucky to have spent four nights there, before going on a Viking River Cruise. If your smart don't look anywhere else.
All the best, Gary and Linda

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
537
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were so lucky to find this special B&B in Amsterdam. All the rooms are beautifully appointed and newly remodeled. Everything is kept so clean and comfortable. The breakfasts and snacks are amazing. Peter helped us with dinner recommendations and reservations and was a fantastic host. He and this B&B set a high bar. We'd definitely stay there again for another Amsterdam visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were so fortunate to have found this fabulous B&B. We stay at B&B's a lot and this is one of the nicest we have stayed at in a long time. The host, Peter welcomes you into his house like you are part of his family. He made us the greatest breakfasts and afternoon treats. The traditional dutch breakfast was awesome! And the homemade chocolate covered cream puffs were decadent. The bed was very comfortable as well as the pillows. The bathroom was spacious and we were able to take a bath in the huge Dutch bathtub after walking all day. The rooms are beautifully decorated and luxurious. The B&B is in a great location. You can walk to everything or take a tram or train anywhere. We took a train from the airport to Central Station and then walked to the B&B. Our only regret is that the B&B is not closer for us to stay more often. Thank you Peter for opening your home to guests around the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent a week during the April tulip season in Peter's home. We had a marvelous time. The B&B is beautifully appointed, newly remodeled. Peter is a fantastic host in so many ways. I'll try to list them. He treats his guests like family. He cooks these amazing breakfasts - have you ever had "uitsmijter"? Never like Peter's! He gauges your interests and makes "on-the-mark" suggestions for travel and restaurants. We've never eaten better in a European city. More than than, Peter is a wonderful, magnanimous person and very entertaining. He even does your laundry! If at all possible, try to stay at Boogaard's. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Peter was a marvelous host for our first trip to Amsterdam. He was helpful prior to arrival and while we were there with recommendations for dinner, provision of umbrellas, printing of boarding passes. Best of all, the B & B was very clean and comfortable - as long as one can climb stairs, and the breakfasts were incredible. Never needed lunch. Everyone always joined together to share breakfast and discuss the previous day or the current day's plans. The location was easy to find and within walking distance of Central Station. Our room was quiet, the bed was very comfortable and had everything we needed. A laptop was available in the room. I would recommend this B & B to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Where to start? A perfect location, easily walkable from the train. This is a new place, opened in March and with fewer rooms than Peter's previous b&b--only 3 in high season and down to 2 in the winter. The whole place was completely renovated in January and February, so it's pretty brand new. It's a lovely little place on a very quiet street (in spite of the proximity to Dam Square) and at the same time in the center, so nothing is really far away. It's hard to describe how Peter's personality and his generosity and genuineness just draws you in--the abundant custom-cooked breakfasts, the little homebaked treats left for you in the fridge outside your room, the super helpfulness with tours and restaurants and train tickets--not to mention the interesting conversations and two adorable Jack Russell terriers. (It helps to be a dog lover.) Impeccable newly done bedrooms tastefully decorated (in dog themes to celebrate Peter and Tomasz's pups) with plenty of modern amenities and storage for your things. Not huge, but we're in Amsterdam where none of the charming old buildings are really spacious and it's kind of amazing how well they've used the space. Others have said it, but you feel like a welcome guest in their family and that Peter is perhaps your mom. Don't sign up if you can't climb some stairs or you don't like dogs, but you'll be missing something. A great value too.

Room Tip: Both rooms looked great--but we liked our Jack Russell room with the separate space for a desk and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Fantastic location around the corner from Dam Square. Spacious room that had everything we could possibly need. But as others have said, the best part is Peter, the perfect host. He really does have his finger on the pulse of everything going on in the city. Breakfasts were out of this world (homemade croissants, apple turnovers, quiches) and afternoon treats were very special. All his restaurant recommendations were excellent. He did laundry for us also.
Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.