We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special
Ranked #4 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Boogaards B&B in Amsterdam is the ideal home away from home! Peter is friendly, resourceful,
helpful and a great cook! His B&B is in an ideal location, the rooms are comfortable and clean with all the necessary items you may have forgotten. The location is quiet and easy to find, but close to anything you might want or need!! This is among our favorite B&B's ever!!! If we should ever get back to Amsterdam, Boogaards will be our first stop!
Ralph and Carolyn, California

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
501
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I just finished a three city European trip. In each city we stayed at a B&B. I guess it was appropriate that we saved the best for last.

The Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast is certainly in a league of it's own. The quality of the host, building, service, breakfast, accommodation, etc, was top notch from our greeting and introduction to Peter's home to our departure, with presents. Any subsequent B&Bs are going to have a hard act to follow.

The rooms are very comfortable. Everything you need is provided. Outside each pair of rooms is a common lounge with coffee and tea available as well as the afternoon baked goods and comfortable lounge chairs. The morning (included) breakfast is anything but continental. You are provided with more hot and cold foods, juices, coffee, tea, etc than you could possible eat. Most freshly prepared by your host. Forget lunch. You will easily be full until supper. Aside from the great food at breakfast was the opportunity to talk to other guests, Peter and locals about our plans for the day. They usually had great recommendations.

Peter provides excellent tips on seeing the city, transportation around the city and other destinations and restaurants. All three of his dinner recommendations were close to the B&B and great. He even made the reservations for us.

My only negative comment would be that the stairs are steep and prohibitive for some. I would have been more concerned if I hadn't just come from two other B&Bs, in London and Brussels, that had the same type of stairs. It's Europe folks. That's how houses were built.

The Boogaard is located between two of the most picturesque canals you can find. It is a quiet residential area that is extremely safe and quiet. You are a short walk to the Central train station, shopping, coffee shops and markets. The Anne Frank Museum is a short ten minute walk away along a beautiful canal.

I have no hesitation giving Peter and the Boogaard B&B my highest recommendation. What a great way to end the trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if the talk set of stairs will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Boogaard's website uses the slogan 'worth writing home about' and that just about sums it up. We could not fault the stunning accommodation, position and service. Peter is the ultimate host, offering sound advice, enthusiastic conversation and warm hospitality. And let us not forget his skills in the kitchen! Breakfasts are a true treat with surprises at every turn. Luckily walking is a pleasure in beautiful Amsterdam and we didn't feel too wicked tucking into the culinary delights. Thank you, Peter, for a most amazing stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Amsterdam thanks to our stay at Boogaards.
Peter was a wonderful host and made us feel like we were part of the family from the outset.
Nothing was too much trouble. We have never stayed anywhere quite like Boogaards - we loved it. We stayed in the Pug Room on the third floor - the stairs are quite steep but we did not find them a problem. The bedroom had a lovely shared sitting room with a small kitchen. Tea/coffee were laid out for us to help ourselves together with soft drinks left in the fridge. There was also homemade cakes - a lovely surprise.
The breakfasts cooked by Peter were delicious and very filling. It was a very enjoyable start to the day sitting around the kitchen table chatting and being entertained by the very well behaved dogs - Peppe & Curly. We could not manage to eat one of the two quiches Peter had made for breakfast on our first morning's stay - Peter wrapped it up for us to put in our fridge and we had it for lunch later on in the day with a glass of wine - delicious.
Peter also recommended restaurants where we could eat in the evenings - one of which was an Indonesian Restaurant which we really enjoyed. Peter booked this one for us (the restaurant were turning people away who hadn't booked).
GUIDED TOUR - My husband and I booked a 3 hour walking guided tour of the city with a local man - Martin Ribbens. We booked this tour through Boogaard's website. Martin is a very knowledgeable, amusing guide and we thought well worth the money. We would have missed so much if we had not taken this tour. The three hours flew by! You can have a full day tour which includes the Rijks Museum but we had unfortunately already booked tickets for this Museum before we booked the walking tour.
A memorable trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had the great pleasure to spend 3 fabulous nights at Boogaards B&B, Amsterdam.

Prior to booking I had failed to find a hotel in the city which suited our needs, so had turned (as always) to Trip Advisor for help, extending my search to B&B establishments. I was thrilled to discover Boogaards and read the glowing reports with interest.

My attention was paticularly taken by the two bedroomed apartment offered,as this allows for the flexibility of self catering if desired, or, due to the superb location of Boogaards, the opportunity to dine in one of the many nearby eating establishments.

On arrival we were greeted by the wonderful owner, Peter ,who is the 'host with the most'.He showed us round the entire property, including his own private accommodation, before ensuring that we were comfortable in our own apartment and familiar with where things were located and how things worked. NOTHING was too much trouble for Peter and we were encouraged to give him a shout at anytime if we needed assistance. His local knowledge was first class, as was his English having lived in the US previously.

So, the apartment.....

Such a cosy, comfortable place - it was perfect for our needs. The rooms were perfectly clean, the beds comfortable, and the linens and towels of good quality and plentiful. The bathroom was stocked with shampoo, soap, shower gel, shower caps, hand cream, wet wipes, razor, toothbrush and toothpaste! Both bedrooms have ensuite showers. In the lounge area there were umbrellas for guest use, many guidebooks and maps, AND a laptop!!!!

However, the kitchen area impressed me most of all. It was here that Peter's hospitality shone the brightest. The cutlery and crockery were good quality (matching!) and in good supply, as were the kitchen utensils, pots and pans. The was a dishwasher, large fridge with freezer compartment, gas hob, convection oven, toaster, kettle and coffee maker. The fridge was stocked with milk, soft drinks and beer, cooked meats, cheese and butter, pancakes, eggs and bacon. In addition there was cake, 3 types of bread, soups,cookies, apples and bananas, tea and coffee, and breakfast cereal - more than enough food to feed us for the entire 3 nights of our stay! But that was not all.....Peter makes suberb cakes which he places in the apartment on a daily basis. I have never met a host like Peter before, and I doubt I ever will again. These are the gestures that make a holiday feel like a real boost. As far as self catering goes this cannot be beaten - no stress of searching for shops to buy food for breakfast or dinner with a fussy 9 year old in tow. Peter truly understands the needs of his visitors and will go to any length to ensure that you have the best holiday you could have hoped for.

We hope this has helped and would not hesitate for one second to recommend that you visit for yourself and see that we were not exaggerating when we say that this place is top class..

Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Four of us stayed 3 nights as Peter's guests & had the entire third floor to ourselves. It was our favorite place to stay in our two weeks in Europe. Peter is a consummate host: breakfast is out of this world, he is a virtual tour guide, makes all of your dinner reservation, & he surprised us with a private viola & cello concert to celebrate our recent wedding in Switzerland. Remember this is a 400 year old canal row house, staircases are a bit steep!! However, his remodeling inside is very modern and comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can. Front bedroom is a bit noisier than back bedroom because it's on the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely hosts, ridiculously delicious breakfasts, exquisite mid afternoon snacks and unbelievable location! My hubs and I stayed here in March so this is way overdue, but it was so wonderful I am reviewing 6 months later! We loved it, perfect in every way. Thanks for making our trip fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.