We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, Amsterdam 1012 HL, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“This is our style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wow - we really landed on our feet with this choice from the internet. The B&B Boogaards is owned and operated by Peter Boogaard who is the loveliest landlord ever. The building is situated in a quiet street (we rarely saw any cars going through), and consists of a 2-bedroom apartment which can also be rented as 2 B&B rooms, then there are another 2 B&B rooms upstairs. It is about a 10 minute walk to Dam Square, and just a few minutes to great restaurants. To say the rooms are exquisitely and tastefully decorated is an understatement, and soooooo comfortable. We had the 2-bedroom apartment which comes complete with a full kitchen, and I mean a FULL kitchen - complete with food, drinks, cleaning products etc etc. We have never stayed anywhere before that has been so thoughtfully outfitted. Peter can't do enough for you, and will advise on restaurants, attractions etc. The steps up to the rooms may be a problem for anyone physically challenged. We absolutely loved this place and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    714
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
478
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Boogaard’s is undoubtedly the best B&B I've stayed at. Peter is the consummate host, making you feel like you’re part of the family from the moment you arrive. The house is an easy 5-10 minute walk from Centraal Station on a quiet street between two beautiful canals, and a 20 minute walk from the Bloemenmarkt and all the major sights.
Peter’s attention to detail really sets Boogaard’s apart. He goes above and beyond to ensure his guests’ comfort. The house is spotless and our bed in the Pug room was large and comfortable. All of the amenities you could want are provided: laundry service, a guest fridge stocked with drinks, afternoon treats baked by Peter himself, toiletries in the bathroom, and the incredible breakfast each morning. I could go on and on…
Peter was so helpful with information for things to do, restaurant recommendations, and even booked reservations for us. Everyone we encountered at Boogaard’s was warm and friendly. Chatting with Peter and hearing about his life was one of my favorite things about our stay. He really has a gift for making you feel like you’re visiting an old friend - without being intrusive on your privacy while staying.
You really must go and experience Boogaard’s for yourself! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I cannot say enough about Peter and his second-to-none service and friendliness. This is the best B&B my wife and I have ever stayed in. The day we arrived, after a long flight, Peter let us drop off our bags since it was still too early to check in. When we came back later, Peter offered to launder our clothes for us and place them in our room the next morning. I have never had that offered anywhere else. Peter also stocks a refrigerator with cold drinks, even a few beers, at no extra charge. He also makes a special dessert each afternoon that is kept in a dish near the room that you can enjoy after your day of sightseeing. Just when I started thinking it couldn't get much better, Peter makes breakfast each morning, completely from scratch, and he's an excellent cook! One morning we had ham and cheese croissants, chocolate croissants, fresh fruit etc. Another morning we had Dutch pancakes with about 25 different toppings to choose from, and I'm not exaggerating. Peter even took the time to show us where he and his partner live inside the building, I have never had that offered before. Other touches like a razor and toothpaste in your bathroom really just ice the already delicious cake here. I cannot recommend this place highly enough if you are staying overnight in Amsterdam. Book early, it's popular for a reason!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Boogaards B&B in Amsterdam is the ideal home away from home! Peter is friendly, resourceful,
helpful and a great cook! His B&B is in an ideal location, the rooms are comfortable and clean with all the necessary items you may have forgotten. The location is quiet and easy to find, but close to anything you might want or need!! This is among our favorite B&B's ever!!! If we should ever get back to Amsterdam, Boogaards will be our first stop!
Ralph and Carolyn, California

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I just finished a three city European trip. In each city we stayed at a B&B. I guess it was appropriate that we saved the best for last.

The Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast is certainly in a league of it's own. The quality of the host, building, service, breakfast, accommodation, etc, was top notch from our greeting and introduction to Peter's home to our departure, with presents. Any subsequent B&Bs are going to have a hard act to follow.

The rooms are very comfortable. Everything you need is provided. Outside each pair of rooms is a common lounge with coffee and tea available as well as the afternoon baked goods and comfortable lounge chairs. The morning (included) breakfast is anything but continental. You are provided with more hot and cold foods, juices, coffee, tea, etc than you could possible eat. Most freshly prepared by your host. Forget lunch. You will easily be full until supper. Aside from the great food at breakfast was the opportunity to talk to other guests, Peter and locals about our plans for the day. They usually had great recommendations.

Peter provides excellent tips on seeing the city, transportation around the city and other destinations and restaurants. All three of his dinner recommendations were close to the B&B and great. He even made the reservations for us.

My only negative comment would be that the stairs are steep and prohibitive for some. I would have been more concerned if I hadn't just come from two other B&Bs, in London and Brussels, that had the same type of stairs. It's Europe folks. That's how houses were built.

The Boogaard is located between two of the most picturesque canals you can find. It is a quiet residential area that is extremely safe and quiet. You are a short walk to the Central train station, shopping, coffee shops and markets. The Anne Frank Museum is a short ten minute walk away along a beautiful canal.

I have no hesitation giving Peter and the Boogaard B&B my highest recommendation. What a great way to end the trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if the talk set of stairs will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Boogaard's website uses the slogan 'worth writing home about' and that just about sums it up. We could not fault the stunning accommodation, position and service. Peter is the ultimate host, offering sound advice, enthusiastic conversation and warm hospitality. And let us not forget his skills in the kitchen! Breakfasts are a true treat with surprises at every turn. Luckily walking is a pleasure in beautiful Amsterdam and we didn't feel too wicked tucking into the culinary delights. Thank you, Peter, for a most amazing stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Amsterdam thanks to our stay at Boogaards.
Peter was a wonderful host and made us feel like we were part of the family from the outset.
Nothing was too much trouble. We have never stayed anywhere quite like Boogaards - we loved it. We stayed in the Pug Room on the third floor - the stairs are quite steep but we did not find them a problem. The bedroom had a lovely shared sitting room with a small kitchen. Tea/coffee were laid out for us to help ourselves together with soft drinks left in the fridge. There was also homemade cakes - a lovely surprise.
The breakfasts cooked by Peter were delicious and very filling. It was a very enjoyable start to the day sitting around the kitchen table chatting and being entertained by the very well behaved dogs - Peppe & Curly. We could not manage to eat one of the two quiches Peter had made for breakfast on our first morning's stay - Peter wrapped it up for us to put in our fridge and we had it for lunch later on in the day with a glass of wine - delicious.
Peter also recommended restaurants where we could eat in the evenings - one of which was an Indonesian Restaurant which we really enjoyed. Peter booked this one for us (the restaurant were turning people away who hadn't booked).
GUIDED TOUR - My husband and I booked a 3 hour walking guided tour of the city with a local man - Martin Ribbens. We booked this tour through Boogaard's website. Martin is a very knowledgeable, amusing guide and we thought well worth the money. We would have missed so much if we had not taken this tour. The three hours flew by! You can have a full day tour which includes the Rijks Museum but we had unfortunately already booked tickets for this Museum before we booked the walking tour.
A memorable trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, Amsterdam 1012 HL, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list