We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Special
Ranked #4 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Apartment, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed five nights (Sep 2012) in the apartment. All the positive things said about Peter are true - he has tremendous knowledge and always willing to help. This location, on the edge of the Jordaan, is perfect for access to good restaurants and sits in a friendly neighbourhood away from the "tourist noise". It is also a short walk back towards the central canals and rail station. The apartment has everything we needed.... believe me when Peter says its well stocked with food to start you off I think the only thing we brought was milk! Each bedroom (with TV) has a good size bathroom which gave our daughter her own space. Internet was fast and extremely reliable. Given the opportunity to return to Amsterdam we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
501
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Yes this will be a very short review because everyone has written all that has to be said........this is one great B&B!!
Room.......a great big tick
Breakfast........a great big tick
Snacks......a great big tick
Dogs.......a great big tick
Location.......a great big tick
Oh!! Yes Peter.......an extra big tick

Thanks for an excellent stay Peter.
P.S. Hi to Tom. Cuddles for Curly and Pepe

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this B&B and that is mainly due to how hospitable Peter Boogaard is! The location is just perfect, very close to the train station and near many important sights such as the Anne Frank House. The street his place is on is very scenic and quiet and if you feel you are a bit lost, just look for the red framed windows and you are set! What was also impressive was that his building is quite old and historical, yet has been recently renovated so in very good shape. He has decorated each room with so much charm (we stayed in the Dalmatian room which was cute, quaint and the bed was soooo comfy) and each level of each story has a common space to share with other visitors with a lounging area, kitchen, and plenty of travel books and a laptop to use for free! He even has snacks, drinks, electronic adapters and umbrellas waiting for you...he has thought of it all. He made us cream puffs from scratch that were to die for and his breakfasts totally spoiled us for the rest of our trip. Come to the table hungry and you will be set for the rest of the day! Since Peter grew up in Amsterdam but also lived in America for many years he provided us great perspective on things and gets what a tired traveler is looking for. We even got one day of free laundry and his housekeeper was so very nice! He offered great advice on sights to check out and marked them all on a map for us. He also has two adorable dogs that are very well behaved so if you are a dog lover you will appreciate this stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ont.,Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

After reading all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor,we decided this was the place for us and our friends following a Baltic cruise. We booked in January for our 4 night July stay. Peter sent us excellent directions to the B&B from Central Station.It is centrally located, on what Peter told us is the oldest street in Amsterdam. Our rooms wouldn't be ready until 12:30pm, but we were allowed to leave our luggage while we started exploring. On our return we were shown our beautiful rooms on the 3rd floor which exceeded our expectations! Our large suitcases had even been brought up the steep,narrow stairs for us, an unexpected bonus! The bedrooms were bright, well laid out with ample storage and we discovered the beds are so very comfortable. The bathroom had a good sized shower and was cleaned daily. The sitting area is warmly decorated and very inviting after a day of touring. The only disadvantage was, we felt so comfortable coming back in the evening after dining, that we never did go out again to see the canals lit up at night! The breakfasts that Peter provided were wonderful- cheese/broccoli and ham/bacon quiches,croissants with cheese & ham, or chocolate or plain,typical Dutch farmer's breakfast, dutch pancakes, and always fresh fruit, cheeses, juice, coffee, apple turnovers, apple cake. As we tried to do justice to this feast, Peter regaled us with his life prior to opening the B&B-and what a life he had. He is a charming, warm host who welcomes you to his lovely home and makes your feel a part of his family, whom we had the pleasure of meeting (hello Tom,Pepe & Curly). He is a font of information about what to do,see,eat in Amsterdam, and makes you feel that nothing is too much trouble. On our departure, Peter gave us a thank you gift-just another example of his generous, hospitality. Do not give staying here a second thought-but book early or you'll miss out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Two couples stayed with Peter last week in the two bedroom apartment in Amsterdam. We have traveled all over the world together in the last 35 years and we all agreed that this was by far the best apartment rental experience we have ever had!!!

The location is within walking distance from the train station in a very quiet street..It is amazing how quiet it is when it is just a few blocks from restaurants, shopping and all that you might come to Amsterdam for.

What a host!! The apartment is two bedrooms, two en-suite baths, and living area and kitchen. No need to rush out for food....Peter sets the kitchen up with bread (two kinds), cheese, ham, salami, eggs, yoghurt, butter, jam, coffee, tea, beer, soft drinks and other goodies!! In addition, you will probably find freshly made brownies during your stay.

Having a free laundry service to wash dry and fold your clothes while you are there is so very helpful when you are gone for more than a day or two. What a great treat.

No innkeeper could be more helpful. Peter makes sure that whatever you are looking for, he can help you find your way around this most beautiful city. He can recommend many restaurants and sights to see.

Needless to say, we loved staying here. Make the most out of travel with your friends and stay in this wonderful apartment.

Room Tip: Come early and stay late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My adult (23 year old) daughter and I stayed with Peter for four nights and can't recommend it highly enough. Our room, the Jack Russell Room, is on the third floor in the back of the house. It was clean, quiet and well appointed. It was great to have a large dresser to store our things. The bed was comfortable. There is a shared living room area, perfect for reading or chatting with the other third floor guests (one other room). There's a small refrigerator for drinks and snacks and supplies for making a cup of coffee or tea. Peter is quite hospitable and an excellent cook. Breakfasts were bountiful and delicious! No need for lunch. Cereals, eggs, cheeses, meats, fresh fruit, home baked breads and croissants - what's not to love?! Expect a leisurely breakfast with a charming host. He even provided afternoon treats. Homemade cream puffs, brownies, cupcakes...A great pick-me-up after a day of sightseeing or a sweet before bed. We very much appreciated Peter's insights and suggestions on scheduling our day and restaurant recommendations. As well as bus/tram information. He never steered us wrong. Am looking forward to returning to Amsterdam just to stay here again.

Room Tip: Jack Russell Room is 3rd floor in the back and probably a little quieter than the Pug Room (3rd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I came to Amsterdam for a 7 day vacation to celebrate our 6th anniversary. We choose Boogaard's because of their excellent reviews and we felt so lucky we did. We arrived and took the train from the airport and walked the three easy blocks from Central Station to Boogard's. Since we arrived early, we dropped our bags and Peter directed us to a great place to have coffee and breakfast, Greenwoods, which was only 2 blocks (or so) away. When we came back, we had a wonderful tour of the house, and were shown to our room (front room--Pug) which was beautifully decorated and comfortable. We loved the sitting room with it's leather chairs and sofa to relax in. There is a coffee available all day, a small refrigerator to keep snacks and in which Peter keeps stocked with 2 beers/sodas daily and he leaves wonderful desserts and snacks (as if you needed to eat more...). So it was absolutely perfect for a longer stay to really relax and enjoy everything Amsterdam has to offer. Boogaard's is centrally located so walking throughout the city to any of its attractions is simple and Peter helps with directions and tips on where and when to go to any of the museums or places to eat/drink/tour around. If we were to go back with friends (which I think we should) there is a beautiful apartment on the first floor which Peter keeps stocked with food and every cooking utensil needed.
Peter is an absolutely amazing host. He makes every effort to make the stay comfortable. His breakfasts are beyond amazing and we could also take leftovers (i.e. bagels & cheese, quiche, apple bread pudding) for lunches. We hardly ever had to buy a lunch, which saved us a lot of money. Since we were there for so long, he did our laundry, which was a great help, since we didn't have to pack so many things. And Peter is a beautiful person and a joy to be around. He makes his home warm and open feeling, so that by the time we left, we felt as if we could just stay forever and be guests of Peter, Tom, and their funny (and well behaved) dogs, Curly and Pepe.
Thank you Peter, for making our vacation so memorable!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a large flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with a laptop with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Peter has become know for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam
Boogaard`s b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.