We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boogaard's B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Dunnellon, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Boogaard's B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent three nights at the "two bedroom apartment" with friends. The apartment, with it's common area, was magnificent. Peter/Tom stock the refrigerator with beer, soda, eggs, cold cuts, milk and juice, everything you would need. Peter was very helpful in assisting us with tourist attractions, restaurant reservations, and some history of the city. Our trip was amazing, and we need to credit both Peter and Tom with making it "PERFECT"!!

Room Tip: Choose either their B&B rooms, or the two bedroom apartment. They both are very nice. The locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
526
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, NH
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Boogards was a gorgeous, comfortable B&B in a convenient and fun area of Amsterdam. Peter is a great cook and I was sad to have to miss breakfast on my last morning due to an early flight. Generously, Peter packed me a delicious breakfast to go. He even packed one for my friend who was staying in a nearby hotel because Boogaards was already booked. I can't recommend this B&B enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Boogaard's as a beginning of our European adventure. Peter was super in his restaurant suggestions, directions/cost saving method of coming to his B&B from the airport (8.6 Euros for two to take train from airport to Central then walk to the B&B), suggestions of what to do and where to go - this is all above and beyond being a great host and super cook. I was saddened by him telling us what to expect (after we were gone) for a snack later in the day and then breakfast the next day - if we weren't committed in our arrangements, we might have stayed on. The B&B is well situated and we walked to all the tourist sites. In addition, we saved money by packing up the breakfast leftovers for our lunches! Had a great stay and would recommend it to one and all.

Room Tip: No preferences, although the Pug room on the third floor had a view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I can't recommend Boogaard's B&B highly enough. We were approx 3 weeks into a 6 week trip of Europe and had stayed in a few nice places as recommended by Trip Advisor but our stay here was incredible. The room was a great size and we had a shared living area with one other couple with a self contained kitchen, laptop and plenty of things to eat and drink. The baking Peter did for us during the day was so good we found ourselves venturing back in the middle of the day to stop for a quick bite in between sights. Peter was so helpful with what to do, how to get there and when to do it. Peter and Tom were so approachable and perfect hosts. The attention to detail was amazing.We were even able to get our washing done there (for free) and that was a great help for us. Peter even went to the trouble of checking us in for our flight the following morning, booking us a taxi (at a reduced rate) and packing us lunch for the next day. The breakfasts were a highlight of the trip and I only wished we could have stayed longer. Look forward to coming back soon!

Room Tip: They're all amazing, the place is on a quiet street so no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Boogaard's in early October. We already had high hopes for the place after reading reviews on TripAdvisor, but we were still surprised at how amazing our stay at Boogaard's B&B was!

Finding the B&B was not difficult, as it was only a 10 minute walk from the central train station. Upon arrival, Peter took us on a tour of the house and explained everything we needed to know about our stay. We met his very well-behaved dogs, who were quiet and obedient (they were never in the guest areas, but they would join us in breakfast room in the mornings). He then marked out places of interest on a map, and helped us make reservations at a local restaurant. There are many stairs in the B&B, but that wasn't an issue for us.

The room we stayed in was comfortable, with a true Queen-sized mattress (not two twins pushed together), tv, dresser, night tables, and an ensuite bathroom. The shared living room felt very warm and welcoming, with some free snacks and drinks available. Laundry was offered to us several times during our stay, and it came back promptly and neatly folded.

The two best parts of Boogaard's, however, were Peter and his amazing breakfast. Over the three days we were there, three different types of breakfasts were prepared for us. We would eat at one table with other guests, where we would all chat and share our stories. Peter was very welcoming and entertaining, with great stories of his life and of Amsterdam.

Overall, Boogaard's was outstanding! My husband and I had no complaints about our stay and enjoyed every minute of it. It was well worth the price we paid. Should we ever make it back to Amsterdam, we would not hesitate to stay at Boogaard's again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at many fine B&Bs over the years, both in Europe and the USA, and we can honestly say that Boogaard’s is the best that we have ever encountered. Peter is an exceptional host – a brilliant conversationalist open in every way about his fascinating life story, justifiably proud of the beautiful home that he and Tom have renovated and opened to travelers, interested in hearing about the lives of his guests, helpful in every way about ensuring that those staying at Boogaard’s get all that they can from their stay in Amsterdam, and did I mention an extraordinary cook? His breakfasts are second to none – feasts for the traveler. The sweets he prepares and leaves available for his guests after a long day of sightseeing are welcome and delightful. The design of the B&B floor of the house with 2 rooms on either side of a wonderful lounge with wet bar (and access to a laptop) is genius, and the bedrooms themselves are beyond comfortable. All we can say is thank you Peter for a beautiful start to our European adventure. After 5 nights with Peter, Tom, Pepe and Curly, we certainly moved on with wonderful memories of our time spent in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent three nights in the apartment at Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast. What a great place!! We did not want to leave. We arrived in Amsterdam by train and walked to the B and B. it is a very short walk and really easy to find with Peter's excellent directions. We were greeted by Wilma, the housekeeper. She was very nice and very eager to show us around and made sure all of our needs were met. The apartment is located on the second floor of the house. It is absolutely beautiful, very clean and extremely well kept. It has 2 very good sized bedrooms with extremely comfortable beds. Each bedroom has a nice sized bathroom attached with a shower. There is a cozy living room and a beautiful kitchen. Peter had a delicious cake for us when we arrived. He also had the fridge stocked with soda, milk, juice etc. The kitchen was fully stocked. Everything you could possibly need was there. There was a computer in the apartment also. Peter and Tom were very helpful with any questions we had regarding sites to see and dinner reservations. The location of the home was extremely convenient. In my opinion, it was the most beautiful neighborhood in Amsterdam. I really felt like a local:) I would definitely return to Amsterdam and stay here again. Thanks Peter and Tom for everything. We had a great time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.