We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of College Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added College Hotel to your Saves list
College Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 nights here, rooms were nice, bathroom was spectacular. Situated in a really nice part of town. Friendly service, check in desk staff very helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Think I would prefer card keys to the traditional keys. Managed to leave my key in the door. Fortunately somebody took it and handed it into reception. Don't think they looked round my room first.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    131
    56
    24
    21
See reviews for
27
127
15
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed at the College Hotel after advice from a business associate and must admit my enthusiasm was somewhat reluctant when I heard it was an old school run by students...
My goodness, how wrong could I be? This is one of the most remeberable stays I have had in any hotel and look forward to my next travel to Amsterdam. Rooms and interior absolute exuisite, restaurant same. Had dinner here in the evening and maybe the food could have been lifted half a star. Had business meetings at the hotel as well and facilities were top, as well as service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Location was great for the museum district. Easy to get on trams and walk to restaurants. Rooms were small and dark, but very well kept. Chef and restaurant were very nice and accommodating for gluten free and other dietary needs. One major criticism is the lack of concierge. However, staff were very willing with making reservations, directions, etc.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Arrived to our hotel about 5.30 pm for the receptionist to speak in there language between themselves then tell us our room wasn't ready.. Couldn't fault the room,once we
Finally got in to it was lovely.. True about the hotel thou. Very dark . Rooms were always late n getting made up too. Mini bar was 50 euros a day pp deposit which my husband is still waiting on getting back..

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed four nights in easter, Helpful staff, good breakfast, located in nice peaceful place off city, help to travel everywhere with tram. Interiors looks really nice, place is like stone castle. Highly recommend to everyone

Room Tip: Second floor...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The College hotel is in the museum district of Amsterdam. It's a lovely looking boutique hotel, the decor is great and the atmosphere is good. The location is not as central as I would have liked and is a fairly long walk into the center of the city.

The staff were very helpful. I arrived at 11am and left my bag, returning around midday from a short walk. My room still wasn't ready but they moved me into another room so that I could check in early - much appreciated.

I had a club sandwich for my lunch which was lovely, and the breakfast was really very large indeed - pretty good value. My corner room was clean, with very high ceilings and huge, huge windows. There was only one English speaking TV channel - BBC World News. The bathroom was nicely decorated with a lovely shower, quite dark but not pokey.

All in all, a good hotel - I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to College Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about College Hotel

Address: Roelof Hartstraat 1, 1071 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — College Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your College Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.