We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal bed and breakfast experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special
Ranked #4 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Phenomenal bed and breakfast experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My college daughter and I were blessed to stay 6 days at Boogaard's. Peter goes out of his way to make sure your time at his lovely home is memorable. He is truly a host who loves what he does. We quickly figured out that one of the best things about staying here (besides the delicious and extensive breakfasts and homebaked treats every day) is Peter, himself! We loved visiting with him, learning about the city and about his life. Each morning and evening, Peter would sit with us, ask about our day, and offer suggestions of restaurants and sights not to be missed, along with directions to get there. The location of the b & b is perfect- with Peter's map and directions in hand, we were able to walk to most places we wanted to visit. Our only regret in staying here is that we couldn't stay forever!!!

Room Tip: Pug room overlooks the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
501
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are looking to relax and leisurely sightsee in Amsterdam Boogaard's B and B is the perfect place. Peter does a superb job welcoming you into the home... in fact, even before you get there he is providing information and checking on your arrival time (one tip he provided and that we heeded was to have a credit card with the chip in it... not easy to find in the US yet but we looked around on the Internet and ended up using that card all over Europe). The B and B is a short walk from the train station, and we easily did this with our small rolling suitcases. Be sure to follow the explicit directions provided.

The bedroom and bath are very comfortable - excellent bed, heat control in bedroom and bath, great shower with plenty of hot water. We had the front bedroom on the second floor (walk up flight of stairs), and it was very quiet from any street noise. Access to the living room area was a plus, and we enjoyed the kitchenette, being able to make tea/coffee as needed, use of the refrigerator with cold drinks provided by Peter, notebook computer provided, free Wi-Fi, and of course, the home baked sweet treats.

Peter provides traditional Dutch breakfasts. While this was not our typical eating style, we travel for the new experiences, especially cultural ones, and the mornings turned in to special times - having incredible homemade food and learning about the specialties in Dutch life.... as well as Peter's rich experiences.

As mentioned by others, the B and B is in a great location. We could walk everywhere and did!

If you are looking for a relaxed environment that is friendly with exceptional hospitality, Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast is it in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room... be prepared to walk up one or two flights of stairs, not a surprise in E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are going to Amsterdam and what to add to the experience by staying in a place that is a bit different to the ordinary, then look no further than Boogaard's. Our 5 night stay was an experience in its own right. Lovely clean and well serviced bedroom (we stayed at the one facing the back as it was slightly larger) It had a very comfortable bed, shower room, dressing table, large chest of drawers plus two bedside cupboards. There was a tv, sound system and hairdryer. You also get to share a lovely lounge with whoever is staying in the other room on the second floor. The lounge is extremely well appointed and includes a fridge, kettle, cups, glasses and a sink. But the key to this place is the host. Peter must be unique in the B and B business. He is without doubt one of the most dedicated hosts I have ever come across. You get a tour of the place when you arrive, he will suggest and book every restaurant that you want to eat at, he will cook lovely pastries and cakes that are available in the lounge when you return from your day out and he will stock the fridge with drinks for you. And if that isn't enough, he cooks the most amazing breakfasts. We stayed 5 nights and not once did we need to stop anywhere for lunch because we had be provided with such a vast array of food in the morning. He has 4 or 5 different "main courses" and he provides a different one each day. As well as the "main course" there is always breads, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, tea, coffee and orange juice.
The only people who should not stay here are shy, retiring types who want to hide in a corner and not speak to anyone during their vacation!!
This place is every bit as good as all the reviews that already exist. I am not on commission!

Room Tip: Both rooms on the second floor are good. The rear one is slightly bigger but has no view (not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Peter's B&B, the first time having been in 2011. We like this place so much that we booked our return flight this year from Amsterdam so we could enjoy the breakfasts and the hospitality of this very fine place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A stay at Boogaard's Bed & Breakfast will turn a good visit to Amsterdam into a GREAT visit! Very clean, tastefully decorated, perfect location with fabulous breakfasts and an exceptional host. Peter goes out of his way to provide hospitality that is second to none. He sincerely wants you to enjoy your vacation or visit to Amsterdam. He provides great recommendations on restaurants so be sure to take his advice, you will NOT be disappointed. He also provides maps and helpful tips regarding must see hidden gems and how best to get there. Peter went above and beyond as our host last July. When he learned how interested we were in the Oympics, he invited my wife and I up to his apartment to watch the Olympic opening ceremonies on his large screen LED, 3-D television. An absolute must stay for anyone visiting Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Exceptional apartment, very clean and central. Great hospitality and lovely homemade cakes. Would definitely stay there again. Very close (walking distance) from train station and Anne Frank House. Quiet location, near to nice restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here in-between Christmas & New Years 2009 (I can't believe I did not review Peter's place any earlier and even though it states "December 2012" below, we didn't travel here then. Trip Advisor did not give us the option of 2009).

This is, hands down, the BEST Bed & Breakfast that I have ever stayed at.

Ever.

And that is saying a lot.

Peter, the owner of this establishment, is the most gracious host that I have met to date. He was extremely welcoming, friendly and absolutely helpful regarding anything and everything we could have inquired about. In fact, he would advise us on things that we hadn't even thought of!

The breakfast, ah, the breakfast... was outstanding. In fact, my wife and I still dream about his homemade dutch pancakes, the 8 million scrumptious toppings that he put together (especially the apple topping) and of course, the amazing bacon.

Wow.

Words can't describe how delicious this breakfast was. In fact, the food kept us full until at least 9pm and we only consumed a light dinner because we were still not that hungry.

We stayed in the Jack Russell room and found out a little too late (because the room was already taken) that they have a "Pug" room . You see, my wife is a Pug fanatic, as is Peter, and they both bonded over this breed of canine. The room was perfect and we both slept like rocks.

The snacks that Peter provided were fantastic as well! You will never go hungry here...

All in all, while Amsterdam is not our favorite city in the world, we will be back ONLY to stay with Peter because staying at Boogaard's is absolutely worth a trip in itself. And we look forward to staying here again soon.

This is a Five Star B & B all the way. 100%.

Thank you Peter for everything and I apologize for such a late review.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.