We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Ups and Downs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Ups and Downs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had a number of problems getting up on the hotel's WiFi. That said, the staff was very gracious and helpful in getting them resolved. The accommodations were comfortable and the food and beverage service at the bar was excellent and very reasonable. The staff was very professional, courteous, and pleasant to deal with. A nearby restaurant they recommended was superb. Finally, the hotel was in easy walking distance of the Van Gogh and Riksmuseum (sp?).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    130
    53
    24
    20
See reviews for
25
127
15
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The building, a former school and monastery, has been meticulously transformed into an upmarket hotel. It's a work of art. Some of the staff are trainees, but don't let that put you off. They may be young, but they have great smiles and want to provide great service.

It's popular with locals and the bar / reception areas have a cool vibe.

Good location close to museums and the Vondelpark. Tram stop just outside.

For the price, it's hard to fault this hotel.

Some guests have commented on the poor breakfast. If it's part of a package, it's fine. But I accept that if you are paying for it as an extra, it is fairly dear.

Would happily return to this super hotel

Room Tip: Go for the de luxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
testelt
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was here for a conference with about 50 participants.
The hotel staff was very friendly, but most of them are students / learning the hotel profession.
The architectural design of the building is very nice; the garden is also nice to relax a bit ; we had a very nice barbecue dinner.
My room was also ok, quite big; but I thought the bathroom was too dark ; only two small lights ; difficult for putting your make up
Big windows with good curtains to close and to make it dark, but you cannot leave the windows open because the noise in the streets starts very early at morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel has the potential to be much better. And they try very hard and are quite apologetic. That doesn't take care of the deficiencies, however. This is a learning hotel internship for students of the hospitality industry. I believe the facility used to be boarding school. Architecturally, it is quite interesting. It is not completely handicap accessible. There are rooms like #108 that have steps inside the room, without a handrail. One needs to remember this in the middle night heading for the bathroom. So if you have difficulty with stairs, make sure the front desk knows this when booking. The second deficiency is cleanliness. When you paint everything high gloss black lacquer, dust shows. Don't apologize saying "yes, we have a dust problem, fix the dust problem! We are not talking just a little dust.I live with 4 cats and there are very few times when I can say my house is cleaner. I also have a high tolerance level for dust and dirt. These are major buildups. You are going to have to use the 20 foot extended duster occasionally and hit the entire walls and mouldings ! And when you have a very high mirror, you'll have to get out the ladder to polish it all the way to the ceiling occasionally. Then there is under the bed. Oh my. You can lose things in the dust bunnies under the bed. This room #108 also had MAJOR wiring problems bordering on life safety infractions. We actually stayed here twice in 2 weeks and on the return had a delightful nice room, not #108. The good things about the hotel are the bar, the breakfast, the dining room, staff, waiters and chefs, and front desk people. There are bikes and scooters on sight for rental. There are numerous inside and outside seating options, with many nooks for intimate drinks and conversations, including a fireside area. One needs to be patient with the staff. One also needs to know more than the staff so when they steer you wrong, you know enough to ask for a supervisor. One major plus was the front desk arranged for a return trip to the Schiphol airport for 40E for 4 people and 7 bags. This is much less than hotelshuttle.com . If you are arriving, try to contact the front desk to arrange this transport from Schiphol to the hotel. Otherwise, use hotelshuttle.com or take the train to the Central Station and then a tram to the hotel, or research the Connections #197 from the airport to the hotel area.The hotel is located in the museumplaine area, walking distance to the Rijk, Van Gogh, and Stedje. Also, the tram is right out the front door for easy access to all parts of the city. Get an I Amsterdam card for many free museum entries, and transportation around the city. You can bypass many long wait lines with this marvelous card.The front desk can arrange for same day Rijk tickets that allow you bypass the long wait lines. Overall, the hotel has many good features. Cleanliness is not one of them. All the interns need to get a duster and a vacuum and go back to the basics of innkeeping, It is more than just running a front desk and hospitality.

Room Tip: Don't get #108. Make sure the room does not have steps if you can't do them, or remember the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stay here every visit - partly because it is a great location, beautiful exterior, best beds, gorgeous inside, lovely rooms but also because I like the fact that it is a training school for young hoteliers.

On your first visit you will be thrown by the darkness of the rooms.........that is if you have been able to get the room key to work or the light switch. But when you know.......all is perfect

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I wasn't going to review this hotel, but when I got home, I realized that by not reviewing The College Hotel, I was doing the hotel, TripAdvisor and the people who want an honest opinion, all a great injustice. I understand the hotel is a "teaching" hotel and that there may be a few issues due to the students/interns not knowing how to handle a situation, but there is ABSOLUTELY NO EXCUSE whatsoever for filth and to say that our room, albeit beautiful upon first sight, was FILTHY would be a gross understatement. Also, there was NO HOTEL OR GENERAL MANAGER on duty during the entire time of our 5-day stay. Unfortunately, the reservations manager, Louise Wallace, who was very attentive and helpful, went on vacation the day after our arrival and when she left, the place fell apart (and that's being nice). After Louise left, when we asked to speak with the manager, we were told, on multiple occasions, we will need to call him at home. The housekeeping manager was NOT a student, but rather a full-time, paid employee. Here are just a "few" examples of the issues we had: the coffee maker did not work and was never repaired, in fact, it took 3 days for them to finally remove the machine; my mother had a small injury, which caused some bleeding. We told the front desk (2x) about this and requested the bed linens be changed -- they were NOT! We had to ask a 3rd time and strip the bed ourselves and then were inconvenienced by having to wait for them to change the sheets at 8pm when we went out for dinner; there was EXCESSIVE MOLD in the shower. The right-hand faucet of the sink leaked (this took 4 requests to have repaired), the left-hand (hot) water faucet of the shower was very loose and the water scalded my mother and myself because the handle was so loose -- it took 3 requests to be repaired and NOTHING was ever done; The lighting was HORRID! Every time we asked for additional lighting, we were told this was "ambient" lighting. In most European hotels, you put your room key in a slot by the door and the lights go on, in this hotel; this hotel did not have a satisfactory system. In fact, when we turned off the hall light, the bathroom lights went on and when we turned off the night light, the living room lights went on. It literally took our having to unplug the lights from the wall to make them go on and off when we turned them on and off. Because the room was so dark, we ended up having to move the floor lamp from the "living room" and when we did, we discovered the lamp's wires were exposed and frayed. After 4 requests to have this fixed, we gave up. The carpet was FILTHY! And the window seat even more disgusting. When we removed the bolster pillow, the dust was so thick I thought I was going to throw up. On 2 separate occasions, I had to have the housekeeping manager and front desk manager come to the room to show them the dust & dirt under the curtains, under the bed, on the steps, under the night stand (next to the frayed wire) and throughout the room; when the housekeepers emptied the trash can in the bathroom, they spilled something greasy all over the floor and did NOT clean it up until we called them and told them to come back and clean the floor. The floor in the bathroom was beyond FILTHY. There were no pillow protectors on the pillows and the pillows were stained! I can understand bad service, but FILTH is UNACCEPTABLE! The location was ideal, but the service incompetent and the hotel disgustingly dirty.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone D, Front Office Manager at College Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Marlazoe,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it you took the time to give us your valuable feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your last stay was not to your satisfaction.

We were hoping that all the problems were solved during your stay, but regarding to this review we were unfortunately not able to let you leave the hotel satisfied. We are very sorry for this. We will contact you personally to see how we can solve this issue and give you a better feeling about The College Hotel.

We always want our guests to leave the hotel happy and satisfied, so we are very sorry that you had to leave unsatisfied.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, feedback is always important to us, so we can improve our service.

Warm regards,

Simone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I would like to stress the great attention we got at the hotel.
From orientation where to go and what to do, at the reception , and over the room service and attention from the staff.
The location is 25 minutes walking from the center, and few minutes by tram.
Near to the art museums.
Nice and comfortable rooms, and really tasty breakfast ; I just would recommend them to be a bit wider with the "specials" they put as salmon and others , which are offered in low quantity.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.