We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Save Saved
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

I stayed for a night and paid 215 euros. The hotel is beautiful: a nice building very well done up, a stylish bar, rooms tastefully furnished and decorated. The original room which I was given had a window which would not shut completely. After a couple of staff tried to close it, I was offered a much nicer room.

The staff very nice and polite - a slight amateurish way (I understand that the hotel is also a training school) is endearing rather than annoying (that said, I was told that the window had not shut the night prior to my arrival either - why, then, was the room considered suitable for a customer?).

The bed was very comfortable indeed and the sheets of good quality, I dined at the restaurant and had a very enjoyable evening - the food was good (and, at 45 euros for a three course meal, reasonably priced for the standard of the hotel), the service excellent, the room very good indeed.

All in all, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    123
    45
    22
    18
See reviews for
22
115
14
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

If I go to Amsterdam again, I'll stay here despite the dodgy service...

The hotel is in a fantastic location - next to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. Great restaurants and other eateries and good shops nearby - really great, great location - you're in the posh part of town. Wonderful old building, excellent rooms - great bathrooms with underfloor heating. Cracking bar with cocktails that draw people from all over town... BUT... you have to wait half an hour for that cocktail, the room might not be made up, someone might come into your room while you're sleeping to stock up the fridge and carry on doing so after seeing you (it happened to us!), you won't get the Mr and Mrs Smith Pastry Box if you booked with them, it might take a while to sort your bill...

We went knowing all this because it's a school for those in hotel/tourism training - but it seems as if they haven't had any lessons yet!

If you go with an open mind and can get over the service being patchy (some we had was excellent) - stay here. Amsterdam hotels are expensive even if you're in 2*/3* and I thought this was pretty good value at €200 per night. Plus will you be lounging around the hotel all the time? This isn't a resort so the opportunities for poor service are few and far between (but you will get it!).

  • Liked — Location, building, bar
  • Disliked — Iffy service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

The Ceck out really was a nightmare. They were not able to fill in the right billing address into the invoice. They need three! times and 45 minutes to do it right. On top: I sent them days before my arrival the right billing address by mail, which were confirmend by them. On top: they charged my credit card double!! It takes me a lot of time ( telephone calls, sending emails ) to get my to much charged money back. They said sorry for all this. And that was it. This check out really was a nightmare. The hotel itself is wonderful. Everything is arranged with a professional and a warm style. The hotel staff in general is powerful involved.

  • Liked — Hotel design
  • Disliked — Check out
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We originally booked to stay at The Lloyd Hotel but after reading the bad reviews changed our booking to The College Hotel.
The College Hotel is in one of the best parts of town and is easy to reach using public transport from the airport. We took the train from the airport to central and then the number 12 tram from central station to the hotel. The tram stop is a few steps from the hotel door.
The hotel building is impressive and very well converted with great lighting. The check in staff were very helpful and called us to advise we could check in early. We were shown to our room and talked through how everything worked.
We stayed in a luxury double. The room was large with a huge window and high ceilings with exposed beams. The bathroom although small was well designed and had a great shower.
We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel on either morning so cant comment on the food or service. We found you could eat for half the price else where. We did however order room service one evening which was delivered quickly and was tasty and well presented.
During out three day stayed we enjoyed the comedy show Boom Chicago, a bike tour of the city with Mikes Bike Tours, a drink at the Ice Bar and some relaxed time in Vondel Park.

  • Liked — The turn down service and the attention to detail
  • Disliked — The cost of the food and extra services ie bike hire, massage etc
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Cannot speak highly enough about the hotel having stayed there in August 2008.

The building and the decor are stunning and the location was ideal for our 3 day trip to the city. The hotel is on the tram line so you can get into the City Centre in 10 mins or so although we walked which only took 20 mins. It is very close to the Van Gogh museum and in the immediate area are plenty of really nice, good quality restaurants that are populated by locals and are certainly not the tourist traps found in the city.

Reading many of the reviews complaining about the staff & rooms etc I would probably say that if you are very fussy/stuffy and are looking for a traditional 5* hotel this may not be for you. That said we had no problem with the staff who were young, yes, but all very competent and enthusiastic and happy to serve.

The terrace bar in early evening was lovely for a drink before dinner after a long day walking the city.

If I were to come again, and if I stayed in Amsterdam again it would be here, I would probably not bother paying the 20 Euros extra for a superior double room over the standard double. The only difference seems to be a bit more space and a bath rather than a shower.

Overall great "boutique" hotel in a top location that I would have no hesitation to recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

stayed for one night in july. Excellent location> close to airport, walking distance to Van Gogh Museum and lots of nice restaurants and Terraces around the hotel. Staff is the most helpfull I have seen. Internet connection in the room is expensive, but there is a PC with internet connection near the reception that can be used for free. Hotel bar is nice, and I got the most delicious apple pie in my life in this hotel... strogly recommend it.

  • Liked — The design of the hotel... the building itself
  • Disliked — no free internet in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We decided to stay here because we couldn't get a hotel in Rotterdam for the North Sea Jazz Fest. It took about 40 mins one way driving to the fest but when we came home, we decided it was welll worth the drive! The hotel staff were students but very professional nonetheless and made us feel at home! The hotel parking is utterly ridiculous, (45 Euros per day) but so is all the parking in amsterdam!! You can take a chance and park on the street at a mere 20 Euros per day. The design is very chic...the mandarin tea body wash and lotion are to die for...and the hotel lobby, restaurant and dining areas are simply fantastic. Some don't appreciate the "dark" design (blacks and browns and dark grays) but I am a fan and will return for sure!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.