We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay anywhere else while in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€115 (EUR)
Ranked #2 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else while in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had read so much about Peter's amazing breakfasts that was a bit disappointed when, after sending an enquiry about the B&B, Peter informed me that it was booked out, but that the apartment was available. After much deliberating my friends and I (we were two couples travelling together) decided to book the apartment; at least that way we could be together, but still have the added bonus of having our own room with private ensuite.

After spending the few weeks beforehand shopping at the German Christmas markets we had some serious, heavy luggage, but found that it was a very easy and pleasant walk to the B&B from the train station. It was almost NYE and Amsterdam was a mad house, teeming with people, but as soon as we turned into the street that Boogaards is on it was as though we had entered a little tunnel of tranquility. The location of the apartment is second to none.

Peter's welcome was out of this world. He is a full on, passionate, kind fellow with a big personality and a big heart (and as we found out upon departure, great big bear hugs to boot!). Upon arrival he explained everything about the apartment (which had thoughtful, festive touches in the way of lovely Christmas decorations) and also showed us his living quarters upstairs. He is obviously very proud of the home and so he should be; the restoration of the old building is very impressive.

Peter stressed that he was always available should we ever need him, but he was never intrusive. He encouraged us to join him for coffee downstairs whenever we wanted to, but unfortunately we never got around to it. Nonetheless he managed to share his amazing life story with us, a story that is really worth listening to.

The apartment was spotless and the bed and bedding was so comfortable that I wanted to sleep all day long. Although our room faced the street it was very quiet.

Peter had stocked the fridge with sparkling wine, beer, cheese, meat, eggs and other breakfast goodies so that we could make our own breakfasts (which we did every morning). He also left us some cupcakes and some home made tiramisu (and whipped cream in the fridge!) which was just awesome. The apartment also allowed us to self cater for dinner - it was actually really nice to have the little kitchen available and we certainly made the most of it. Peter suggested some nearby restaurants; we had dinner at "Seasons" which was mind blowingly good (at that stage the best restaurant of our month long trip, only surpassed by L'Ange 20 in Paris a few days later)...

I could wax lyrical about Boogaard's - it is certainly one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in and I simply cannot recommend it highly enough. The level of service that Peter offers is very rare indeed and he deserves every single one of the accolades on Tripadvisor. Don't even consider staying anywhere else if you're planning a visit to Amsterdam... Boogaard's is the best of the best!

Thank you so much Peter for your incredible hospitality. Wishing you health and every happiness for the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    718
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
479
34
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We recently rented the apartment with a couple of friends last month. Peter the owner made us feel right at home even baking some wonderful Tiramisu for us to indulge on. The home is located in a really quiet area and so close to the train station with only a brief walk to some wonderful restaurants and all the local nightlife. This place although you do have to tackle some stair climbing to your room, is certainly worth the stay. We really loved both the location and the hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My BFF Kate and I stayed at Boogaards on both of our first trips to Amsterdam. We brought too much luggage and it was a long, narrow sclepp up the stairs to our room. Peter was there to help along with the two wonderful Jack Russell Terriers that lived there, too. The kitchen was not finished (November 2001) so every morning Peter had fresh pastries, coffee and tea for breakfast with a reduction in our room rate for our inconvenience. My.first grandchild had been born in Amsterdam on October 1 and Peter helped us with directions, taxi savvy, places to see and we spent time with Peter going places in Amsterdam, shopping and just chatting. I love Peter. He is a wonderful host and I am sorry I missed the wonderful breakfasts. I highly recommend Boogaards. Glenda E.

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd floor, front room with big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Boogaard's in March 2011. Why it has taken me so long to leave a review is beyond me. Peter was an amazing host. We arrived early, so Peter stored our luggage and gave us directions to the location of our bike tour. When we officially checked in and got settled, Peter already had dinner reservations arranged for us at Seasons (phenomenal!) We stayed in the Pug room, which was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We shared a common sitting room and kitchen with another couple. I read many reviews of Peter's breakfasts, but nothing could have prepared me for what we experienced. Amazing! In the afternoons we would return to a baked treat to snack on. We checked out very early to continue our vacation in Paris, and Peter had fresh fruit and homemade bread pudding waiting for us in our refrigerator. We would definitely stay at Boogaard's again. We have to come check out the new location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Boogaard's for three nights in December 2013 and were very happy with our choice. The room and sitting area were clean and comfortable, the home was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and the breakfasts were superb! We enjoyed visiting with Peter, the wonderful host, who gave us helpful information about how to get places we wanted to go and where to eat. He also provided us with champagne to celebrate my recent retirement! The location was great for getting around and it was on a quiet street. We loved the neighborhood and being able to walk to good restaurants. We would highly recommend staying at Boogaard's and will stay there again if we are ever in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Boogaard's over this past Christmas and it was outstanding in every way. Peter was a great host, from his delicious breakfasts to his unsurpassed knowledge of Amsterdam. We routinely sat at breakfast for over an hour, luxuriating over the food and delighting in the company of Peter and the other guests. Peter gave us great dining tips and enough sense of direction that we took public transportation or walked everywhere in the city.

The room we had was very comfortable, clean and quiet and to top it off there was always a great baked good to return to after a long day touring Amsterdam.

We will only stay at Boogard's on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at Boogaard's B&B for 7 nights and enjoyed everything about it. The location was great making it easy to get anywhere in the city. Peter was the perfect host, a great cook, and very helpful. Every morning we had a large wonderful breakfast and every afternoon Peter would make sure we had a pastry treat. Peter and Tom both went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam. We would definitely stay at Boogaard's again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list