We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special
Ranked #2 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Amsterdam and I must say that our 6-night stay at Boogard's at their new location on Pieter Jacobszstraat made our vacation more special and memorable. Peter really went out of his way to cater to our needs and make sure we were enjoying our stay in his lovely city. It was very evident that Peter enjoys sharing his home with guests and providing the best service at his B&B. He extends you the warmest welcome, like you're a distant relative he's trying to get to know better. Peter even gave us souvenir gifts to take home with us, really sweet!
I will definitely recommend to my family and friends to stay nowhere else but Boogard's when traveling to Amsterdam. Here are my reasons why:
1. Service
Peter was such a gracious host. Despite other personal matters that needed his immediate attention, he made sure our needs were taken care of. Upon arrival, there were chocolate covered cream puffs and muffins for us to snack on after a long flight. The mini fridge is always well stocked with beer and soda.
Every breakfast was different and very delicious - we had Dutch pancakes with 20 toppings and home made apple compote and fresh bananas one day, then two different kinds of quiche the next day, freshly-baked croissants, apple turnovers and bread the following day... and everyday there was cereal and yogurt, jams, fresh fruit, great coffee and orange juice. When you return at the end of the day, there is baked treat waiting for you - an apple brioche, mocha cake, etc. He also takes time to chat with you at the end of the day, ask how your day went and what your plans are for the next day.
Peter would also give us tips and advice on the best way of getting around to the places we wanted to visit. His tips on the best places to have dinner were all spot on. He provided several maps and Amsterdam travel guides in the room. There are also umbrellas for you to use in case it rains. There are so many little touches that Peter thought of - such as providing a complete set of toiletries, a hair dryer, and even a night light in the bathroom.
2. Value
The breakfasts were so filling that we were kept full all the way through dinner. That saved us money because we didn't need to eat out for lunch. We would take some of the baked goods from the previous day so we can snack in the afternoon while walking in Vondelpark or while on a trip to Keukenhof or Zaanse Schans. He gave us a bottle of Prosecco and cheeses, sausage, prosciutto and olives which we can take for a picnic or simply snack on at night. You definitely get more than your money's worth if you stay at Boogard's.
3. Sleep Quality
We stayed in the Pug room which is the right size for me and my husband. The queen size bed was very comfortable with lots of big pillows which I love. If you're the type who can't have enough pillows, this will fit the bill.
4. Cleanliness
The B&B was recently renovated, very clean. You get daily cleaning services. Peter even had our laundry done for free!
5. Location
The B&B is located on a quiet street, just off Nes, a block away from lively Damstraat, 2 blocks from Dam Square, and a 10 minute walk to Centraal Station. The Red Light district is several blocks away, but you don't really notice it when walking to and from the B&B. You can take many alternate streets if you feel the need to avoid the Red Light district.
6. Rooms
We stayed in the Pug room which had a comfortable sitting area by the window, a TV, and computer. There is free wifi, which is great. After a long day of walking around Amsterdam, we would take drinks from the mini-fridge, or make coffee from the mini bar area and sit in the bedroom while snacking on a new baked treat Peter prepared for us while catching up on the days' news on TV. The room had big bright windows facing the street. There are window shades and heavy curtains for privacy.
Nobody does it like Boogard's B&B - just book your stay here and it will definitely surpass all your expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
501
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I picked Amsterdam as my FIRST trip to Europe and was told that the only true way to get the complete experience was to stay at Boogaards! All I can say is "WOW!". They were right! Despite traveling 4000 miles to Amsterdam, they made me feel right at home from the moment I walked through the door.

The Jack Russell suite was more than comfortable for the two of us AND our two big suitcases, and carry-ons. The extended space with a desk and lamp was a nice touch. It proved more than helpful when organizing all of our maps and accessing the free wi-fi and lap top. There were plenty of outlets that kept our phones and cameras charged. The extra long dresser allowed us to unpack our suitcases and make good use of the generous drawer space. Two comfy leather chairs sit in front of the fireplace and really provided a nice place to set a cup of tasty coffee, snack on a quick breakfast muffin and plan the day!

It is located in the heart of it all! A short 10 minute walk to Central Station and only a hop skip and a jump to Dam Square. From there, your options are endless! The local Tram literally takes you from one end of the city to the other where you can absolutely get lost in the beauty of the city's museums, open air markets and canal front bistros. The location couldn't be better! Boogard's is a soft spot to land after a long day of sight seeing, wine/cheese tasting and canal touring.

I had looked at many other B&Bs in the area and honestly, I would never stay anywhere but Boogards. Thank you Peter and Thomas, and Curly and Pepe for making my first time a memorable one. I promise to be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I traveled to Amsterdam with my 16 yr old son for his spring break. We returned to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast after having a wonderful stay there last year. In the meantime, Peter bought and built a new bed and breakfast. The location could not be more central to all that Amsterdam offers. You'll find the trams less than 5 minutes walk from the B&B. The Jordaan is about 10 minutes walk. There are restaurants galore closeby. Peter offers restaurant recommendations based on your preferences and we have not gone wrong following those recommendations. The B&B rooms are on the 2nd floor and you will walk up a flight of stairs, typical of any old Amsterdam home, but Peter is more than happy to carry your bags for you. The decor is beautiful. He has thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. Each room even has its own laptop so you can leave yours at home! Once again, the breakfasts were "to die for". He is a wonderful cook, uses fresh local ingredients for cooking. You will enjoy typical Dutch breakfasts, yum!!! I'll be back!

Room Tip: Jack Russell room overlooks rooftops, Pug room overlooks street view. Jack Russell room also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I recently traveled for work to Amsterdam March 8th-16th and was so incredibly happy to stay with Peter and Thomas at their new place! I have stayed several times with them at their old address and was a bit unsure as to how I would like the new place but from the moment I stepped in the door I knew our stay would be nothing less than amazing..... and it was!!

The B&B is near the Dam Square but by the noise level-day and night- you would NEVER know it. SO very quiet and peaceful. The house itself was done with meticulous detail - beautiful craftsmanship and so well thought out! This is not surprising since Peter is wonderfully conscientious of every little detail, from the bedding, to the decor, to the much appreciated touches of leaving you snacks and beverages in your fridge (he pays attention to what you eat and always makes sure you are stocked!). The bedroom we took was the JRT room, and it was more than spacious- lots of room for 2 who always overpack! The bathroom was incredible- always clean and always fresh towels that smelled like they just came from the dryer. There is of course the great company of Peter and the boys (2 lovely terriers who you will fall in love with)- Peter is a wealth of information, and sent us to many of our new favorite places in the city! Overall I truly can't recommend this place enough - for fun, for work, for any reason you should find yourself fortunate enough to be in the great city of Amsterdam! Stay with Peter and Boogaards and you will NOT be disappointed-- in fact, you will likely find yourself hating to leave! I look forward to my stay here at Boogaard's next year!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had read so much about Peter's amazing breakfasts that was a bit disappointed when, after sending an enquiry about the B&B, Peter informed me that it was booked out, but that the apartment was available. After much deliberating my friends and I (we were two couples travelling together) decided to book the apartment; at least that way we could be together, but still have the added bonus of having our own room with private ensuite.

After spending the few weeks beforehand shopping at the German Christmas markets we had some serious, heavy luggage, but found that it was a very easy and pleasant walk to the B&B from the train station. It was almost NYE and Amsterdam was a mad house, teeming with people, but as soon as we turned into the street that Boogaards is on it was as though we had entered a little tunnel of tranquility. The location of the apartment is second to none.

Peter's welcome was out of this world. He is a full on, passionate, kind fellow with a big personality and a big heart (and as we found out upon departure, great big bear hugs to boot!). Upon arrival he explained everything about the apartment (which had thoughtful, festive touches in the way of lovely Christmas decorations) and also showed us his living quarters upstairs. He is obviously very proud of the home and so he should be; the restoration of the old building is very impressive.

Peter stressed that he was always available should we ever need him, but he was never intrusive. He encouraged us to join him for coffee downstairs whenever we wanted to, but unfortunately we never got around to it. Nonetheless he managed to share his amazing life story with us, a story that is really worth listening to.

The apartment was spotless and the bed and bedding was so comfortable that I wanted to sleep all day long. Although our room faced the street it was very quiet.

Peter had stocked the fridge with sparkling wine, beer, cheese, meat, eggs and other breakfast goodies so that we could make our own breakfasts (which we did every morning). He also left us some cupcakes and some home made tiramisu (and whipped cream in the fridge!) which was just awesome. The apartment also allowed us to self cater for dinner - it was actually really nice to have the little kitchen available and we certainly made the most of it. Peter suggested some nearby restaurants; we had dinner at "Seasons" which was mind blowingly good (at that stage the best restaurant of our month long trip, only surpassed by L'Ange 20 in Paris a few days later)...

I could wax lyrical about Boogaard's - it is certainly one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in and I simply cannot recommend it highly enough. The level of service that Peter offers is very rare indeed and he deserves every single one of the accolades on Tripadvisor. Don't even consider staying anywhere else if you're planning a visit to Amsterdam... Boogaard's is the best of the best!

Thank you so much Peter for your incredible hospitality. Wishing you health and every happiness for the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We recently rented the apartment with a couple of friends last month. Peter the owner made us feel right at home even baking some wonderful Tiramisu for us to indulge on. The home is located in a really quiet area and so close to the train station with only a brief walk to some wonderful restaurants and all the local nightlife. This place although you do have to tackle some stair climbing to your room, is certainly worth the stay. We really loved both the location and the hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My BFF Kate and I stayed at Boogaards on both of our first trips to Amsterdam. We brought too much luggage and it was a long, narrow sclepp up the stairs to our room. Peter was there to help along with the two wonderful Jack Russell Terriers that lived there, too. The kitchen was not finished (November 2001) so every morning Peter had fresh pastries, coffee and tea for breakfast with a reduction in our room rate for our inconvenience. My.first grandchild had been born in Amsterdam on October 1 and Peter helped us with directions, taxi savvy, places to see and we spent time with Peter going places in Amsterdam, shopping and just chatting. I love Peter. He is a wonderful host and I am sorry I missed the wonderful breakfasts. I highly recommend Boogaards. Glenda E.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor, front room with big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.