We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Our Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, Amsterdam 1012 HL, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Lodi, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Boogaard's in March 2011. Why it has taken me so long to leave a review is beyond me. Peter was an amazing host. We arrived early, so Peter stored our luggage and gave us directions to the location of our bike tour. When we officially checked in and got settled, Peter already had dinner reservations arranged for us at Seasons (phenomenal!) We stayed in the Pug room, which was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. We shared a common sitting room and kitchen with another couple. I read many reviews of Peter's breakfasts, but nothing could have prepared me for what we experienced. Amazing! In the afternoons we would return to a baked treat to snack on. We checked out very early to continue our vacation in Paris, and Peter had fresh fruit and homemade bread pudding waiting for us in our refrigerator. We would definitely stay at Boogaard's again. We have to come check out the new location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    697
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
467
32
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sequim, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Boogaard's for three nights in December 2013 and were very happy with our choice. The room and sitting area were clean and comfortable, the home was beautifully decorated for Christmas, and the breakfasts were superb! We enjoyed visiting with Peter, the wonderful host, who gave us helpful information about how to get places we wanted to go and where to eat. He also provided us with champagne to celebrate my recent retirement! The location was great for getting around and it was on a quiet street. We loved the neighborhood and being able to walk to good restaurants. We would highly recommend staying at Boogaard's and will stay there again if we are ever in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Boogaard's over this past Christmas and it was outstanding in every way. Peter was a great host, from his delicious breakfasts to his unsurpassed knowledge of Amsterdam. We routinely sat at breakfast for over an hour, luxuriating over the food and delighting in the company of Peter and the other guests. Peter gave us great dining tips and enough sense of direction that we took public transportation or walked everywhere in the city.

The room we had was very comfortable, clean and quiet and to top it off there was always a great baked good to return to after a long day touring Amsterdam.

We will only stay at Boogard's on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at Boogaard's B&B for 7 nights and enjoyed everything about it. The location was great making it easy to get anywhere in the city. Peter was the perfect host, a great cook, and very helpful. Every morning we had a large wonderful breakfast and every afternoon Peter would make sure we had a pastry treat. Peter and Tom both went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam. We would definitely stay at Boogaard's again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We rented the apartment of the B&B for the five of us. It doesn't come with the 'breakfast' part of B&B (we knew that ahead of time, no surprise there); however, the kitchen of the apartment was very well stocked allowing us to easily fend for ourselves without needing to go shopping.
The owner, Peter, was very nice and helpful when we needed to ask for directions or pointers on where to go, see, and eat. He directed us to some very nice restaurants nearby. He was very helpful with other questions that we had as well. When we first arrived he gave us the grand tour of the entire building and his renovations; a very interesting insight into Amsterdam housing!
The only vague drawback was perhaps street noise; but that isn't really a specific problem with this establishment. Even just a few pedestrians talking loudly would be noticeable. But this was very intermittent and frankly easily overlooked.
The beds were very comfortable; the sitting area of the apartment was very nice; did I mention the well stocked kitchen? The rooms were very clean. The location is an easy walk from the train station (about 10-15 minutes). It was also within walking distance of many attractions itself, or rather close to public transit lines (i.e. back to the train station area).
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The apartment was on the 1st floor (i.e. 2nd story); the actual B&B rooms were on the next/2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Four of us stayed at the apartment of Peter Boogaard for 4 wonderful nights. The reviews that we read before booking this B&B are totally right - this is a brilliant place, with excellent personal service by the owner himself. Although we were in the apartment, and not in the bed and breakfast rooms, we still got lots of goodies in the fridge, additional cakes, a welcome drink - all as a genuine welcoming gesture.
The house itself was stunning with loads of christmas decorations, lights, and more. A real festive spirit to start our pre-Christmas holiday.
The apartment is totally equipped with everything you may need, and the beds have more cushions than you can cope with - a real "plus" for my wife. We all cuddled up on the chairs and sofa each evening, as if we were in our own living room.
Peter's knowledge of Amsterdam is better than any guidebook we read (he has lots of them stacked on shelves in the living room), and you should ask him about Indonesian restaurants - fabulous!
What else can we say? Just go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at boorgaard's in November 2013. Our host peter is a lovely man who made us feel very welcome.

He baked us some lovely breakfasts such as home made croissants.

The bedrooms were nice and a reasonable size for a 400 year old building in Amsterdam. Loved the sitting room between the 2 bedrooms as well. If you're lucky, you can meet Peter and tom's badger!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, Amsterdam 1012 HL, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list