We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9/10” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Save Saved
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Budapest
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“9/10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

The exterior of the College Hotel is pretty, and the interior is quite modern, welcoming and interesting. The bar occupies a large area of the ground floor, and is rather good, with comfortable nooks and crannies, many with working fire places; the restaurant serves well-prepared and imaginative food. The service was a bit 'Fawlty Towers' but we found ourselves tending to forgive the sometimes inept student waiters / student manager, as they were all generally eager, if inexperienced (for example, it took rather a long time to catch a waiter's eye, so as to place an order for a desert and tea, then the tea arrived before the desert - that sort of thing).
It's position is not far south of the main museums, so quite convenient, but a bit of walk to the 'Nine Streets'.
On arrival we asked for a quiet room, which the enthusiastic reception staff seemed excited to be able to arrange, although we didn't find it that quiet.
The lighting everywhere (but particularly in the rooms) is very low, and the colours are all muted and dark, which can make finding things an interesting challenge...
It's a fun hotel - go.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    117
    40
    21
    15
See reviews for
17
108
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

This hotel is beautiful. They have done a fabulous job of creating a modern hotel but retaining the features of the old building. Its the only place I've ever been where there is a seat in the lift (one would think that if you are already taking the lift, perhaps you don't need the sit down?) which was an interesting design feature....

Our room was glamorous, high ceiling, wooden beams, divine Egyptian cotton sheets...but very dark. Mood lighting is fine, and welcome for romantic evenings, but not when you want to read a paper or a book, or locate something in your unpacked suitcase. The bathroom was also very good, with a powerful rain shower.

The hotel is right on a tram line so easy to get around if you don't mind being a bit out of the centre (museums are only 5 minutes walk away and its about 15/20 minutes walk to the centre). Its actually a good thing if, like us, you'd rather avoid the more tacky side of the city and don't mind a walk. There were some great local resturants a short walk away which we really enjoyed for lunch and dinner.

We only stayed one night and left early so we didn't try breakfast at the hotel or have too much to do with the staff. They seemed fine - not quite the standard of efficiency or professionalism you would expect at a more expensive chain hotel but totally adequate (we got the double bed we requested on the phone, the taxi we asked them to order arrived on time). The room wasn't ready until 3pm (we arrived just after 12pm) which was a little annoying as you'd normally expect hotels to be able to check you in if you arrive in the early afternoon, but it didn't really matter.

All in all, a beautiful hotel with lovely rooms - well worth the E150 we paid.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

I don't often take the time to write reviews, but my experience with this hotel left me puzzled and disappointed. It is lovely aesthetically, beautiful banquet rooms, well appointed restaurant, and the rooms are stylish (though our "double room" was two twin beds pushed together). But the service, ayyyy! If I wanted to go to a place run by 14 year old kids, I would head down to the local Burger King, not to a "boutique" hotel in Amsterdam. The staff is made up of students (which is cool, but they really needed some experienced supervision). Every question we asked like " is your restaurant open today?" was met with confusion. When we asked for a local place to eat, we were told to "walk down the street there is stuff around." The towels in our room were half folded and tossed into the bathroom area. The side tables were covered in dust. AND the day of our flight, they forgot our wake-up call. Ohhh and there are not alarm clocks in the rooms. I don't mind experiments, just not at $350 per night.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

This hotel certainly looks the business.

However, it isn't after we had a few questionable surprises with the staff that it became obvious to us that the "staff" are actually students trying to gain experience at our expense!

Something like this could have been charming but we didn't know about it in advance!
(I know, the name COULD have tipped us off, but it was a surprise trip for me).

I wish he had checked the reviews on TA as he said he will now do in the future ;-)

Anyway, these people don't seem to know what they are doing and they appear to have their own feel of why and how things are done. I had to explain to them the most basic stuff and even then, they seem to have made their minds up about how to go about things.

Fair enough that this is an educational hotel, but it should firmly be sold as such and NOT as an "international" boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Overall, we enjoyed our experience Room was nice, but you can hear the noises from the street quite easily and we were on the top floor. Everyone was very helpful, but the extra costs were high. Wifi was 17 euros, bike rental was 20 euros and breakfast was 15 euros.. So while the room rates were quite good, they make up for it in the end.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

After finding College Hotel on the Mr and Mrs Smith website, I had reasonably high expectations. Unfortunately, our experience was pretty average. The location is quite good (it is a 5 minute walk to the Van Gogh museum) and the hotel looks lovely from the outside. The bar also looked good - unfortunately, for the 3 nights that we were staying, the outside terrace adjoining the bar was booked for private functions and these guests were packed into the bar area. This became a little tedious each night when we had to fight our way through the crowded bar area just to get back to our room.

Our room was quite spacious, as was the bathroom, and we had a large high window looking over the internal courtyard. The lighting in the room, however, was particularly bad. It was incredibly dark inside (despite gorgeous weather outside) and 2 of the lamps didn't work very well. The double bed was actually two single beds pushed together (why do hotels do this?!) and the tv was very small, with very poor screen quality. The carpets were also looking a little old in our room.

We found the staff to be friendly although we experienced the same mix-ups that other people have complained about. It took about 4 telephone calls to book a massage, and in the end they asked if we could take a tram to see the therapist (it was meant to be an in-room massage!). The most laughable was when I tried to check out and the woman at the desk asked me if I still needed my wake-up call. We hadn't booked a wake-up call, but as I was checking out, it was also apparent that I didn't need one!

All in all the hotel was pretty average for the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

As pointed out numerous times before the hotel's service is poor. There are long delays, things seem to be constantly falling to the floor, and the staff's responsiveness leaves something to be desired. At some point you'll either embrace this small manifestations of chaos and disorientation as a part of your experience and love the hotel to pieces, or you won't and you will hate it.
Let's face it: The College is a half priced Dylan with a bunch of nice enough kids trying to be waiters, and as such I would highly recommend this exquisitely designed, very chic and cosy property to anyone coming to Amsterdam on a 200 Euros per night budget. It's close to the centre but far enough to avoid all the noise and constant street partying. Rooms are on the small side, but very smartly set up, ditto for the luxurious mini bathrooms. Dinner at the restaurant is an Amsterdam must, though the 20 Eur breakfast is better left untested. The building itself is wonderful, with all the props you expect from local architecture: brick facade, large windows, high ceilings, dark woods, rich fabrics, and, above all, excellent taste.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.